We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, location & price!”
Review of Hotel Giuliana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giuliana
Ranked #158 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights in December 2013 and Hotel Giuliana exceeded our expectations. Jean, Marianna, Tony and the entire staff were very friendly and helpful including making recommendations and reservations, opening breakfast for us early one morning, and being available to ensure our 4:30AM transportation to the airport worked well. The location is very convenient (easy walk to train, subway, major streets with buses, and several attractions) and we ate at a couple good restaurants within a block. We had a nice small corner room that was clean and comfortable, but the mattresses were hard. The price was reasonable and included a good breakfast and a safe in our room. We enjoyed and recommend Hotel Giuliana!

Room Tip: Larger rooms are available. A convenient street market sets up early each morning, so take ear plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights in December. The location is great, price was very good, and room was large and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. The cons were a really poor breakfast (and I don't expect much) and the fact that the hotel seems quite run down. Apholstered furniture and rugs were stained and seemed quite dirty, although daily cleaning was good. Lots of little things broken, gouges in walls etc. We found a much nicer (well-kept) hotel for a lower price a week later and will stay there next time.

Room Tip: We had an interior room, which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaBItaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Spent 4 days 3 nights as a Couple. We took 10 minutes to walk, with luggage from Termini to the Hotel. There is a supermarket within the Termini and a pharmacy just across the road from the Termini.

The Hotel is not very visible so you would have to look for the street name, hotel name and a big brown door. Upon entering the big brown door, there is a slight musty smell as the building is quite old. It is not a posh hotel but bed was reasonably comfortable and room was of a decent size. Hotel is located near a small market which opens early in the morning and closes by midday.

Service was very good. The lady owner of the hotel usually runs the counter, she was very pleasant and always helpful when we needed early check-in, early-breakfast, getting directions, and to make bookings for our trips to Vatican City and Pompeii/Naples. Breakfast was very humble (pastries, fruits, juice and coffee/tea) and we did not expect much as we left very early on most mornings.

I personally did not feel very safe with the surrounding outside the hotel at night as streets were less well lighted and gypsies slept along the streets visible from outside our hotel window (3rd floor). My partner found the Old school elevator with gates intriguing but I preferred to walk the stairs was the elevator was very small.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebNSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in November and December 2013, pre and post cruise.
The location was great, about 10 minutes easy walk from Termini train station and very convenient for sightseeing as well. It's not a luxury hotel but the rooms are good size for hotels in Rome and very clean. The staff was absolutely wonderful...friendly and helpful. It would be nice if they put a computer guests can use in the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1919kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My younger sister and I were out on our first vacation together in December 2013 and were on a super tight budget. We decided to take a plunge with the hotel rated the best as well as the most economical on trip advisor. Lo and behold! We were in for a surprise! This was a charming hotel which served you with great delight! Jean and Tony were superb! The rooms were very comfortable, warm and clean with all the basic necessities. The best part was the location of the property - central Rome, Trevi Fontaine was walking distance and the Termini station was a stone's throw away. It was easy to find and very accessible.

Loved every second of our stay with them. Definitely one of the best decisions of the trip!:)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drishi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The very best asset this hotel has is the family who owns and runs it, and the staff they've chosen to assist them. My wife and I were welcomed like old friends and made to feel like we were staying with a family, rather than just taking a room.

The accommodations were neat and clean, and the breakfast espresso excellent. Think "B&B" in a city setting, and you'll have a good idea of the Hotel Giuliana.

A very good value!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in July 2013. Nothing fancy but service was incredible and location was very good- not a short walk but certainly walkable distance to some attractions such as colosseum. We took a bus from just down the street to trastavere where there was great restaurants. Owners are British and are the most polite hotel staff I have ever met.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sc92489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#139 of 1,271 in Rome
676 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#97 of 1,271 in Rome
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#78 of 1,271 in Rome
1,429 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#105 of 1,271 in Rome
1,498 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#260 of 1,271 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giuliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giuliana

Address: Via Agostino Depretis 70, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#27 Family Hotel in Rome
#107 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £43 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Giuliana 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giuliana is a charming family-run hotel in Rome. It is completely renovated and is ideally situated in the centre of Rome in a street facing the magnificent Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica which leads to the Spanish Steps - the famous fashion centre with its beautiful shops! Other renowned historial and artistic monuments and sites such as the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Campidoglio, Trevi Fountain and the Opera House are within walking distance. The Pantheon and lovely Piazza Navona is easily reached by bus from the Via Nazionale just 2 mins. From the hotel. The Metro Republica nearby connects directly with St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Giuliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giuliana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing