We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it, roof terrace unaccesable, overall disapointed”
Review of Residenza Paolo VI

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residenza Paolo VI
Ranked #109 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Yes this hotel is right next to the vatican with a fantastic view of it. Thats about the only thing positive about it unfortunately. We stayed here 3 nights june 2013. Rooms are small, beds small (but comfortable), bathroom so small so you can only be one person in it at a time. The shower is a little cheap cabin, no bath tub and the shower itself looks like one you can buy in Aldi for 2,99. The rooms have no view and are poorly sound insolated so you can hear everything that is going on in the passageway.

The biggest disapointment was however the roof terrace that you are not alowed or able to step out on. There are some small chairs for a limited amount of people at the beginning of the terrace, however the teracce itself is closed off to guests. What a waste.

One more thing that was very rude and disapointing was the cleaning lady that walked into our room with us in bed from 8 o clock in the morning without knocking. She did this 4 times even after we complined about it. Completely outrageous! In the end we had to block our door from the inside with a chair.

Not exactly what you expect from a hotel with this price tag!

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the bigger rooms, as the small ones are a nut shell
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vm_denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Residenza Paolo VI
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

We went to Rome in January 2012 ( I put down June 2012 because that's as far back as I could go) and my wife booked this hotel not really knowing just where it was located. We arrive from the airport late in the evening and just wanted to get to bed. We thought the cab driver dropped us off at the wrong place. We went through a small door, through a small courtyard, to get to the hotel entrance. We got to the room after checking in and in had two rooms and a bath. It was older but neat, clean and comfortable. I did not mind the adventure of getting to the hotel and getting in but the real adventure began the next morning after the included breakfast ( which was very good). After getting our directions figured out we walked across the street into St. Peter's Square. Wow what a surprise that we were staying that close to the Vatican. Back to the hotel, the staff was very friendly, helpful with directions an recommendations. Down the hall form our room was the area where breakfast was served and an outdoor patio from which you could see part of the Basilica and the columns of the square. Its very beautiful when lit up at night. The rest of the Roman ruins are a distance away staying here is worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 May 2013

To all at your hotel, My wife Anne and I stayed at your hotel April 10 - 18 2013.
We would like to say a million thanks to all of your staff, especially Sabrina, Luana, Nicoletta, for making our stay so pleasant. You could not have been more helpful.
We would also like to say a big thank you to all of the staff who cleaned our room every day and who looked after us in the breakfast room and later in the restaurant.
We found your hotel elegant, quiet, very comfortable. Every detail was perfect! The incredible location of your hotel overlooking St Peters made our week in Rome unforgettable. An experience of a lifetime and never to be forgotten. We plan to return!
Best wishes to you all,
Anne and James Kennedy. Ireland

Room Tip: Overlooking courtyard. Just a perfect place.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This small hotel is a the best kept secret in Rome. The staff is friendly and beyond helpful and the facilities are elegant. The rooms are typical European size but very tastefully done and comfortable. The dining room is perfect for breakfast and a light fare is available for dinner. We found restaurants "around the corner" to be very good. Taxi stands are within 100 yards walking distance or called for by the staff. Rome may be noisy at night but not here. In short, we would recommend this delightful hotel to our best friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NormanF331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Whilst not located in an area filled with many and varied restaurant choices like the Travestere, there are nearby restaurants of fantastic quality - you just have to know where they are.
However, we have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions and if you enjoy understated elegance, tranquillity and discreet helpful service, this is one for you.
One of the things I always look forward to is the single leaf of paper slid underneath the door during the night to reflect upon in the morning.
This is a hidden gem, ideally located for the Vatican museums and close to the metro.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are not huge, but well equipped and of a high standard of cleanliness.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gradely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

If you plan on spending lots of time in the Vatican, this place is for you. St. Peter's is across the street. The metro stop is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. The rooms are small, but we spent very little time there. The breakfast offered a lot of variety of breads, sweats, and meats. the terrace is small, but you have a breathtaking view of the dome. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again when in Rome. My only complaint w that wifi is not free.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lourdes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#356 of 1,267 in Rome
402 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#48 of 1,267 in Rome
668 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#148 of 1,267 in Rome
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#38 of 1,267 in Rome
747 reviews
Starhotels Michelangelo
#162 of 1,267 in Rome
1,087 reviews
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#54 of 1,267 in Rome
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Paolo VI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Paolo VI

Address: Via Paolo VI 29 | Vaticano-Piazza San Pietro, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Rome
#46 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#68 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#74 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £95 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Paolo VI 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Paolo VI, established on the premises of an Augustinian Monastery, was inaugurated at the beginning of the Holy Year 2000. The genius loci and the charm of tradition, still alive in its ancient walls, make this property your "private" haven in Rome, far away from chaos, in the pulsing heart of the Eternal City. Rome has many hotels, but only one of them is located directly on St. Peter's Square (Vatican): Residenza Paolo VI, the ideal place for those wishing to stay in the heart of Christendom, close to St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican Grottoes, the Necropolis, St Peter's and Saint John Paul II's tombs, the Vatican Gardens and St. Angel's Castle. Walking along the Vatican Wall, it's easy to reach the Vatican Museums and visit the famous Sistine Chapel. Furthermore, some of our rooms offer special view of the Holy Office or of the internal courtyard of the ancient monastery or even of St. Peter's Dome. From our magnificent Terrace it is possible to admire up close St. Peter's Basilica and the Apostolic Palace, exactly where the Holy Father Pope Francis appears to bless the faithful and to recite the Sunday Angelus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residenza Paolo VI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Paolo Vi Hotel Rome
Residenza Paolo Vi Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing