We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hotel Galles

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Galles
Ranked #665 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Together with 8 friends, we booked this hotel for 3 nights through a Romanian travel agency. The aim was for a low-medium budget trip to Rome so we decided for a 3 star hotel with a good location.
The Galles is within short walking distance from Roma Termini, which we reached in 45 minutes from Ciampino Airport with the Teravision bus (8 Euro round trip).
My expectations were not that high, therefore I was pleasantly surprised to get a large clean room, with large bathroom (jacuzzi tub, bidet, all amenities), flat screen tv, fridge, writing desk. Breakfast buffet was decent; I recommend the olive mortadella and the pastries.
Downsides:
The wifi is not free, so you have to pay if you absolutely need to use the Internet, which in the end is not that important as having all the Rome attractions within convenient distance!
Also, in my opinion the breakfast menu could have been enriched with a few vegetable choices..
All in all, I would definitely say it was an excellent stay and I would recommend the Galles hotel with no objection.
Piece of advice: get the Roma Pass if you stay in Rome for 3-4 days; it's worth every 'centesimo'!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    163
    123
    67
    30
See reviews for
106
107
26
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
beirut
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

after our long trip through italy we arrive to our final destination coming by train from assisi for 2h20 direct for 10 euro per person . we arrive to roma termini at 16h35 on 14 mars 2013 . this hotel was the advice of our travel agent. for one night before going back to our country . it is really near the termini station walkin for 300m . this hotel is little bit olf but very well conserved. NO freewifi meduim breakfast . nice room and clean . very quiet . it was what we nned arriving to rome for one night .this hotel is near everuthing even you can take the Bus terravision for 6 euro per person to go to the airport
we left our lugage at the hotel after making our check out and we went for the vatican city as the new pope Francis was elested fro two days . you can get the metro or the bus(40.,64) from roma termini to Vatican city . we paid extra 4 euro (2 euro per person ) for a new tax ??? we did not know why
we can find a better than this hotel but we do not regret if we come back price per night 82 euro including breakfast

Room Tip: this hotel is quiet and near roma termini
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The hotel is very good for its class (3 stars). It is located in close proximity to the Metro station Castro Romano (5 min walk) from the central railway station Termini and Metro station, the hotel is clean, reasonable size room, friendly staff, breakfast is good. I recommend warmly!

Room Tip: Room at first level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

It was a last minute booking, in spite of that the room was clean and nice (even with a backyard balcony). Buffet style breakfast (not as good as in higher ranking hotels, but well accepted), very near to metro station, and in fact very good point to walk (if you are in walking condition) arround the all Roma's attractions.
One more advice: if you are in "walking condition", do not book any open deck tours (streets of Rome are very busy, bus stops are very rare and audioguides are often not in a very good conditions), but instead of this buy good Roma Guide book and you will not regret!

Room Tip: It is advicable to ask receptionist on check-in, sometimes they may have very special room available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Our room was next door to the main hotel on the 3rd floor which was accessed by apparently, an ancient Roman elevator (which was always exciting). The room was clean and a reasonable size , was air-conditioned, and had a fridge. The ensuite was a good sized room and even had a jacuzzi bath, along with a bidet The room was made up/ cleaned every day.Breakfast buffet was taken in the main hotel, and was perfectly adequate for us
There are plenty little restaurants within a few minutes walk, which offered good value for money dining. The hotel is within (long) walking distance of a lot of the main attractions, but I would advise using the Metro which had 2 stations close to the hotel, as there is just so much to see in the beautiful city of Rome (which blew our minds !!).The Termini is 5 minutes walk away,and this is where the airport shuttle bus will deposit you.....get the pink coach , not the Al Italia one.....getting tickets for this required extreme patience and a passport !!!
The "Roma pass" (bought from the tourist information offices dotted round Rome, for 30 Euros) was brilliant......free public transport for 3 days, free entry into 2 Rome attractions (and a queue of only 3 minutes to get into the Colosseum....as opposed to an hour and a half for the general public), and then discounted entry to other attractions after that.
Enjoy Rome....we did.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1002, which was on the top floor of an adjacent building, and we were happy with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was a last minute booking. The hotel is located very close to Termini Station. Check in was easy, except for the fact that they ran out of internet vouchers. The room had two levels, a bit like a loft. It was very nice, clean and had more than enough room for four adults I think. Breakfast was great, buffet style, and a good selection of 'sweets' as well as hot food. There are lots of restaurants in the adjacent streets and a supermarket and other shops at the station. I would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

very good place to say. in the center of rome ... friendly staff and good breakfast and dinner.. just less than three minute from the terminii the mitro station.
































i'd like to return there


























gghhggdjjfjdjdndnznxjsjhshsdjsbsjsjshshdjsksbshsjsnsvshshshdbdhbdhdhdnsbdbdhsjsjsnznzbdhudbdbdvrbdjdhdhbsbsbdlncjbsndbbdjdhbskshs

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#731 of 1,258 in Rome
767 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#457 of 1,258 in Rome
514 reviews
Esquilino
Milani Hotel
Milani Hotel
#465 of 1,258 in Rome
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#590 of 1,258 in Rome
405 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Milo
Hotel Milo
#671 of 1,258 in Rome
270 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#337 of 1,258 in Rome
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Galles

Property: Hotel Galles
Address: Viale Castro Pretorio 66, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #665 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galles 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for both the tourist & business traveler; via Veneto & Villa Borghese are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galles Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing