We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alessandro will take you to the best "winetrip" you ever had!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rimessa Roscioli

Rimessa Roscioli
Ranked #19 of 208 Food & Drink in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Taste 8 Italian wines, hand-picked by Roscioli's top sommelier, accompanied by generous food pairings from our world-famous Roscioli kitchen. All wines and foods are sourced from extraordinary local producers, representing several regions of Italy. We offer group tastings, and private ones, which are custom-tailored to fit your interests.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Alessandro will take you to the best "winetrip" you ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Doesn't matter if you are an expert or not.... Alessandro will drive you through the magic of wine tasting. If you have the chance of having a reservation for one of his adventure do not miss it. Best wine experience in Rome!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marciman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    48
    9
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great tasting, decent atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I scheduled a private tasting for the two of us after seeing Roscioli's featured on the Rome episode of No Reservations (no doubt just as many of the other reviewers have done). The experience started off shaky as we were taken from the tasting room (featured in the NR episode) to another storefront and told that was where we would be doing our tasting. The salumeria was very beautiful and very busy. Once Allesandro, the head sommelier who gave our tasting, got free from coordinating orders, he showed us to the back of the store, to our table. The table was very small and presented many challenges during the tasting. Allesandro was constantly having to rearrange plates and glasses anytime he brought another bit of food for the next pairing. It may have been naive to expect our tasting would be given in the same room as was on the episode, but we didn't expect to be shoved into a small, two-person table with room for little else besides the six wine glasses, either.
The size of the table was one of two problems we had with our experience. The second issue was that because we were having the tasting in a restaurant (more of a bistro, really) that was prepping for dinner service, Allesandro was constantly dodging staff members moving chairs and tables down the aisle in which he was standing. We complemented him on being able to keep his composure while having to operate around all of the noise and activity, but we also felt like we were simply being "fit into" his schedule and not getting the same treatment a larger group would have received. As you would expect, we paid more per person than the typical group rate, which we were fine with (intimacy often costs more).
Now, having said that, the tasting itself was exceptional. The wine, food, and information we received from Allesandro and Roscioli will forever stick out in our minds as a great memory of our first trip to Rome. The list of wines we tried was emailed to us after our tasting, so we didn't have to remember labels, which was nice, only take notes about our experience. Food-wise, there are too many goodies to list, but my wife and I both agreed that the fresh Ricotta and Mozzarella cheeses, along with a few helpings of fantastic prosciutto and jamon iberico, were our favorites.
As I said, Allesandro was very informative and very accommodating. We stayed almost three hours and, in addition to the six wines we expected with the tasting, he served another three based upon our reaction to what he had already served and out questions about regional differences in Italian wines.

Visited November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank SJHolley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We visited Roscioli a group of friends in December 2013. Great atmosphere, kind and service-minded staff, and the food and wine are top quality. I would clearly go back if I return to Rome.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kornint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“It was great and we will be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were 4 adult, it was very good and very interesting. The sommelier was very professional and kind. Jope to visit ther again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Efrat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Top notch experience. Do it early on your trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had an extraordinary evening with Alessandro. He's exceptionally knowledgeable about wine but it's the food pairings, his wit, and the unexpected that make the evening.

You'll be tucked away off a small piazza near Campo di Fiori in a cozy room lined with wine and perfect for his purpose. Our evening had a relatively small group and as the wine flowed so did the conversation. The evolution of local food recognition, history, literature, and criticism all took stage. Your fellow tasters add to the ambience and glow.

You'll experience a range of food all in the top levels of what Italy and Sicily have to offer. Stepping into a shop or looking at a menu you'll be much more confident of the choices. That's a big reason to book this tasting long before you arrive in Roma.

Visited December 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank skagittraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rimessa Roscioli also viewed

 

Been to Rimessa Roscioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing