We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I've Stayed In”
Review of B&B Calamatta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Calamatta
Ranked #71 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Best B&B I've Stayed In”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

B&B Calamatta had everything I could have asked for. Two of us spent 3 nights there and enjoyed every second. Valerio, the man in charge, is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The beds and bathrooms were spacious and clean. Everyone spoke English well. The location is perfect and near everything. PS: the cake is delicious. I definitely plan on staying here next time I come to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    52
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
49
155
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Valerio was a very accommodating and friendly host who helped us out by providing recommendations and information where to go in the city and how to get around, including which buses to catch to sights a bit further away and helping us out with bookings.

The rooms themselves were big and comfortable (3 rooms in total, we were staying in 2 of them). There was a kitchenette with coffee machine, bowls etc for breakfast and always homemade cake out for a snack! (Nice touch). Our breakfast was organised to be at a bar around the corner however this doesn't seem to be the usual arrangement. It was nice to have a yummy croissant and cup of coffee every morning watching the passers-by in the street on their way to work (by far beat the supermarket packaged croissants I have had at other places!)

Regarding the position: it was great. It was a short walk to the Vatican and Spanish steps, a short bus ride to the Colosseum and up to the lookout then down the hill to Trastevere and also to the station to go to Ostia Antica. I felt safe walking in this area at nighttime (unlike other parts of Rome I have stayed in). It is a clean, prosperous area of Rome with a supermarkets and lots of good restaurants a short walk away (ask Valerio for recommendations, we were very glad we followed his advice!).

I highly recommended Calamatta B and B for it great location, security, comfort and above all Valerio who goes beyond to help the guests, as we experienced ourselves and saw though his attentiveness to the other guests whilst we were staying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The owner, Valerio, is very helpful and friendly. He gives several tips and a lot of attention to all guests.

The accomadation is really good. The bedroom is comfortable and clean.

There is a room where you can use a mini-oven, a mini-refrigerator and eat some appetizers for free.

The localization is pretty good to. You can go to Vaticano by foot if you want and the B&B is very close to a bus stop.

If you want a comfortable and a great place to stay, this is the one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is my second time to return to Rome but my first time try to stay in B B bit i like it very much. The girl clean the room very well trained. She spoke good English . I left early in the morning so i couldnt get breakfast in the room but Valerio was nice to gave us a ticket vouch to go to the cafeteria to have fresh coffee and a croissant every morning. He directed us how to use the bus , train , sightsee, restaurant v.v...not to spend much money
in tour trip. He is very friendly, dependably and honestly. He always was there for any question or reply email quickly as need it. I would highly refer to my family, friends or anyone who wants to spend less money in a clean place, good location and good space for luggages and safe place at night in a quite area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanhmN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

When you read the previous reviews you will see that the Calamatta has two outstanding features, one is the location,the second is Valerio. Both are valid. The Location is ideal but you must be willing to walk a little. We have been to Rome previously so had no real desire to do the big sites again and were quite content to just wonder. Calamatta is closest to the Vatican (10 mins stroll) . Valerio will tailor his suggestions around your wishes. He will let you know what buses trains or trams you need to catch from where,this is very easy and cheap if you don't what to walk.
In terms of the accommodation its clean and tidy without being luxurious. It is basic but not in a bad way. Our bedroom overlooked a courtyard surrounded by other buildings. We had the windows open at night and it could get quite noisy but didn't really affect us too much. We breakfasted at a cafe around the corner as part of the deal,which was pleasant without being anything special,again its not an expensive deal for Rome and therefore you cannot expect 4 star treatment.
In conclusion if you are looking for a cost effective way of visiting Rome and you are not too concerned about luxury treatment then look no further.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Before I talk about the location and etc. Valerio is one of the nicest people i have ever met. He loves his job and Rome and only wants to share his love. he will do his best to help you with anything you need and from locating sites, explaining the bus system, giving you specific instructions on how to get places, or even giving you his personal favorite places to visit, see, or eat. hes incredible. He is also awesome as a person, hes is truly nice, and is just a fun person to talk to! The actual bb is incredible. Incredibly clean, looks awesome, and is in an incredible location. I would recommend this place to anyway in a heart beat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Β&Β Calamatta was just perfect. Most convinient place to stay in Rome, 15' from almost every important - historical place of central Rome. Near metro and many bus stops. Breakfast either in our room or in a small caffe near by. Every day cleaning. Elevator.
Valerio made us feel at home and gave us directions drawing all central Rome's map for our every day tour! Really helpful!!!!! He helped us even after our check out until our leaving for the airport. Dain (I don't really know how to spell it), the girl that brough our breakfast was very gentle too. Both could speak English, Valerio perfectly and Dain everything necessary to mak you feel at home. Certainly our first choice if ever back in Rome and for sure our topo proposal for friends. Thank you Valerio!!

Room Tip: I think every room is perfect. I do not know if there is a room with a balcony or yard. Ours did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#225 of 1,258 in Rome
794 reviews
Prati
OM2Rome
OM2Rome
#40 of 3,669 in Rome
309 reviews
Prati
B&B El Dorado Vatican
B&B El Dorado Vatican
#66 of 3,669 in Rome
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
At Your Place
At Your Place
#26 of 3,669 in Rome
985 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#57 of 3,669 in Rome
168 reviews
Prati
Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Calamatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Calamatta

Property: B&B Calamatta
Address: Via Luigi Calamatta 16, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Prati district between Trastevere, Vatican City and Castel Sant'Angelo, among the typical features of Rome, with craft shops, the quaint shops, bars and cafes.Located in a very quiet street, in the center of Rome, within walking distance of St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican and of the most elegant and famous shopping streets(via Candotti, via Frattina, via Veneto, Via Cola di Rienzo) reached on foot in 5 min.Fontana di Trevi, p-ing of Spain (10 min.)P-za Navona, Campo dei Fiori (10/15 min.)Colosseum, Roman Forum, Pantheon (20 min.)P-za Venice (15 min)Trastevere (15 min)located on the first floor of an elegant early twentieth century, boasts sleek and comfortable and the perfect accommodation for those wishing to live and visit Rome.It is ideal for anyone who wants to stay in the Eternal City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Calamatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing