We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Gensola in Trastevere
Ranked #106 of 1,072 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
North west
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay!”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Superb location - just 30 mins walk to the main sites over the river. We even managed the walk to the Pantheon, the Spanish steps and the Trevi fountain although they were a bit further! The Vatican was about 40-45 mins walk in the other direction along the river but there is a bus! The apartment was lovely, it was on the first floor overlooking the square but we didn't suffer with noise as mentioned in another review. The restaurant in the little square was very popular but people seemed to leave early enough and we were so exhausted from all the sight-seeing and walking we would have slept through anything!! To be fair as it was only June so they did have the roof on the restaurant which may have helped. We found a lovely little bakery around the corner for morning croissants etc and found the apartment great for popping back to about 4 for coffee and one of the bakery's lovely little cakes! Trastevere is great for restaurants at night and just the best place to wander around. We loved it and would really recommend it to anyone. A mirror in the bedroom near the sockets for using hair hot brushes, straighteners would have helped - only a little nitpick though, the stay was excellent!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank queenie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Yarra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

La Gensola is in a very interesting part of Trastevere and close to the most popular venues. It is well served by transport to other sectors of Rome. The apartment is sparsely furnished, but modern and spotless. Another set of shelves downstairs would be a good idea. We were on the second floor and had no problem with noise. The best restaurant nearby - and it is very good indeed - "spirito santo". We did find the wi-fi connection was a bit dodgy. Suggest they switch the account to Vodafone which has a much stronger signal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JCA301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuross Head, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed 7 nights at La Gensola in Trastevere which is located in a small piazza conveniently within walking distance across the river to the centre of Rome and the myriad of local restaurants in Trestavere. The building has 4 modern apartments. Our first floor apartment included a fully equipped kitchen with washing machine and a dining and seating area. The bedroom upstairs on the mezzanine floor was spacious and modern with a king size very comfortable bed and a modern bathroom. Our apartment windows looked over the side street which was good because the piazza has a very popular restaurant which could be noisy at night. A good place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This location in Trastevere is great for walking just about anywhere, or taking a quick cab ride. There are numerous restaurants & bars in the area and you are just across the street from the Tiber river. The only real downside is the noise. It's nice to have the windows open (& there are bars on the windows so it's safe to have them open) but with the restaurants & the major street so close, it got kind of noisy at night & early morning. Earplugs really helped. We stayed in the ground level apartment and the room sizes were fine, but bathrooms were very small. Seemed very reasonable given prices elsewhere, and we were ok without the daily maid service, given we also had a small kitchen & combo dining/living area. I would stay again mostly for the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcupi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieusse, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We loved our weekend in Rome and were happy to have chosen to stay at La Gensola. The apartment was well equipped, spacious and extremely comfortable. Close to the best area for bars and restaurants it was also ideally situated for wandering around the sights of Rome. We would have no hesitation recommending these apartments and hope to go back.

Room Tip: If you are less mobile the steep stairs could be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

As you can see from our map we love to travel and we love Rome. These past years wr have wsntef to find the right apartment in the right neighrhood so we could come several times a year. This year we searched for apartments while we were here - boo hoo hoo we leave tomorrow. The owner of the Gensola was kind enough to show us Apartment 3 and we peaked at others. This is a terrific place. Luisa has done a beautiful job taking a magnificent old Italian building on a small piazzete in the Trastevere neighborhood and modernizing the apartments inside. The place is previous, welcoming and comfortable, sunny, well equipped with a pleasant layout. We are thrilled to learn it is well prized, cleaning lady was there and seemed nice and helpful. It is so great
to have Luisa be so accomodating...we will book the Gensola without a doubt. Also, her young don was a delight.

Room Tip: Apartment #3 on the first floor seemed ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Just what we wanted....GREAT position, cute apartment, peaceful...as per the other reviews, close to the beautiful Tiber and the Vatican. Vibey eating places all around us. Wished we could have stayed longer. The bedroom is up some steep stairs so probably not suitable for people who struggle to climb. We loved staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Trastevere Luxury Guest House
Trastevere
Palazzo Velli Suites
Palazzo Velli Suites
#137 of 1,072 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Trastevere
Window on Rome
Window on Rome
#320 of 3,621 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
#277 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Trastevere
Finestra su Trastevere
Finestra su Trastevere
#1,483 of 3,621 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Trastevere
A Trastevere da M.E.
A Trastevere da M.E.
#140 of 3,621 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gensola in Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gensola in Trastevere

Property: La Gensola in Trastevere
Address: Via della Gensola 55, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 1,072 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gensola in Trastevere 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Gensola in Trastevere is an old building of 17th century completely renovated in 2011, and now offers the following types of apartments: APARTMENTS FOR 2 OR 3 PERSONS Comprises of 1 double bedroom, living area with sofa bed, kitchenette and bathroom. APARTMENTS FOR 4 OR 5 PERSONS Comprises of 2 double bedrooms ( on request single beds available in one bedroom), living area with sofa bed, kitchenette and 2 bathrooms ALL APARTMENTS OFFER : - Kitchenette with refrigerator, stove and microwave - Underfloor heating and air conditioning - All bathrooms have a shower - Towels and bed linen - Hairdryer -Satellite TV - Wi Fi Internet - Washing machine, ironing board and iron - Safety deposit box - Traditional terracotta floors - Exposed wood beam ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your La Gensola in Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing