We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !!”
Review of Residenza Paolo VI

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residenza Paolo VI
Ranked #123 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here as a treat for our 25th wedding anniversary.
We chose the junior suite which has a view from the bedroom window out over St Peters, and its this location which makes this place special.
We glanced into other rooms which were a little small but still very nicely furnished, but it was the view that was worth the extra !!
Good breakfast and helpful staff

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 737nigel737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 474 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
124
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We vacationed in Rome during the off seasonand decided to set up base near the Vatican. We were glad we stayed here. This lovely hotel is right across the street from St.Peter's. It is quaint and the rooms are small compared to American standards. The breakfast bar was good and the staff was very friendly and helped us with our questions about sightseeing.
We will most likely return to this hotel next year.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were thrilled to find out just how close the Residenza Paolo VI was to St. Peter's Square: as in, when you walk out the door you are looking at the columns surrounding the square, and there is a terrace where guests can sit out and look at St. Peter's Basilica (and the statues of the saints). So beautiful and impressive.

The room itself is small (and the shower felt like pretty tight quarters), but very neat and adequate when you plan on spending every minute possible out exploring! Our room overlooked the courtyard and looked up into the trees on the hill, which was very relaxing. We used credit card points to book this hotel because it was a bit more than we would typically spend, but we would stay here again on a future trip.

Note: as with many places in Italy, there was an elevator but it was pretty slow and used mostly for luggage. We walked many, many stairs, but really enjoyed the fact that we were getting a great workout to allow us to eat plenty of gelato…!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouEandJoeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed for 11 nights because we were in town for Easter and for the Canonizations of John Paul II and John XXIII. Staff were excellent and helpful from the time I contacted first contacted them via e-mail and then via phone to make reservations. It was perfect for us to be able to easily attend masses and the general audience. When we needed to leave early to make day trips or to get in line for the various events, boxed breakfasts were provided. Though not fancy, the family room was a great size for our family of 3. View of St. Peter's Basilica from the terrace was awesome.

We chose to walk to the places we wanted to explore, although the bus stop is right around the corner. Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain, Piazza del Popolo and Spanish Steps are 20-30 minute walks away, the Colosseum about 40 minutes.

Loved the location and service the best. Room 206 where we stayed is not totally immune from police/ambulance sirens, but generally quiet. Could sometimes hear bar staff.

Loved the daily mass readings they slid under your door every morning. Great way for me to start the day. Breakfast was good for a buffet. Not fancy, but filling.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the paolo vi for 3 days,it is just across the road from St. Peter's square I really mean across the road we walked across St. Peter's square every day ideal location for visiting colliseum,Vatican ,and the Trevi fountain.the hotel was first class nice rooms good food and service would recommend.

Room Tip: Try and book front of hotel to see St. Peter's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This little gem is directly across from the Vatican, and the view from the verandah is breathtaking. All the staff were quite helpful and most spoke good English. They helped secure a private guide for my family to tour the Vatican, it was an excellent choice! The breakfast is the typical European fare and is very good. We loved sitting on the verandah at night for a glass of wine and lovely views. The rooms were clean and tidy, excellent hotel!

Room Tip: If you need a guide, the staff here can set up an excellent guide to fit your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend 4 nights in Residenza Paolo VI while in Rome on business. It is always so comforting, when I travel alone, to feel both extremely safe and remarkably well cared for. This gem of a boutique hotel manages to strike the perfect balance - and the location is, as other reviewers have noted - simply unbeatable. One of the real advantages for me was the fact that there is a small dining room where they not only serve a very substantial breakfast, but a modest (and modestly priced) dinner between 4 and 8 p.m. It is almost unheard of to have dinner available in Rome at that early hour, and it is a blessing after either a long day of trans-Atlantic travel or a long day in tiring meetings. The hotel staff is fabulous. There isn't anything they can't do for you. I would agree that this is my only hotel of choice in Rome for the foreseeable future!

Room Tip: The rooms on the main floor are small, but well appointed. The rooms on the upper floor are larger i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTWindyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#355 of 1,269 in Rome
404 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#54 of 1,269 in Rome
676 reviews
Starhotels Michelangelo
#171 of 1,269 in Rome
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#41 of 1,269 in Rome
759 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#202 of 1,269 in Rome
303 reviews
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#51 of 1,269 in Rome
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Paolo VI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Paolo VI

Address: Via Paolo VI 29 | Vaticano-Piazza San Pietro, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#46 Business Hotel in Rome
#74 Family Hotel in Rome
#75 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £99 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Paolo VI 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Paolo VI, established on the premises of an Augustinian Monastery, was inaugurated at the beginning of the Holy Year 2000. The genius loci and the charm of tradition, still alive in its ancient walls, make this property your "private" haven in Rome, far away from chaos, in the pulsing heart of the Eternal City. Rome has many hotels, but only one of them is located directly on St. Peter's Square (Vatican): Residenza Paolo VI, the ideal place for those wishing to stay in the heart of Christendom, close to St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican Grottoes, the Necropolis, St Peter's and Saint John Paul II's tombs, the Vatican Gardens and St. Angel's Castle. Walking along the Vatican Wall, it's easy to reach the Vatican Museums and visit the famous Sistine Chapel. Furthermore, some of our rooms offer special view of the Holy Office or of the internal courtyard of the ancient monastery or even of St. Peter's Dome. From our magnificent Terrace it is possible to admire up close St. Peter's Basilica and the Apostolic Palace, exactly where the Holy Father Pope Francis appears to bless the faithful and to recite the Sunday Angelus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residenza Paolo VI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Paolo Vi Hotel Rome
Residenza Paolo Vi Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing