We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel In Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #52 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel In Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here 5 nights from the 3rd-7th May. We picked it based on it's good Tripadvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. It's a very nice, well-furnished hotel. The staff were very welcoming and friendly (especially the man with the mustache, sorry I have forgotten his name, he was great!). Our room was nicely furnished and very clean. There's a safe which is handy for passports etc, and a minibar. Bed was very comfortable. The en suite bathroom was nice and comes with a hairdryer and all the little things you need like shower gel etc.
The breakfasts were very nice. There was a selection of cereals, croissants and cakes, biscuits, slices of different types of hams and meats, cheese, and things like sausage, bacon, and eggs. There was always different types of juices to drink, and they were all lovely.

Getting here from FCO airport was easy. Got the train from the airport to Termini (the main station) then Metro Line A to Cornelia. When you reach the exit barriers, take the left hand exit to the stairs. There's a few exits so finding the right one is trail and error! If you get out of the right exit there's a McDonalds a minute down the street, turn right and its another minute walk along the road. Its near a few minimarts. It's also within walking distance to a good restaurant, recommended to us by the hotel, called Joseph, and places that do snacks and ice cream. Its a busy area always full of life.

The hotel is located near the Vatican, so it's just a couple of metro stops away, but we walked there, it was easy! Very easy to get into the city center too, the location of the hotel is not an issue at all.

I'd recommend this hotel to everyone thinking of going to Rome. For a 4 star hotel the prices are reasonable and I think you get your money's worth. Hopefully I'll get to go back to Rome, and when I do I will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you very much. What to say more to those who definesAurelius a fantastic hotel? Again, thank you!
But let me assure you that such testimony on Tripadvisor are a further incentive for us to improve even more.
Waiting to welcome you again please accept our kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    209
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
127
415
20
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Visited on the 4th of may for a four night stay ! This is not five star but just a brilliant little hotel in a good location away from the hustle and bustle of the city , and close to a metro . The staff were excellent very friendly and helpfull , the rooms were very clean and tidy with aircon , the breakfasts were very nice but repetitive but who cares as long as its edible lol. I would recommend this hotel to everyone ! GREAT STAFF , GOOD ROOM , GOOD LOCATION, GOOD FOOD, oh and did I say GREAT STAFF lol

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,

each of us puts a lot of enthusiasm in their work and for this reason we are pleased when we read enthusiastic comments about your stay in our hotel.
We know we have to improve more and every day. For this reason, we welcome suggestions from our 'friends'.
We hope to meet you again at the Hotel Aurelius and in the meantime we tell you thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Nice hotel very close to the Cornelia metro stop on the A line and also 1/2 block to the bus stop. Rooms are small but are updated with nice bathrooms. There is a patio area in the back that can be used for drinks or take out food. There is also a small gym with a hot tub, sauna, and small steam room in the back. The breakfasts were good. The hotel was outside of the center of Rome which is an advantage because there are many local restaurants and take out food places in the neighborhood which represent better value and quality than the food downtown. The staff were great and I would have rated this 5 stars if the rooms were a little larger.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back that was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrocklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,

we are always happy to read the comments of those who have stayed with us. And we read them carefully to understand how we can continue to improve.
We hope to be able to welcome you again to the Hotel Aurelius, if we are informed in advance, it will be a pleasure to be able to provide a more comfortable room.
In the meantime, thank you for the kind words left on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is a first class hotel located west of the Vatican City. You might think that the location is not all that convenient, but with a subway station just around the corner, all of Rome is easily accessible. The rooms are superb, the breakfast far above average abd the staff are uniformly well trained (special kudos to Renata and Ihap!) and helpful. The neighbourhood is very interesting with restaurants and stores offering a better deal than in central Rome. Traffic on the Via Aurelia is always busy, but the hotel has double windows which eliminates any street noise. Rooms in the back annex are even quieter and have small patio areas. This hotel should be on your shortlist when staying in Rome.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are the ones in the rear buildings, superior rooms usually have a terrace, patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aranawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,
you're absolutely right: to visit our city you don't need to stay in the historic center. With a few subway stops away, in fact, it's possible to reach every tourist spot in Rome.
Thank you so much for sharing then, with all the members of Trip Advisor, your experience in our Hotel Aurelius.
Know that with our commitment we can guarantee a happy stay is for us a source of permanent joy.
Wartm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed for 4nights and due to a strike of the airline we took 2 more nights. The staff is kind and helpful and breakfast was very nice. It's a small hotel with metro station near by. There are 2 good restaurants one block away. We took the room with the tub which is the largest one and it was great. Free wi-fi and nice spa.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meiravcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks because you liked and positively assessed the commitment that is made daily at your service. And thank you again because you wanted to share the pleasure of your stay at Hotel Aurelius with all the Tripadvisor's Members.
The problems caused by the strike that you had were also ours and for this reason we are pleased you have now a pleasant memory of your stay in Rome.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is a gem of a hotel. It is outside the city centre but on the very efficient metro system, just round the corner. The staff, especially Renata were very friendly and concerned for our comfort and wellbeing. They made all their guests feel special.

The nearby restaurant Joseph has superb food at such reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Guest,
for us to do real welcome means to always find a way to let feel good 'Our Friends' coming from all over the world.
For this reason, we always put the greatest enthusiasm in our work aat the Hotel Aurelius. And for this reason we always read with pleasure your testimony posted on Trip Advisor.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We recently spent a week at Hotel Aurelius after looking at reviews on TA and we weren’t disappointed.

We flew to Fiumicino airport and caught the express train into Termini, a journey of about ½ an hour. Following directions posted on TA by another reviewer we took the Metro A line in the direction of Battistini and got off at Cornelia station (next to the last stop). Using the escalators on the left we then followed the exit signs to Piazza Irnerio. Unfortunately we went a little bit wrong there. Still following directions, on coming out of the Metro station we looked for McDonalds and saw a sign on the roadside at the back of us so we followed that direction. We walked for about ½ mile before seeing another McDonalds sign pointing the way we had just come! We found someone to ask and they pointed us in the right direction. (What we should have done was to come up the stairs from the Metro and go straight ahead with the Metro to the back of us). We eventually found our way back to the right McDonalds which stands on a corner. If you follow that road round to the right you will see Hotel Aurelius on the right hand side about 200 yards from the corner.

When we walked into reception we were greeted like long-lost friends by Renata who took us to our room and made sure that we were happily settled. Before we set out on our first full day Renata gave us the hotel telephone number and told us that if we had any problems at all we should phone them in the first instance as they were there to help. Like all the members of staff we met during our week’s stay, Renata on reception and Ihab who dealt with the breakfasts, could not do enough for us and we felt really welcome.

Our room was on the ground floor and had been designed with disabled visitors in mind. It had two bathrooms, one of which was a wet room with a disabled shower and toilet. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and although the room was a little dark, there was a small patio area outside with a low table and chairs so you could sit out in the evenings with a bottle of wine. The room was cleaned every day and the bedding changed mid-week.

The breakfasts were lovely with a good selection of cold meats and cheese, scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon and sausage as well as fruit juice, coffee, hot chocolate, cereals, rolls, pastries, cakes and toast together with butter, jams and marmalade.

There are two excellent restaurants about a 5 minute walk away – Restaurant Joseph and Gustosando.

We decided to take a taxi back to the airport but would warn other guests to leave plenty of time to get to Fiumicino as the half hour that the journey should have taken us stretched to 1 hour 15 minutes as we left the hotel at 9.00 a.m. and so got snarled up in horrendous traffic jams on the way.

We were really sorry to leave Hotel Aurelius and will have no hesitation in staying there on our next visit to Rome. Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday in Rome extra special.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargB063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear friend,
so in fact we like to imagine anyone decides to stay at Hotel Aurelius, it's always a great satisfaction to read testimonials left by you to share with other users of Tripadvisor.
And that's why we are committed on a daily basis: to make you feel sorry to have to leave.
However, we are always ready to welcome again at our hotel.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#32 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#69 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#76 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Pirandello
#107 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#19 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel

Property: Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Address: 458 Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
#81 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Rome Hotel is a delightful "Boutiique Hotel", intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay.Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 70 meter walk from the subway station "Cornelia" and several bus stops. This gives our customers the possability to get to the hearrt of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing