We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #50 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Very affordable hotel just 5 minutes from the metro. A hotel of this quality closer to Rome would be very expensive. My husband and I loved the ambience of the hotel and the staff were the friendliest and most helpful of any hotel anywhere in the world. They recommended some great local restaurants for dinner all of which were 5 minutes walk away. We had a great room with a rooftop terrace which was an added bonus. Friends had recommended this hotel and I' m glad they did. We would stay here again if we were in Rome.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,

please thank your friends for us while we thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor at our Hotel Aurelius.
We are people who believe in their work, and every day we try to do our best for our guests' stay becomes an unforgettable stay.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    215
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
129
434
20
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We are a couple in our mid 20's and chose this hotel based on the previous reviews. Most of them were very accurate, but here is our take:
-Actual hotel, staff, and amenities were great for the price. It is nothing like a 4-star hotel from the U.S., but it met all of our expectations and more. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help us with directions, reservations, and recommendations. Wi-fi was free and good connection, breakfast was free and had a standard selection of eggs, variety of sausages, hams, and cheeses along with fruit and drinks (no exotic fruits offered but I don't really expect that from any hotel). The juices were unique (flavors and colors), I did not try them (not a fan of juice) but my boyfriend enjoyed them, and the coffee machine provided for a nice selection, along with different tea offerings. The room we had was small, facing the main street, but was just fine for the little time we spent there as sight-seeing tourists. What I mostly appreciated was the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. The bathroom was a comfortable size for 2 people to get ready simultaneously and had a nice clean tub! Overall, great experience and will book again.
- Location was the only downside because it is pretty far away from the center points. It is the second-to-last stop on the metro Line A, but it is only around the corner from the metro stop so this made it very easy to commute to and from all of the "touristy" spots. For ex: it only took about 20 min to get to the Piazza di Trevi (including the walk). We did not have to invest in a taxi once during the metro operating hours. It is also accesible from Ciampino airport for very cheap! Unfortunately it is on a main street and you will hear sirens and traffic. However, if you plan on being out and about enjoying the city, this should not be a problem. The neighborhood around it did not seem to be the best, but we never felt unsafe. There is a McDonalds on the corner, pizzeria across the street (not the best), a couple of gelaterias, and a few markets from which to buy water and food to go.

I would, overall, highly recommend it to anyone who is does not expect the 5-star treatment and is traveling on a budget. It really was the best bang for our buck!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imore001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Knowing that you have chosen our Hotel Aurelius reading the reviews and that you were satisfied with our service is for us the greatest satisfaction.
We look forward to once again give you the welcome in the Eternal City.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We are a 32 year old couple on our first trip to Rome. We booked this hotel based on it's excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. We feel that these reviews are totally over-rated. Although not a bad hotel by any stretch of the imagination, it is no way above average and certainly not 4 star standard.
Good points were very friendly and helpful staff who spoke good English, clean rooms and free WiFi connection. Also very close to Metro (although see below comments on location!).
First major bad point was the noise. We paid for a superior room, which was right on the road and very noisy, particularly from 6am on. I must stress that the road is a major artery for Rome and as such, has constant heavy traffic, including very frequent police and ambulances sirens wailing.
Second major bad point is the location - it is very far out from the city centre (so much so that it does not appear on most city maps!). Although the Metro serves the hotel well, it would be a min 1 hour round trip from the old city. The location is safe but also not attractive and even dirty.
The last bad point is that the breakfast standard was poor. In a city where good fresh food is cheap and easy to obtain, it did not seem like there was much of an effort made, from the almost undrinkable fake orange and apple juice to the poor fruit selection (even though there is an excellent fruit shop next door).
Overall, we were disappointed with this hotel. If you are used to a cheap 3 star hotel you will get your money's worth but this is by no means a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure your room does not overlook the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EDDIEandMAEVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks anyway for choosing the Hotel Aurelius and for sharing your personal feelings.
We will, as always, good use of observations as we know that every day we have to work to improve.
However, we regret not being able to show our natural predisposition to problem solving. Because we believe that, for example, if we had known in advance of the annoyance caused by traffic, we would do everything to provide an inner chamber.

However, we are confident that, being able to give you welcome again, we could to make you appreciate our hospitality so appreciated by the majority.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

the staff were very friendly. I had my 50th birthday and they gave me wine, chocolates and a card. Very thoughtful. they were very helpful with directions and places to eat and do. very clean, we stayed in a room outside so quiet and a lovely large room. not far from the city if you take the metro and opposite a great big supermarket. there was a light just outside one of the windows for the passage way and it lit the whole room up at night so had to put a towel up to make it dark. Bathroom was very large, decorated like a roman bath. they also provide gluten free breakfast so worth asking for it. rome is easy to get to by taking the metro, we had a ticket for 3 days and used it a lot.

Room Tip: all the rooms are clean but you pay for the size, small is quite small but the big rooms very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and even more for wanting to spend the holiday of your 50th anniversary at our Hotel Aurelius. What made ​​us feel that this really is your home in Rome.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were in Rome June 2013, it was the last city on our trip. We spent our final 3 nights here and were very pleasantly surprised!

Location - seriously it is a 5 minute walk around the corner from the subway... The stop is Cornelia. if you really want there's even a McDonalds on that corner if that's important to you.. :)
Super close to Vatican, we were told it was walking distance but didn't walk it bc we had the 3 day metro pass and it was only about 2 stops away. If you want to take the bus the bus stop is right outside as well.

Hotel and staff - the hotel is unassuming from outside but when you step in the lobby is really nice and well decorated. Staff are very helpful and courteous.
Super clean. We had a complimentary FULL breakfast every morning NOT continental. Really good. Free wifi too, which had good signal quality too.

Room - our room was probably the best part of the entire stay! it was roomy, clean, beds were comfortable. The a/c was adjustable and got quite nice and cold, which you really need after being out all day in the hot sun. And the totally best part was this awesome long terrace facing the street with a cabana and some chairs to hang out in the sun.

Perfect. Loved it! Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ours was on the 3 rd floor and faced the street but even though it was street facing it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGtravels30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

we read from your testimony on Tripadvisor that for you Hotel Aurelius is a precious gem of your stay in Rome! And all that fills us with satisfaction.

Every day our main objective is to be able to create the right atmosphere in the hotel to make all our guests feel like at home. Success in this is our greatest joy.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We spent 3 days in Aurelius on our honeymoon in Rome. It was a brilliant experience. Staff were helpful and spoke excellent English. It was clean and very good value for money. Breakfast was lovely and really set you up for the day. The wifi was very reliable.

The location is a little bit out of the way however it is right beside a metro station and you can get to the centre of Rome in 15 minutes. It has lots of lovely little restaurants nearby so we would spend a day touristing then come back to change and eat. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Norden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Guest,

we understand that it is a great responsibility host a young couple, as you, on their honeymoon.

Consequently, read your positive comments about our Hotel Aurelius, shared with the members of Tripadvisor, gratifies us and calms us as we have the proof that working with the mind and the heart allows us to provide our guests with a memorable stay.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Wyoming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We just want to say that this hotel was one of the most charming, friendly and accommodating ones that we ever have stayed in. We felt "loved" from the moment we entered through its beautiful doors! The staff was so friendly and helpful. Renata told us that they would like us to "feel just as we feel at home!" She was so kind. The room was clean and renovated so nicely, and our balcony was such a wonderful place to just relax in early morning or in the evening after a long day of sight-seeing. The breakfast "spread" was amazing, with eggs, breads, meats, cheeses, sweets, and yummy cappuccino! We were set for the day after feasting there first! We can't say enough good about this great place! The location is great too with Metro access was just about a half block from the hotel with little markets and snack bars along the way. Although this hotel is not in the heart of the old city, it is very easy to get there and only takes about 15-20 min. on the Metro. We liked being a little " off the beaten path" where this hotel is located. This will be the only place I will stay if ever returning to Rome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoeleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Guest,

the beautiful words for the Hotel Aurelius, and shared on Tripadvisor, as well as make us very happy are also words that make us understand more and more the daily responsibilities that we have towards our guests.

Really thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
1,861 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#80 of 1,257 in Rome
661 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#139 of 1,257 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#119 of 1,257 in Rome
1,230 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel

Property: Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Address: 458 Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
#81 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Rome Hotel is a delightful "Boutiique Hotel", intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay.Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 70 meter walk from the subway station "Cornelia" and several bus stops. This gives our customers the possability to get to the hearrt of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing