We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended when your primary is the Vatican” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alessandrino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alessandrino
Ranked #442 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended when your primary is the Vatican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Overall good hotel With good service and Close to the Vatican. Its about 10minutes walk from the hotel to the Vatican. It's also Close to Train station St. Pietro. Be aware that the station itself where to buy ticket is a 3-400 walk on platform 1 (the yellow building). There a drinking water just outside on the right on the main street out from the hotel. Its a about 30minutes from Leonardo da vinci (Fuimicino) airport. Easiest to take a taxi for Euro 48-50 since it can be hard to find ...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallville-NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    118
    57
    23
    9
See reviews for
80
117
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is super cute! The free breakfast is super yummy. The place is very clean and they have an awesome roof top terrace with a view of St. Peter's Basilica. The staff is so amazing. Any question we had they went out of their way to help. They helped us figure out how to get all over town. There is someone at the front desk 24 hours a day. Can't say it enough about how wonderful the customer service is at this place. THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have bath/showers and some only have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This Hotel knows the meaning of customer service. They helped us with any problem we had and exceeded our expectations. The Hotel itself was a little hard to find but once we did I was greeted by cheerful knowledgeable staff. They went out of their way to make sure we were satisfied, on our last day we had to leave early so they opened up the breakfast buffet just for us. If I ever go back to Rome I'm definitely staying at the Allesandrino.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnylikesthickgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The 4 of us stayed here for a total of 4 nights. We made 2 different reservations: one for 2 nights under my name and one for 2 nights under our friends name. We ended up having to change rooms 3 times in 4 nights!!! Not happy about that.

Breakfast was good (croissants, coffee, yogurt, eggs and "bacon".

The hotel is on a hill...my legs are still sore. The hotel is also pretty far from the center of Rome. We bought an unlimited bus ticket for 3 days and took the bus around. The hotel is near Vatican City but still about a 20 minute walk. The hotel told us they had a shuttle to the airport for 48€ we got charged 50€.

You have to leave your key with the hotel when you leave. Not sure how I feel about that.

Overall an alright stay. Room is fine. Has a safe and a mini fridge.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We found the Hotel Alessandrino perfect adequate.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and all the staff at the hotel were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.
There is a lovely roof terrace (from which you can see St. Peter's Basilica) where you can take drinks and enjoy the evening which was lovely.
No major complaints However...
The hotel is a considerable distance from the center of town and isn't near the metro. (The bus stop is near(ish) and the Vatican is within walking distance).
The hotel is up a very steep hill which we found was not something we were thrilled about after a day sightseeing in the heat.
The bathroom was tiny, you needed to open the shower window right back if you wanted to sit comfortably on the toilet...
In all it was a pretty good value no thrills stay.If I was going back to Rome, however, I'd look for somewhere a little more central.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights at the end of June and my expectations weren't very high. We arrived by taxi from the airport (but if we weren't so lazy we could've gotten a train to the station 5 minutes away and saved $45 Euros). The entrance is beautiful and exactly as advertised in the pictures. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was 303. The room had a large double with a small en suite wet room. The shower was fantastic but if you don't shower before 9am you won't get a hot shower. No complaints there though as breakfast starts at 7.30am so we were up and ready. I have never been in such a meticulously clean hotel, and the cleaning staff were always smiling and very friendly!

Breakfast was a small spread but lovely, and as a vegetarian I was catered for well enough. There is a seating area out side and if you proceed up the iron steps you can sit on a beautiful terrace for breakfast with friendly local cats. There is also a rooftop terrace on the 5th floor with views over St Peters Basilica, very romantic and peaceful.

I have to say the view from our bedroom was lovely, and looked out onto the local church and we handily woken every morning by short ring of bells at 7am followed by a choir singing - it was idyllic.

The hotel does keep your keys while you're out, which at first we were unsure of, however we had no incidents and our belongings were left exactly as they were as the staff came round to clean. The receptionists were incredibly helpful booking restaurants for us and helping when needed. They also provide you with a map which will be well used! - We had to get three by the time we were done!

This hotel is absolutely perfect for its reasonable price. No complaints. Free Wi-Fi was excellent and well used. The previous comments which make not of a large hill to walk up may have been exaggerated as it wasn't very steep and easy at a slow pace. However it may be difficult for those who struggle. With the Vatican City on your doorstep, you'll walk through here every morning and there is a Metro stop nearby the Vatican (about half an hour tops from the hotel).

Would definitely come here again, ideal.

Room Tip: I would recommend a higher room than ground floor, but if you don't spend much time inside then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinJoy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely little hotel, 10 minutes walk from St Peters Basilica. Rooms clean, breakfast was a decent selection which did the job! Friendly staff. Lovely terraces to enjoy a glass of wine before venturing out for dinner or on your return in the evening. Hotel happy to give recommendations, book taxis etc. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Fragrance Hotel St.Peter
#102 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Hotel Casa Tra Noi
#622 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#187 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Emmaus
#520 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Raganelli Hotel
#444 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Hotel Gravina San Pietro
#495 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandrino

Property: Hotel Alessandrino
Address: Via Clemente Alessandrino 9, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandrino 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alessandrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandrino Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing