We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's near the station and ok for a base”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Capitol Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Capitol Roma
Ranked #649 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's near the station and ok for a base”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Room was neat and tidy, but noisy at night from the Hotel Washington next door, so windows shut if it stops you sleeping. Basic sweet breakfast service. Suitable place for mates to stay and very handy for all public transport services.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    44
    60
    23
    26
See reviews for
26
65
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights.. The staff is very friendly and helpful however the rooms are very small.. In summers it gets really hot and the air conditioners are not affective at all.. The hotel staff offered us another room but only on the last night.. we decided not to waste time in shifting.the breakfast is a big disappointment the bread is sooo hard..however the only plus is its close to the train station however that's a big negative too as its really far from where all the action is. Next time we would want to stay somewhere closer to navona.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivyaPassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essendon, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I'd been walking round for about 90 minutes with my bags, looking for accommodation in Rome near the central Termini station, and after getting "no room available" replies to my queries at least 15 different pensiones and hotels, was starting to panic. Was thrilled when this hotel was able to put me up for my required four nights - the first in a vacant triple room, and then for the remainder in my required single. The guy on the desk spoke good English and was very helpful in arranging for me to fit in. The price was actually better than most of the places I'd been knocked back at, and the hotel foyer looked at least as good as anywhere else I'd been. What a relief!

The rooms are a bit tired-looking, but were impeccably clean, quiet and comfortable, and serviced each day. There's an elevator to service the six floors. Both the rooms I stayed in had their own toilet, wash basin and shower. Windows were double glazed, so there was no problems with street noise, and had quiet air conditioning as well, so it never got too stuffy. The single room, especially, was pretty small, but entirely adequate for a single traveller, and had its own TV.

You can access free wi-fi at the sitting room near the lobby, and a typical Roman breakfast is supplied in the little dining room downstairs - slightly stale croissants, with bread, jam and little pastry things, with coffee and juice machines.

It's literally a two minute walk to the train station, and there's a good selection of restaurants all around the area. Great place. Wouldn't hesitate for a moment to go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Okay, so it aint the Ritz, but as in life you get what you pay for. We spent four nights at the Capitol in early May. The room was clean and the sheets were changed daily. The hotel itself is a bit careworn and as for the breakfast__ forget it !!! __. But it is very central (one minute to both the main train terminal and the Metro. We went to Rome to sightsee and only got back to the hotel late. On the whole....not as bad as some make out

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located: close the the central station and very well connected to all the city´s main attractions. The room is simple, yet it has all that is needed. I enjoyed the Italian breakfast, too: cornettos (Italian croissants) were good and the bread was very fresh, too. I read people complaining about the bread: well, Italian bread is not as fluffy as the one you get in the US! If you get fluffy bread, then you can be sure it actually is old bread (I am of Italian origin, you can trust me on this). The staff was also nice: I was suggested some good restaurants and things to do every night. I would definitely suggest the hotel to those who want a cheap hotel, close to transports.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giovanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Proprietario at Hotel Capitol Roma, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Customer,
thanks for choosing our hotel. We are very happy you had a pleasant stay. We believe our hotel can offer a good quality-price ratio and good position in town. Should you come to Rome again, we would be please if you stayed at our hotel again.
scusa, we would be pleased
Best Regards,
Hotel Capitol´s management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

we were walk in customer to this hotel in late evening. This is very very close to Rome central ( termini station ) and we came from airport direct here.Room was good size compared to hotel room size of other hotel in other european countries.But staff was not helpful for any information which a tourist needs.May be language issue or attitude.Room was not so good.Location was very good to catch citi buses and metro trains and even long distance trains going to other towns in Italy.Will look for better hotel around this area next time

Room Tip: if just want to fall in bed and sleep and get out in morning w/o worrying about sorrounding then onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashoksaxena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is conveniently located near the Termini station, several restaurants, and within walking distance of many of the major attractions. It is an average hotel with average amenities, but it a good value for the money. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#882 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Charter
Hotel Charter
#463 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#939 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#273 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#286 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Esquilino
Cherubini
Cherubini
#727 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitol Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitol Roma

Property: Hotel Capitol Roma
Address: Via Giovanni Amendola 83-85, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #649 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Capitol Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Capitol Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Roma Hotel
Capitol Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing