We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #66 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a very comfortable 5 days at this hotel.The staffs are very helpful and serving very well.Thanks to Renata,Alejandro and Gianfranco. The area is not centre but easy to access to everywhere by bus and metro.Breakfast was very good and many things to eat.you can feel that you are like at home.We stayed at triple rooms which was bigger than our fried room.only this 4 stars hotel need to cgange cover sheet not only bed sheet. But we csn not complain about cleanless that was perfect.Upon their suggestions we had very good dinner nearby the hotel instead of going to the centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanuAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Banu,

I thank you for wanting to share your thoughts on Tripadvisor about our Hotel Aurelius.
Even with your testimony we can improve our service increasingly putting more and more attention to detail in order to become even more competitive with the hotels in the center of Rome (seeing from the perspective of tariff, in fact, we are already much more convenient).
Thanks again and hope to see you again in Rome.

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Aurelius is a really amazing hotel. It has these many positive reviews for a reason.

Pros. The staff at the hotel are really nice, cheerful and friendly which is a plus. There was a very warm reception upon arrival - the lady on the desk provided a map, gave recommendations about restaurants within the vicinity.
A little touch which makes the hotel very memorable is the note you get on your door each morning with some words and the weather conditions for the day.
They have a tiny fitness area and a wellness area with an infrared sauna and a jacuzzi.

I loved the place.

Con. The only thing that can be perceived as negative about this hotel is the location (which is subjective). It's not in central Rome but it is very accessible (being only a few minutes walk from the Metro). As I was at the hotel to just sleep - it gave Rome a distinct contrast; the quiet and serene surrounding of the hotel in Cornelia and the busy Central Rome, touristy places and even Trastevere. Negative? Not so much for me.

I would definitely return to this hotel with future visits to the eternal city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayodeji O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you, thank you, thank you for your words and for the satisfaction expressed on Tripadvisor for the stay in our Hotel Aurelius.
And again thanks for the 'pro' but more for the 'con' because, as you have explained, it is not really negative that the hotel is far from downtown.
And in addition to your reasons I would like to add another: if the hotel was in the center, in fact, we couldn't offer such affordable rates.
Hoping to see you again in the near future we send you greetings from Rome.
Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I travelled to Rome and Spain for my honeymoon and this place was our first hotel during our trip. We wanted a quiet place, away from the crowds of the city centre and this place was just perfect. It was just 300m from the Cornelia metro station. Travelling to and from the hotel was a breeze because of the location. The room was cosy and small but had everything we wanted. It also had a small balcony overlooking the streets. The washroom was very neat and tidy. The receptionist was very sweet, she gave us quite a lot of directions about things to do in Rome.The best part of our stay was the breakfast spread, it was mind blowing. It was a big spread, right from the breads to the cakes and pies. We stayed at the hotel for 3 days and enjoyed every bit of it. The place doesn't have a lot of fancy restaurants near it, so it is advisable that you have dinner in the city centre before grabbing a couple of bottles from the many mini markets around the hotel and heading to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megs245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing, on Tripadvisor, your experience in our Hotel Aurelius.
You are right when you say that it is very easy to reach, from the hotel, the center of Rome. And surely you also know that the Hotel Aurelius offers the same stadard of the downtown hotels but with cheaper rates.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again if you come back again in Rome.
Thank you very much.

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Aurelius was the best hotel experience I have ever had.

We stayed last week from 13-17 January and if I return to Rome I will definitely go back there again. Amazing staff, quiet area (if you exclude the main road outside) and yet a central location with a Metro station just two minutes walk. The Metro station's name is Cornelia, and it is just one stop from the end of the line, but that is not a problem because it takes just fifteen minutes to get to the central station, Termini. It takes less time to get to the Vatican, about half that time, because that is only a few stops from Cornelia. From the central station, Termini, it's just two stops from the Colosseum. Either way, it is within a short distance of all tourist attractions.

The hotel itself is beautifully presented with amazing decor on the ground floor. We were on the third floor with an amazing balcony overlooking the main street, however with the patio doors closed there was no noise and we slept soundly. The room was perfectly clean and presentable with a beautiful bathroom. The room wasn't large but we were running around Rome all day and space wasn't a requirement. What we needed was a quiet hotel and a good night's sleep and we got both. The room was cleaned each day by a lovely cleaner who was very nice and polite and very discreet when doing her work.

There are lovely restaurants nearby, all just a couple of minutes walk, including an all night pizza place if you get back late and you're hungry. There's a well-known fast food place on the corner of the street, about a minute's walk from the hotel, whose name I won't mention, if you like that kind of horrible "food". That seems to be open late at night too. There's a big, two-tiered supermarket just across the road for any forgotten items which came in handy. I think it closes about 9pm.

Great breakfast in the hotel too! There's enough to choose from and sometimes we arrived late, just half an hour before the close of the breakfast room, so some of the items had been finished. That wasn't a problem at all because with so much to choose from we were very full and never needed to eat again until mid-afternoon, which was perfect as we had so many sites to visit in the short time. The staff are just amazing, but Renata gets a special mention for the incredible information she gave us that proved to be invaluable. All in all we felt like we weren't in a hotel, but with a family of wonderful people. If all hotels were like this everyone would be on holiday and no one would go to work!

Just a note about Rome itself - don't miss Ostia Antica - you can get all the way there on your Metro ticket!

Ten out of ten across the board. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We read with great interest all the reviews, regarding our Hotel Aurelius, which are left on Tripadvisor. Because in those very positive, such as yours, there is the impetus to continue to give the best in our work. In those with some criticism, however, we find a way to identify and solve any problems.
We hope that you can come back again in our hotel and we thank you very much.

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had read a lot of the reviews for this hotel before booking it, and all seemed to be so positive that it was an easy choice to make.

Yes it is a little further out of town, but for us that is what we like. We prefer to be in and amongst the locals and sample what they will enjoy. It is so close to the metro line, and plenty of local restaurants and supermarkets nearby.

We were greeted by Renanta, who was wonderful. After having had to get a very early flight from London, she certainly perked us up for the day ahead. As I am a light sleeper I had emailed ahead, asking for a room away from the main road. Because of this, there was no room available for us when we arrived (way before check in, so no problem). Renata checked us all in, so that when we got back we could just go straight to our room.

Renata gave us a lot of advice on where we should go on what days, to avoid queues etc. They were also very good at giving recommendations for restaurants in the area.

The room itself was fine. It was defanitely not something to write home about, but it would suit our needs for somewhere to sleep. It could probably be described as needing some modernisation. The bathroom was lovely, with all the mosaic tiles. We were on the Mezzanine level, facing the courtyard, so it was lovely and quiet. I am glad that we were away from the main road, as the room was exceptionally hot, and the air conditioining did not appear to blow out cool air. It meant that in the middle of Decemeber, we were having to sleep with the window open. It didn't ruin the stay for us by any means...I guess the heating system was just set to hot for the whole hotel hence the hot air blowing out.

The breakfast is not bad. There is a lot of choice in terms of cererals, pastries, hot and cold meats. But get there after 9/9:30 and there will be no fresh pastries left. Also they do not continue to check the hot items, and only when requesting more will they then go and do some. It does mean at least you are getting freshly cooked bacon, but it can mean having to wait 10 minutes or more. The biggest let down at breakfast is the Juice. It is described as fresh, but it would most certainly appear to be concetrated. It is sickly sweet and not refreshing. On the other hands the coffees were great.

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and would have no hesitation recommedning it to others. The staff are what make this place great. Especially Renata, who goes out her way to help.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the main road.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to talk about Aurelius Hotel on Tripadvisor.
We always appreciate all the times that are released testimonials referring our hotel as well so we can correct that still does not satisfy our guests. And at the same time we know what are the good points of which leverage.
We hope to be able to welcome you again and, in the mean time, we thank you very warmly.

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My partner,my daughter and myself stayed at this hotel from the 21st till the 29th of December 2013. The hotel is lovely we had a large room with everything we needed. the breakfast every morning was nice good selection of hot and cold choices. The beds were comfortable and large bathroom with a lovely bath. The Staff were fantastic answered any questions we had and gave us good advice on where to eat and how to get around. The hotel is not central to the city of Rome Its self so keep that in mind if your wanting something more central. Its about 6 train stops from the city and best way to get around is by train. There is plenty of restaurants and supermarkets close by the hotel with a Macdonalds store just on the corner. The hotel is very reasonably priced and excellent value for money. It was our first time in Rome travelling from Australia and i found it very easy to get around. Would definatley recommend this hotel and i would stay here again if i ever returned.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodesPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for choosing Rome as a destination for your Christmas holiday and also for choosing our Hotel Aurelius for your stay...
And thanks for the words, full of satisfaction, shared with all the members of Tripadvisor regarding your experience.
Every day we try to give our best and reading your words we can do it easier.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My Partner and i & Daughter stayed here for 8 nights and can not fault it at all.Breakfast was good and staff where fantastic.Gave us info about Italy and any question we had they where more then willing to help.
Its not in the centre of Rome and thats a great thing cos after a busy day of sightseeing there is nothing better then getting way from the crowds.Its about 15 mins on the train and the trains are very quick.There is a Maccas up the road and there is a Bakery across from Maccas you have to try.Good Restaurants close by as well.
We organised with hotel for a driver to pick us up from Airport and only cost us 50 euro.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maltese_meatball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for the trust you have placed in our Hotel Aurelius booking an 8 nights stay.
Then we thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor the experience in our hotel.
Our daily commitment is repaid on your satisfaction. And today we are pleased and excited to want to continue in this direction.
Thanks a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#35 of 1,267 in Rome
1,890 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#133 of 1,267 in Rome
1,288 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#102 of 1,267 in Rome
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#38 of 1,267 in Rome
745 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel

Address: 458, Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#32 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
#81 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £56 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Rome Hotel is a delightful "Boutique Hotel", intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay. Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 70 meter walk from the subway station "Cornelia" and several bus stops. This gives our customers the possability to get to the heart of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing