We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended hotel!”
Review of Foresteria Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Foresteria Roma
Ranked #694 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed for almost 2 weeks at the Foresteria Roma. Located in the San Lorenzo neighborhood, it is just 3 blocks from via Tiburtina, where you can catch bus 71 that takes you to the Tiburtina Metro/Train station, or downtown on the other direction (bus stops at Largo Chigi, just off via del Corso, 2 blocks from the Fontana de Trevi). A supermarket is just around the corner and there are many trattorias around. San Lorenzo is very lively at night.
Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable; breakfast is good. The Foresteria even offers a laundry service for a more than reasonable price. Staff is helpful and polite.
For the price, this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fernando002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Foresteria Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Fernando,
we thank you very much for the nice words you expressed about our hotel.
We really do hope to see you in the near fure
Best Regards
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend (22year old women) stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in June,it's a 20-25minute walk from the termini, there's a small hill on the walk, you certainly need to be fit because the heat (40C) and the walk don't mix well. The staff were always helpful when we needed them, the breakfast is simple but you're not paying for a la carte, 2 different cereals, fruit, toast, juice etc. The rooms were clean and comfortable, we stayed in a single room with extra bed and en suite, we paid €30 a night each, the room was made daily, sheets weren't changed but we weren't bothered, they provide towels. We did come across a small problem, make sure you take two plug adapters because one of ours didn't fit which was supplied with my travel hair dryer.
Another plus was the fact that the reception was open all day, I think we came back from a local bar at about 12am and we just had to buzz to get in.
The security of the hotel made my friend and I feel safe because you get two keys one for your room and another for the room to the corridor, there are about 10 rooms down one corridor. There's also a small kitchenette, you can't cook anything but there's a fridge/freezer which we used to cool our drinks down overnight.

We didn't use the metro or trains and found the buses easier to work out, there's a small information area out of the termini, we took a photograph of the bus numbers and where they went and used that to plan our journeys.

There are also plenty of great bars and restaurants around the hotel and a little market.

Overall this hotel is a great and cheap stay. The only minor thing we would've liked would've been a fan or air conditioning in the room, we didn't ask so we can't really complain and dont know if they do supply them, by the end of the day we just wanted to sleep, we managed with the windows open. If we return to rome we will more than likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lennykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Foresteria Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Madam,
thank you very much for your comments on our Foresteria, we are really happy that you enjoied your stay
Thank you for your suggestions, we took good note...
Hoping to see you again,
Ciao from Rome

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The hotel had an incredibly helpful staff, and a great location (right next to the #3 tram and 20 minutes from termini walking). The wifi was very fast as well. Although the room was small, it was clean and efficient. For the price, it was a great stay. It was surrounded by local shops, and restaurants, with a true italian feel. Would recommend for people who dont mind walking, and would like to see the "real" Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naan1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Foresteria Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Friend,

thank you very much for the nice words you used about our Foresteria.
We are at your full disposal anytime you decided to come to Rome again

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

All I needed was a place to lay my head and Foresteria not only met that need, but exceeded it. Clean and resonably priced, it is located in a quiet area and provided a great breakfast with the best Italian coffee I have had from any hotel - Moka-made, not from an automatic machine. The staff was friendly and willing to help with any navigational needs I had.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
6  Thank Hanshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Foresteria Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Friend,

we are really happy about your comments about us, as you have seen we do our utmost to satinsfy any client's need; we hope to see you again in Rome

Ciao from Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Everything was really good. Good price too! I'd stay there again in my next rome visit. Totally recommended if you're looking for a good place to stay for a low price. Includes free breakfast and a kitchen if you wanna cook. The staff was really nice and kind.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Haroldisasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Foresteria Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Tank you for your comments and we are very pleased for that . We look forward to your next trip for to arrange you stay even more pleasant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at Foresteria Roma easter weekend. We had a very hard time finding a place to stay in Rome in our budget this weekend. Foresteria Roma was not on our top 10 list, but we had a very nice stay there. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from Termini Train station, after sight seeing for 12 hour days, I wish that walk was shorter. Foresteria Roma is a 2 minute walk to a tram line that comes about every 20 minutes. We loved utilizing the tram in the mornings (it connected with both the blue and the red metro lines at Manzoni or the Collesium). We never found a tram schedule while we were in Rome and didn't utilize the tram to get home, because we weren't coming back until 11 or 12 most nights. I recommend if staying here that you find out the tram information prior to arrival in Rome.

The hotel staff was very accomodating and very helpful. Everyone was friendly. Most employees did not speak english, but we could get by with our spanish. The staff also went out of there way to pick up our tickets for the Easter Papal Mass prior to our arrival in Rome. We were so grateful that we didn't have to use a courier. They offer a very simple breakfast with a few different breads, juice and cereal. The rooms are very basic and clean. The hotel has very thin walls, but everything was very quiet. Ideally we would have stayed closer to other attractions. There were no tourists in this area, it was nice to get off the beaten path. I think we were some of the only tourists staying there. My husband and I are young, very active, love traveling the world on a budget and are quite adventurous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank natfly821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was a perfect place to stay for my son and I while we visited Rome. Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance, which made our stay in Roma so much more enjoyable than we'd imagined it would be. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. The room was small but clean and comfortable, it had everything we needed for a night's sleep. When we left (after only a three day stay) the staff came to say good-bye. We felt like we had made friends. If I ever make it to Roma again I would look to stay nowhere else but here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mrlinux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Foresteria Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Sir,we read your comment about your stay at our Foresteria and we have no words to express our gratitude for your nice and warm comment.
Our main target is to do the best to make a client's stay "sometihng special" and we really do hope to see you again in Rome.Thanking you once more we remain,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
San Lorenzo
Vibel Hotel
Vibel Hotel
#467 of 1,272 in Rome
28 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#90 of 1,272 in Rome
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurentia
Hotel Laurentia
#300 of 1,272 in Rome
336 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#219 of 1,272 in Rome
709 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresteria Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresteria Roma

Address: Via Degli Apuli 41, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo , Tiburtino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #694 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £27 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse is situated in Rome, in the area of San Lorenzo and welcomes 60 people in single, double or family rooms. Discounts for students, families, groups with more 'than 5 persons, members of the Salvation Army. We also have singles, triples and quadruples rooms all with en-suite bathroom, TV and Wi-Fi. On a convenient pricing we also offer twin rooms with bunk debs and shared bathroom. There is the possibility to have dinner in the Foresteria (self-service) A meal of 10€ which includes a choice between two first courses, two main courses, two side dishes, fruits, bread and a bottle of water 0.5L can be booked. Our hotel is close to a tram stop going to the Colosseum or San Giovanni. If you get off at the Manzoni stop, you can take the underground and go to the Vatican or take the 19 line and reach Piazza Risorgimento close to the Vatican. For further information or for a quotation please do not hesitate to contact us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Foresteria Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing