We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not have been better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #49 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could not have been better!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel on our first trip to Rome and had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and welcoming - they gave us advice on how to get around the city and were always extremely helpful which really put us at ease. They spoke excellent English which helped as neither of us speak Italian! On the day we checked out we had an evening flight home and were exhausted from sight seeing - the staff very kindly allowed us to sit in the lobby for a few hours and even brought us cutlery to eat our supermarket lunch there! They also arranged a cheap taxi to the airport for us. This saved us a lot of trouble on the last day and I am extremely grateful to them. It was very kind.
The hotel itself was lovely, we had an enormous balcony which we enjoyed. Our room was very comfortable, as was the bathroom. We enjoyed the hotels jacuzzi and sauna room also. The hotel breakfast was a feast! Bacon, eggs, cereal, pastries, yoghurt's, a variety of fruit juices. It really was delicious. If I ever visit Rome again I would always stay at Aurelius!

Room Tip: We emailed the staff before visiting to ask for a good room and they were happy to give us one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillypher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

our commitment is to manage the property as if it were a big house where we host friends from all over the world.
For this reason, read on Tripadvisor so pleasant and flattering words addressed to our Hotel Aurelius fills us with joy and satisfaction.

We try to do our best every day and your review makes us feel more excited.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    210
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
127
422
20
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My girlfriend and I were extremely impressed with the quality of service we recieved at Hotel Aurelius. Our room was recently renovated and comfortable. Breakfast had a variety of options from Italian pastries to sausages and yogurt, and the coffee was decent. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful whenever we had questions or requests. For instance, they even gave us a bottle opener for our wine and two red wine glasses were in our room the next evening without us having to ask for them. Each morning we were provided with a weather report and an inspiring quote in our doorway. The staff also remembered our names. The hotel is only a short walk away from a subway station and transportation was not a problem during our stay. Hotel Aurelius provided us with a warm welcome to Rome, and I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R8D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

we are very happy when we read on Trip Advisor so enthusiastic words related to our Hotel Aurelius.

We are also pleased that the new room we offered has been to your liking. And we want to say that within a very short time all our rooms will be completely renovated after only a few years since the last renovation.

In fact, when we talk about convenience in booking our hotel we refer, for example, even in this: to be able to stay in the rooms of a high standard but at lower rates of 40-50% compared to hotels of the same category that are in the city center .

We hope to be able to give again welcome you in our beautiful city.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavite City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights May 27-30 and we can only say nice words for the experience. The front desk staff GF and Renata were very helpful with advise and direction to where we wanted to go...the cleaning and breakfast staff knew customer service very well and the hotel itself was comfortable and safe for every traveler to Rome. The buffet breakfast was great for the price of the hotel and the hotel's being very close to the Metro is another plus, we felt like we're booked in a city hotel... Thank you GF for giving us the room with a private terrace.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denadest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

first of all thank you for choosing our hotel during your last stay in Rome. And again thank you for wanting to share on Tripadvisor the satisfaction experienced by staying in our Hotel Aurelius.

For us it is normal, when possible, to offer our guests a room upgrade to the one booked. We always try to provide a reason why your journey becomes an unforgettable experience.

We hope to see you again in Rome.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in hotel Aurelius for an extended weekend. The staff was very friendly & helpful and the hotel had everything you expect from a boutique hotel. After leaving, we forgot some items, which the hotel mailed back to us, free of charge. While the hotel is not located in the old center of Rome, you can easily get around, using the Cornelia metro stop close by. Having stayed in multiple hotels in Rome, we would recommend this one for a hospitable stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas_Apen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

we know we have to commit day after day to ensure that everyone can have an unforgettable experience in our hotel
And if you decide to leave your thoughts on Tripadvisor about our Hotel Aurelius we have succeeded with you.

We try every day to manage the Aurelius as a large house that hosts many friends. And the friendliness, warmth and openness that we offer are the same that we would offer at our home.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I stay for 4 days and the overall experience was low as expected. Our air condition was broke, even in off start to leak and make noises all night long. Alejandra help us to solve the problem changing rooms, they seems to solve it, but not. The night shift front desk clerk is completely out of manners and courtesy. We complain about this and he was rude and careless. His answer was to pay taxes in cash... Thant was our last night there.
I sincerely ask to Gianfranco to look after this guy. He damage all your efforts to offer a nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanRocha5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Juan,
after we met at the check in, and smile sympathetically about having the same name, I thought we created a relationship of trust for which we could speak freely about any complain before you leave the hotel.
This is because every time a guest leaves the hotel without being satisfied, personally, I remain very disappointed.
Alejandra was right to propose the change of room but then I don't know why it has not been carried out.
I know from experience that the last moments of any experience, are the ones that most affect a judgment or a memory. For this reason, therefore, I accept willingly a judgment so negative.
What I'm used to say to all our Guests is that me and my staff put our maximum effort every day ... probably in your case we were not skilful enough to prove it.
I note, however, the notes left on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in our Hotel Aurelius and even bitterly I thank you and I hope to have a new chance to meet you in Rome
gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel for three days, while visiting Rome. This hotel offers very nice clean rooms, a good breakfast included in the price and very helpful staff. The location is outside of the tourist area and only about 400m from the metro stop, which makes it about 15 mins to Vatican and 45 mins to the coliseum. Some of the bad points would be the length of time to get to central Rome and that it's located at a very busy intersection. Otherwise I would recommend this hotel and return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor, your thoughts regarding your stay in our Hotel Aurelius.

It 's true that the hotel is not downtown and this might seem like a problem. But if we think, for example, the goodness of the restaurants in the area but even more so that our rates offered are much more affordable than the hotels in the center of Rome becomes easy to understand why book Hotel Aurelius, your home in Rome

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My girlfriend and I recently traveled throughout Europe and ended our trip in Rome for 4 nights. We decided to stay here based on other tripadvisor reviews and it definitely did not disappoint. The rooms are nice and clean but the staff are what make this property so great. Every person we encountered was beyond friendly, and went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. They were so helpful in terms of places to see, where to eat, etc. The location also isn't bad...about a 10 minute metro ride to the Vatican and 15 minute ride to almost everything else (Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, etc.). Overall we loved staying here and will definitely stay again if we can make it back to Rome!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdarrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

when we read that we receive bookings thanks to the reviews on Trip Advisor I and my staff are very happy and satisfied. In fact means that Hotel Aurelius we do our job well.

Thank you so both you for choosing our hotel and both have commented positively your stay in Rome.

Thank you very much.

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#30 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#65 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#77 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Pirandello
#93 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#19 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel

Property: Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Address: 458 Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
#81 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Rome Hotel is a delightful "Boutiique Hotel", intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay.Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 70 meter walk from the subway station "Cornelia" and several bus stops. This gives our customers the possability to get to the hearrt of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing