We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best B B. I will stay again. Valerio is the best host.”
Review of B&B Calamatta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Calamatta
Ranked #77 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is my second time to return to Rome but my first time try to stay in B B bit i like it very much. The girl clean the room very well trained. She spoke good English . I left early in the morning so i couldnt get breakfast in the room but Valerio was nice to gave us a ticket vouch to go to the cafeteria to have fresh coffee and a croissant every morning. He directed us how to use the bus , train , sightsee, restaurant v.v...not to spend much money
in tour trip. He is very friendly, dependably and honestly. He always was there for any question or reply email quickly as need it. I would highly refer to my family, friends or anyone who wants to spend less money in a clean place, good location and good space for luggages and safe place at night in a quite area.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanhmN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

When you read the previous reviews you will see that the Calamatta has two outstanding features, one is the location,the second is Valerio. Both are valid. The Location is ideal but you must be willing to walk a little. We have been to Rome previously so had no real desire to do the big sites again and were quite content to just wonder. Calamatta is closest to the Vatican (10 mins stroll) . Valerio will tailor his suggestions around your wishes. He will let you know what buses trains or trams you need to catch from where,this is very easy and cheap if you don't what to walk.
In terms of the accommodation its clean and tidy without being luxurious. It is basic but not in a bad way. Our bedroom overlooked a courtyard surrounded by other buildings. We had the windows open at night and it could get quite noisy but didn't really affect us too much. We breakfasted at a cafe around the corner as part of the deal,which was pleasant without being anything special,again its not an expensive deal for Rome and therefore you cannot expect 4 star treatment.
In conclusion if you are looking for a cost effective way of visiting Rome and you are not too concerned about luxury treatment then look no further.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Before I talk about the location and etc. Valerio is one of the nicest people i have ever met. He loves his job and Rome and only wants to share his love. he will do his best to help you with anything you need and from locating sites, explaining the bus system, giving you specific instructions on how to get places, or even giving you his personal favorite places to visit, see, or eat. hes incredible. He is also awesome as a person, hes is truly nice, and is just a fun person to talk to! The actual bb is incredible. Incredibly clean, looks awesome, and is in an incredible location. I would recommend this place to anyway in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Β&Β Calamatta was just perfect. Most convinient place to stay in Rome, 15' from almost every important - historical place of central Rome. Near metro and many bus stops. Breakfast either in our room or in a small caffe near by. Every day cleaning. Elevator.
Valerio made us feel at home and gave us directions drawing all central Rome's map for our every day tour! Really helpful!!!!! He helped us even after our check out until our leaving for the airport. Dain (I don't really know how to spell it), the girl that brough our breakfast was very gentle too. Both could speak English, Valerio perfectly and Dain everything necessary to mak you feel at home. Certainly our first choice if ever back in Rome and for sure our topo proposal for friends. Thank you Valerio!!

Room Tip: I think every room is perfect. I do not know if there is a room with a balcony or yard. Ours did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sofia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My fiancee and I couldn't have been happier with Calamatta. Valerio was incredibly helpful and a great source of advice. The location was perfect for us, and it was a great start to our trip. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Calamatta, it is the best B&B we stayed at during our trip through Europe. Valerio is a tremendous host, he was extremely friendly and accomodating throughout our stay. He was great at helping us navigate all of the sightseeing Rome has to offer, along with giving excellent dining suggestions, and keeping it all budget friendly without sacrificing on an authentic experience in Rome. The rooms were super clean and spacious-if you are able to book the apartment we would highly recommend doing so! Housekeeping was superb. The location is central to all of the sights in Rome, as well as in a safe area. We had such an amazing experience at the Calamatta and highly recommend it to all-we will definitely be staying there on our next visit to Rome!

Room Tip: Ask to book the apartment if it is available...it will truly feel like you are living in Rome! Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

the first time we met valerio he had come down to the street to tell us we had missed the door to the calamatta and he then took us into the building and then proceeded to be the perfect host.He tells you the best places to eat that are in walking distance and the place to get the best view of room.In short nothing was too much trouble. The room we had was comfortable and had been recently been refurbished ,good air con fl,and decent flat screen tele,decent hot shower.You could either have breakfast in your room or go just around the corner to a local snack bar.We chose the snack bar where you sat on the pavement enjoying a loverly cup of coffee and a pastrie.The problem was you only got one of each. The calamatta is close to the Vatican and several other sites of interest Would recommend stopping here and if we go back to rome we will stop here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liftman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
B&B El Dorado Vatican
B&B El Dorado Vatican
#62 of 3,743 in Rome
357 reviews
Prati
OM2Rome
OM2Rome
#38 of 3,743 in Rome
330 reviews
Testaccio
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
#9 of 3,743 in Rome
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roma In Una Stanza
#37 of 3,743 in Rome
189 reviews
Next Door Guesthouse
#99 of 3,743 in Rome
264 reviews
Esquilino
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 3,743 in Rome
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Calamatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Calamatta

Address: Via Luigi Calamatta 16, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £48 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Prati district between Trastevere, Vatican City and Castel Sant'Angelo, among the typical features of Rome, with craft shops, the quaint shops, bars and cafes.Located in a very quiet street, in the center of Rome, within walking distance of St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican and of the most elegant and famous shopping streets(via Candotti, via Frattina, via Veneto, Via Cola di Rienzo) reached on foot in 5 min.Fontana di Trevi, p-ing of Spain (10 min.)P-za Navona, Campo dei Fiori (10/15 min.)Colosseum, Roman Forum, Pantheon (20 min.)P-za Venice (15 min)Trastevere (15 min)located on the first floor of an elegant early twentieth century, boasts sleek and comfortable and the perfect accommodation for those wishing to live and visit Rome.It is ideal for anyone who wants to stay in the Eternal City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your B&B Calamatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing