We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location , Location , Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Gensola in Trastevere
Ranked #100 of 1,091 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Binyamina, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location , Location , Location”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We thought we were going to an hotel (I don't really know why) and we found our-self in an very nice and comport apartment on the edge of Trastevere.

The Location is amazing and everything is in a walking distance (the Vatican on one side and the coliseum on the other)

The place is very clean and tidy with fridge , gas , air condition , Cable TV and free Wi-Fi.

The Owner is very friendly and even set us with a driver to the airport for 35 Euro (it costs 30 to come by train and tram).

The area wakes up at night and you have lots of good bars and restaurants to visit in a 1km radius. (there is a very nice restaurant called FishMarket just outside the apartment for dinner with we young and fun atmosphere).

Next time in Rome we are coming back....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kogman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great place! We feel we really lucked out on finding this apartment. It was clean, spacious, and walkable from all tourist spots. Loved the nightlife in the neighborhood. The washing machine inside the apartment was a huge plus after we got caught in a rain storm. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cap218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
499 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed in these apartments for five nights. The apartments are in a great location for sightseeing, major attractions are within a 30 minute walk in any direction. They are clean and well maintained. Maribella was a great help as was Luisa.

We stayed in a one bedroom upstairs apartment, with a loft/mezzanine floor. The bedroom and bathroom was on the upper level, and kitchen and living/dining area was downstairs.

We can't comment on the kitchen facilities as we didn't cook, there are heaps of restaurants around the apartment, (you will be tripping over them.)
If you do intend to cook there is a large supermarket called Oviesse, 62 Viale di Trastevere, about 600 metres from the apartment, you could easily dismiss it as a department store walking by as it has clothes on the ground floor, the supermarket is downstairs. There are closer stores to the apartment but if you want a larger range of goods Orviesse, is great.

The area around the apartment is very vibrant, as there are many restaurants and places to eat, so it can get a little noisy.

At the time we were looking for accommodation in Rome, these apartments were great value compared to a lot of other places.

We would stay here again, should we come back to Rome.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: Up stairs did have a sloping roof above the cupboard used for clothes storage, which I hit my head o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We, a group of two families (4 adults and 2 children), found La Gensola a very nice place to stay in Rome. It was well equipped, well stocked, clean and a stone's throw away from the Tiber river. It was close to grocery shops, ATMs, lovely bakeries and restaurants. It was well connected to all the places of historical interest in Rome via buses. We stayed in the groundfloor portion for 4 days and the apartment was cleaned once when we were there and the towels changed, which is something not many apart-hotels do. The only disadvantage I can think of was that it was a little noisy in the night due to there being an alley one one side and an outdoor restaurant on the other. Overall, it was a fabulous place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmRao1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having been to Rome many times, on this trip I thought I would try something different. The location is great being no more than 30 mins from all the sights. The area which was new to me is full of great restaurants and buzzing with atmosphere. The apartment was very clean and spacious. All I could suggest to improve is that although for 4' the sofa is only for two meaning some having to sit on the dinning chairs. A small fold down table under the tv from Ikea with folding dining chairs hung on the wall would enable another 2 seater sofa to be squeezed in

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have been remiss in not getting this review done and wanted to let all of you know who are looking for accommodations in Rome that this place is simply terrific.

We travel a great deal and seldom stay in apartments due to the fact that the website photos in few cases look like the actual place. Luisa who owns La Gensola has created a superb apart/hotel in a wonderful section of Trastevere. This is our third year staying in this neighborhood that we so love but La Gensola is located in an area of Trastevere that is less touristy and more residential. Although, we found an amazing bakery, deli (salumeria), restaurants, fish market and even a great hardware store. La Gensola is located next to the Tiber River and the monuments and buildings are always breathtaking.


I mentioned that the aparto/hotel was created. Let me describe. The building is authentic and has a rural charm. It houses four apartments that have been renovated from top to bottom in high-end design. Low key class and fine materials. Storage cabinets galore, large closets, tons of drawers, great washing machine, and a darling kitchen that is fully stocked.

The set up for the apartment is very user friendly. No deposit of any type and a marvelous housekeeper who comes in every three days to change the towels, sheets and do minimal cleaning. Mariellen was a gem!!!

All of what we highlighted at an affordable price for Rome and depending the season. We will be back and thank Luisa and Mariellen for a wonderful two and a half week stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This Is a lovely apartment in an ideal location. We have been here for 4 nights with my 2 year old son in our group. The 2 bedroom apartment is modern, clean and well equipped, a blessing as the weather has not been great during our stay. It was a bonus that it's on the ground floor as we had the pram with us. There is a lovely fish restaurant next door (the fish market) and some typically roman restaurants all within a minutes walk away.
The staff at la gensola could not have been more helpful. When our airline gave us less than 24 hours notice that they'd cancelled our return flight back to the uk, la gensola were quick to help us book a 4th night .
We will definitely come back here and will be recommending la gensola to our family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Trastevere Luxury Guest House
Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
#244 of 3,643 in Rome
418 reviews
Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
#289 of 3,643 in Rome
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hip Suites
Hip Suites
#177 of 3,643 in Rome
259 reviews
Trastevere
Residenza Arco dei Tolomei
Trastevere
Luxury Trastevere
Luxury Trastevere
#505 of 1,091 in Rome
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gensola in Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gensola in Trastevere

Property: La Gensola in Trastevere
Address: Via della Gensola 55, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 1,091 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gensola in Trastevere 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Gensola in Trastevere is an old building of 17th century completely renovated in 2011, and now offers the following types of apartments: APARTMENTS FOR 2 OR 3 PERSONS Comprises of 1 double bedroom, living area with sofa bed, kitchenette and bathroom. APARTMENTS FOR 4 OR 5 PERSONS Comprises of 2 double bedrooms ( on request single beds available in one bedroom), living area with sofa bed, kitchenette and 2 bathrooms ALL APARTMENTS OFFER : - Kitchenette with refrigerator, stove and microwave - Underfloor heating and air conditioning - All bathrooms have a shower - Towels and bed linen - Hairdryer -Satellite TV - Wi Fi Internet - Washing machine, ironing board and iron - Safety deposit box - Traditional terracotta floors - Exposed wood beam ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your La Gensola in Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing