We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Service I've Received from ANY Hotel....EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greatest Service I've Received from ANY Hotel....EVER”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The staff at Aurelius is just too awesome. First, Renata was extremely helpful in arranging all the necessary transfers for me and my friend before we arrived in Rome for a cruise. We made plans to stay in Rome for a day to enjoy the sites before getting on the ship. Renata was always extremely prompt and courteous in returning my email messages. I was excited about finally meeting her and saying, "Thanks," for all that she did.

Unfortunately, I was unable make it to Rome as planned. I missed my flight, and didn't make it to Rome until the day I had to embark on the cruise ship. I was unable to reach my friend to inform her of this in order to keep her from wandering around the airport looking for me. I contacted the hotel to get some assistance, and Renata immediately went into action. She and her staff took great care of my friend by picking her up from the airport in a timely fashion, providing her with helpful information about the area surrounding the hotel, and getting her to the ship. The hotel staff also made sure me and my other friends made it to the airport in ample time to catch our flights once our cruise was over.

I have never met a hotel staff that was this friendly and helpful. My friend stated the hotel was extremely nice, clean, and in a convenient location. Because of her rave reviews and the wonderful assistance I received, I know exactly where I will be staying when I return to Rome: The Aurelius Hotel. Keep up the good work. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATravelWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

your words on Tripadisor make us proud but at the same time, make us feel a great responsibility of having to always continue to give our best for every other Guest.
So that everyone can say they have never received such a special service like that obtained at the Hotel Aurelius.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    211
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
127
425
20
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Wonderful, helpful, friendly staff. Cozy and elegant rooms. My wife and I bought a 4 day metro ticket and walked 2 blocks ways to the station and were able to enjoy everything that Rome as to offer with basic understanding of their subway system.

Breakfast was lovely with an assortment of meats, cheeses, cereal, fruit and pastries.


Overall a great experience. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreeSpirit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for being able to testify in a few words, on Tripadvisor, satisfaction and convenience of a stay at our Hotel Aurelius.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Found this hotel whilst researching on trip advisor for good rating and reasonable pricing.
Its location is 3 stops from the Vatican and I think due to its position just outside the main city the price for 3 nights for 2 reflected this at 280Euro. We stayed at the end of June 2013.
Make sure you have the hotel marked on a map for when you first arrive by metro at the Cornelia station. When you first come up to street level it takes a while to orientate yourself and know how to get to the hotel, I had to ask.
The reception staff were extremely friendly. The hotel is clean and free wifi is available all be it slow. The breakfast was great, from cook foods to yoghurts and pastries.
The basic double at the back of the hotel was clean but small. The photos on the website are a little deceptive regarding the space you have in the room. Although I guess you get what you pay for.
As the room was flanked by residential property both above and behind, there was some work being done which started at about 7am in the morning which was quite disturbing.
Overall quite a pleasant stay, next time would pay a little extra for a larger room and closer to the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room first if it is a basic double, the decide if you would like to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passinsd517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

we read your testimony on Trip Advisor and for that we thank you.

Sorry for the hassle and the construction noise near our hotel. Surely we will make it up to your next visit in our Hotel Aurelius.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel july 23-26. The staff, particularly Renata, were fantastic. They webt out of their way to be helpfuland to provide information. The room was good as well. The breakfast was good, typical of a small hotel. However, the location was not the best. It took 30 minutes (and sometimes longer) to get into city center from the Cornelia station (which is very close by). The neighborhood was noisy too.

However- if you dont mind staying outside the center a bit - i hoghly recommend this hotel. Clean, confortable, and again the staff were great!

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor after staying in our Hotel Aurelius.

Our belief is to manage the property as if it were a big house where we host friends who live far away. For this reason, for example, we like to provide all the information needed to live and to visit our Eternal City.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days in July 2013 on a blitz trip to Rome. The location is very good. It is a few steps away from the Cornelius metro station, 3 stops away from the Vatican, 6 stops to the Spanish steps & Trevi fountain, 9 to Termini station & 11 to the Colosseum. Be sure to keep going left when u get off the metro or you'll find yourself on a completely different street away from where you want to go!! We found the staff at the reception extremely friendly and helpful & let us check in at 12pm without having to wait until the regular check in time of 2pm. We spoke to Ms.Renate at the reception who was always very cheerful & gave valuable us tips on local restaurants & cafes around town. All the staff at the hotel were great & made our stay very pleasant.

The room was small but very clean and with a normal sized bathroom with a shower cabin. It had airconditioning which was a blessing as it was burning hot outside. The bed was comfortable but there was no international channels available on tv. We hardly spent anytime at the hotel except for sleeping in the night & breakfast (which was included) so it didn't bother us much. There are nice restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance & every few meters you'll find a supermarket. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any of my friends & would stay there if I visit Rome again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Lo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

we are very pleased to read your positive comments on Tripadvisor for our Hotel Aurelius. Evidenced by the fact that you'll recommend it to your friends.

Thank you and we hope to see you again in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

You can see from the pictures that the place looks pretty nice. The No No's we found were:

1. They used a very specific type of electrical plug. None of our converters or adapters could work, even the European ones. We ended up having to unplug the TV to "borrow" its adapter to charge our laptop / phone / Kindle / hair straightener, etc - had to take turns because that was the only option. That was quite pathetic.

2. We were told about the mini bar, blah blah, the usual. Only to open the frige and find an opened, half-empty bottle of water. Wow.

Another small complaint - On my birthday, my husband asked the concierge to suggest some place nice for dinner. The concierge acted like we were going to hold her responsible for it if we'd end up not liking her choice(s). She was timid and unhelpful :(

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmopsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave the comments on Tripadvisor about your stay in our Hotel Aurelius.
With these observations, in fact, we can continue to improve the standard of our service. We know that we are not yet at the top and it's for this reason that we put all our heart and our enthusiasm for this job.
If you come back to our hotel You will get more positive aspects.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Found Aurelius through ebookers at a great price considering we went mid July. The Cornelia metro stop is literally round the corner from the hotel which makes getting around the city so easy at a cheap price (tickets from 1 euro 50, three day ticket for only 16 euro which is great considering everyday you will need to get the metro into and out of the city centre to and from the hotel anyway so you may as well use the ticket to get around throughout your stay)
Hotel is very clean, air conditioned (which is a god send after a day in Rome!) and exactly what you will need throughout your stay, one thing that impressed us was the free wifi and use of computer and printer whereby other hotels have been known to charge for printouts etc. We booked a small double which was perfectly satisfactory for a four day stay. Be warned however there were no English speaking TV Channels in our room, didn't bother us as we had an ipad with videos but may bother some.

I believe the price we paid was reflective of the hotel (approx £60 per night) especially considering we had breakfast included in this rate. The breakfast was ok, don't expect a vast choice as it is a basic continental breakfast BUT there were plenty of biscuits and cakes that can be taken out for the day incase you get peckish!
Plenty of friendly mini market shops by the hotel that sell everything you would need at a quarter of the price you'd pay city centre. Stock up on water here rather that outside the main sights!
Three great restaurants/bars within very short walking distance. Josephs, Gustosando and another bar across the road and to the right which sells bar food but is a great modern venue for a drink with v helpful barstaff.
Most of all the staff here were outstanding, anyone we encountered was so polite, friendly and a real credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fire_and_icicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest,

with your testimony on Tripadvisor confirms what we always say: a hotel, such as our Hotel Aurelius, even if it is not in the city center offers the opportunity to have a perfect stay: because the subway connects every corner of the city in a short time and why the care and passion with which we work makes everyone feel at home.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#30 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#65 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#77 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Pirandello
#81 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#19 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel

Property: Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Address: 458 Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
#81 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Rome Hotel is a delightful "Boutiique Hotel", intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay.Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 70 meter walk from the subway station "Cornelia" and several bus stops. This gives our customers the possability to get to the hearrt of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing