We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place of our entire Eurotrip!”
Review of B&B Calamatta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Calamatta
Ranked #99 of 3,781 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Calamatta, it is the best B&B we stayed at during our trip through Europe. Valerio is a tremendous host, he was extremely friendly and accomodating throughout our stay. He was great at helping us navigate all of the sightseeing Rome has to offer, along with giving excellent dining suggestions, and keeping it all budget friendly without sacrificing on an authentic experience in Rome. The rooms were super clean and spacious-if you are able to book the apartment we would highly recommend doing so! Housekeeping was superb. The location is central to all of the sights in Rome, as well as in a safe area. We had such an amazing experience at the Calamatta and highly recommend it to all-we will definitely be staying there on our next visit to Rome!

Room Tip: Ask to book the apartment if it is available...it will truly feel like you are living in Rome! Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

the first time we met valerio he had come down to the street to tell us we had missed the door to the calamatta and he then took us into the building and then proceeded to be the perfect host.He tells you the best places to eat that are in walking distance and the place to get the best view of room.In short nothing was too much trouble. The room we had was comfortable and had been recently been refurbished ,good air con fl,and decent flat screen tele,decent hot shower.You could either have breakfast in your room or go just around the corner to a local snack bar.We chose the snack bar where you sat on the pavement enjoying a loverly cup of coffee and a pastrie.The problem was you only got one of each. The calamatta is close to the Vatican and several other sites of interest Would recommend stopping here and if we go back to rome we will stop here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liftman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked the Calamatta for my girlfriends 30th Birthday trip to Rome and have to say it was perfect.

The B&B it's self is situated inside a very old style apartment building on the 1st floor, which has a really awesome old style elevator inside which is quite a cool feature to the building.

On arrival Valerio was there to greet us both, let us into our room which was also ready, sat us down and marked out two really great itinerary's for our two day stay all highlighted on the map for us and pointed out some really great local attractions and areas of interest.

The room was very spacious, bed was super comfy, air con worked really well, massive bathroom, loads of storage and a big TV.

It is located in a nice quiet side street with very little noise which is great for the evenings once you are back in after a long day exploring, eating and drinking.

Location is amazing every main site is walkable from here the Coliseum being the longest walk 40 mins at worst but it's prefect as you get to see so much of Rome, Vatican is maybe 12 mins walk, Trevi fountain maybe 15 min walk.

The shared kitchen area was super clean and it has a communal fridge if you need to store anything such as waters, beers etc in there, it comes with a really nice coffee pod machine which you are able to help yourself to at any time of the day.

Breakfast gets delivered to your room which again is really nice and just have to let them know what time you fancy having it, it was basic but was all we really needed on our early starts out adventuring.

I would 1000% stay here again if we re visit Rome.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms but Vallerio is contactable via email to make any alternate arrangement's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My girlfriend had an excellent experience in Rome and the B&B Calamatta was a big reason why. Our room was exactly what we needed. It was clean, comfortable and in a good location. Great value for the price. Valerio the owner provided excellent customer service and was able to help us with questions several times.

I recommend this B&B to anyone and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mphailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Perfect location!
Trevi fountain, Spanish stairs, Vatican, etc are all in walking distance.
Valerio is a very good host and helps out when needed.

The apartment is very spacious and comfortable.
Will definitely com back when in Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arjen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Valerio was an excellent host, very knowledgeable and provided a map with suggestions on where to eat, places to visit and transportation options during our stay. The B&B is wonderful and only minutes from several of Rome's attractions. Our room was cozy and very clean with all the basic necessities to make our stay comfortable. Highly Recommended !
Greg & Pam S.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPCSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We arrived to be met by our host Valerio, who was waiting outside the Bbcalamatta to welcome us,(even though our plane was late ).As previous reviewers have stated he was most helpful with advice on where to go to visit, where to eat and how to get there. The room we had was clean and the beds were comfortable with a good supply of hot water on tap ( a pun).You have access to a small kitchenette, with a coffee machine and fridge, however the best thing about this b+b is the location, a short walk across the square from the airport bus drop off, so(no expensive taxis), it is ideally located for the city centre, which you literally cross the nearby bridge and you there in the middle of history. Overall a great place to visit Rome from. Steve and Julie b.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
B&B El Dorado Vatican
B&B El Dorado Vatican
#48 of 3,781 in Rome
372 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
At Your Place
At Your Place
#46 of 3,781 in Rome
994 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
DG Prestige Room
DG Prestige Room
#75 of 3,781 in Rome
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
A Peace of Rome
A Peace of Rome
#74 of 3,781 in Rome
680 reviews
Prati
OM2Rome
OM2Rome
#62 of 3,781 in Rome
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Calamatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Calamatta

Address: Via Luigi Calamatta 16, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 3,781 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £50 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Prati district between Trastevere, Vatican City and Castel Sant'Angelo, among the typical features of Rome, with craft shops, the quaint shops, bars and cafes.Located in a very quiet street, in the center of Rome, within walking distance of St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican and of the most elegant and famous shopping streets(via Candotti, via Frattina, via Veneto, Via Cola di Rienzo) reached on foot in 5 min.Fontana di Trevi, p-ing of Spain (10 min.)P-za Navona, Campo dei Fiori (10/15 min.)Colosseum, Roman Forum, Pantheon (20 min.)P-za Venice (15 min)Trastevere (15 min)located on the first floor of an elegant early twentieth century, boasts sleek and comfortable and the perfect accommodation for those wishing to live and visit Rome.It is ideal for anyone who wants to stay in the Eternal City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your B&B Calamatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing