We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #51 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are great! Very friendly, knowledgeable, and quick. The hotel itself is clean the breakfast is great. The location is outside of the city center and in a bit of a dirty neighborhood, but very close to the metro and had no problems getting into the city. Great value and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pommesfrites2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Aurelius, with all the members of Tripadvisor.
It will be a pleasure to host you again during your next trip to Rome. As anyone who has been our guest becomes a friend of ours.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    215
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
129
434
20
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

It doesn't matter that Hotel Aurelius is far from the main sites of Rome, do yourself a favor and get the Omni pass, which includes unlimited metro rides (station located right near Hotel Aurelius), and you are at the main sites in no time by hopping on the subway! Actually the Hotel is only a few metro stops from Spanish Steps and Vatican. The Omni pass also gets you free entry/skip the line to Vatican Museums and Ancient Rome walking tour. This hotel is perfect for a 1st trip, as you won't be lounging around the hotel for hours on end. Great bed, enough space, remodeled bathroom/shower. Breakfast was fantastic, and even accommodated a few typical American breakfast items! All hotel staff were courteous and helpful in finding our way around Rome.

Room Tip: Any room choice would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surferdude84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Guest,

You make the right considerations regarding the location of our hotel.
Many people choose us, in fact, for the ease of getting around by subway.
This, however, leads us also to give something more ... we know that the downtown hotels deal with the unforgettable location. We wish, however, that your stay becomes an unforgettable experience trying to make you breathe the same atmosphere of a family.
We hope to welcome you again and in the meantime we thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed here between 16th-26th April and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our visit to Rome. The hotel is impeccably clean, our room although small (but we did pay for a small double) was perfectly adequate for our needs. It included a safe, mini fridge and complimentary toiletries. The bathroom was again always clean and had a fantastic shower! The breakfast was delicious and a good array of food was offered from eggs, bacon and sausage to cereals and pastries. What really sets this hotel apart though are its members of staff, especially those working on the front desk who are incredibly friendly and welcoming and gave us lots of helpful advice. The standard of customer service at this hotel is exemplary and they should be commended for this!!
The hotel is situated away from the historic city (about 5km I think) but is incredibly close to the Metro Line A (Cornelia Stop) and from here all the sights are within a short distance. We used the metro every day and it was clean, secure and reliable.
The area around the hotel is non-touristy but there are some fantastic shops and amazing restaurants (We recommend Josephs where we ate the best steak we ever had). The restaurants are amazing value for money especially compared to the city center,
We made use of the hotels private car facility to collect us from the airport which at 50 euros cost not much more than the train or a taxi and the driver took us straight to the hotel saving a lot of hassle!
We cannot recommend this hotel enough, and will be staying here again on our return visit to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheltoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Guest,

what satisfies us is to know that each of our clients back home so satisfied with his stay at the Hotel Aurelius to want to share their experience with all the members of Tripadvisor.
We know we have to do our best every day: and with your beautiful words give us the strength to continue to do so.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here 5 nights from the 3rd-7th May. We picked it based on it's good Tripadvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. It's a very nice, well-furnished hotel. The staff were very welcoming and friendly (especially the man with the mustache, sorry I have forgotten his name, he was great!). Our room was nicely furnished and very clean. There's a safe which is handy for passports etc, and a minibar. Bed was very comfortable. The en suite bathroom was nice and comes with a hairdryer and all the little things you need like shower gel etc.
The breakfasts were very nice. There was a selection of cereals, croissants and cakes, biscuits, slices of different types of hams and meats, cheese, and things like sausage, bacon, and eggs. There was always different types of juices to drink, and they were all lovely.

Getting here from FCO airport was easy. Got the train from the airport to Termini (the main station) then Metro Line A to Cornelia. When you reach the exit barriers, take the left hand exit to the stairs. There's a few exits so finding the right one is trail and error! If you get out of the right exit there's a McDonalds a minute down the street, turn right and its another minute walk along the road. Its near a few minimarts. It's also within walking distance to a good restaurant, recommended to us by the hotel, called Joseph, and places that do snacks and ice cream. Its a busy area always full of life.

The hotel is located near the Vatican, so it's just a couple of metro stops away, but we walked there, it was easy! Very easy to get into the city center too, the location of the hotel is not an issue at all.

I'd recommend this hotel to everyone thinking of going to Rome. For a 4 star hotel the prices are reasonable and I think you get your money's worth. Hopefully I'll get to go back to Rome, and when I do I will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you very much. What to say more to those who definesAurelius a fantastic hotel? Again, thank you!
But let me assure you that such testimony on Tripadvisor are a further incentive for us to improve even more.
Waiting to welcome you again please accept our kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Visited on the 4th of may for a four night stay ! This is not five star but just a brilliant little hotel in a good location away from the hustle and bustle of the city , and close to a metro . The staff were excellent very friendly and helpfull , the rooms were very clean and tidy with aircon , the breakfasts were very nice but repetitive but who cares as long as its edible lol. I would recommend this hotel to everyone ! GREAT STAFF , GOOD ROOM , GOOD LOCATION, GOOD FOOD, oh and did I say GREAT STAFF lol

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,

each of us puts a lot of enthusiasm in their work and for this reason we are pleased when we read enthusiastic comments about your stay in our hotel.
We know we have to improve more and every day. For this reason, we welcome suggestions from our 'friends'.
We hope to meet you again at the Hotel Aurelius and in the meantime we tell you thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Nice hotel very close to the Cornelia metro stop on the A line and also 1/2 block to the bus stop. Rooms are small but are updated with nice bathrooms. There is a patio area in the back that can be used for drinks or take out food. There is also a small gym with a hot tub, sauna, and small steam room in the back. The breakfasts were good. The hotel was outside of the center of Rome which is an advantage because there are many local restaurants and take out food places in the neighborhood which represent better value and quality than the food downtown. The staff were great and I would have rated this 5 stars if the rooms were a little larger.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back that was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrocklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,

we are always happy to read the comments of those who have stayed with us. And we read them carefully to understand how we can continue to improve.
We hope to be able to welcome you again to the Hotel Aurelius, if we are informed in advance, it will be a pleasure to be able to provide a more comfortable room.
In the meantime, thank you for the kind words left on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is a first class hotel located west of the Vatican City. You might think that the location is not all that convenient, but with a subway station just around the corner, all of Rome is easily accessible. The rooms are superb, the breakfast far above average abd the staff are uniformly well trained (special kudos to Renata and Ihap!) and helpful. The neighbourhood is very interesting with restaurants and stores offering a better deal than in central Rome. Traffic on the Via Aurelia is always busy, but the hotel has double windows which eliminates any street noise. Rooms in the back annex are even quieter and have small patio areas. This hotel should be on your shortlist when staying in Rome.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are the ones in the rear buildings, superior rooms usually have a terrace, patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aranawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,
you're absolutely right: to visit our city you don't need to stay in the historic center. With a few subway stops away, in fact, it's possible to reach every tourist spot in Rome.
Thank you so much for sharing then, with all the members of Trip Advisor, your experience in our Hotel Aurelius.
Know that with our commitment we can guarantee a happy stay is for us a source of permanent joy.
Wartm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#31 of 1,256 in Rome
1,860 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#80 of 1,256 in Rome
660 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#131 of 1,256 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#116 of 1,256 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel

Property: Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Address: 458 Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#32 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
#81 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Rome Hotel is a delightful "Boutiique Hotel", intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay.Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 70 meter walk from the subway station "Cornelia" and several bus stops. This gives our customers the possability to get to the hearrt of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing