We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So European (for better or for worse)”
Review of Hotel Galles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galles
Ranked #693 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I'm not picky about my hotels, but lately I've been trying to me more straightforward about the good and the bad. This hotel is conveniently located in walking distance of the train station. The staff was pleasant. The whole place has a very European feel - narrow halls, small rooms, creaky stairs. Some of the things about the room were a let-down - my TV and phone didn't work (I didn't complain because I was there for such a short time anyway), and the mattress had a bit of a hard card-board feel. On the other hand, everything was clean, the room was warm (when cold outside), the internet connection was dependable, and the bathroom was nice and functional (except the bathtub, like in so many European hotels, required a large step to get into - somewhat of an inconvenience for anyone with difficulty). Breakfast was fine, though not extravagant. The danish were delicious, the meat very low end and the coffee so-so.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_Donald_Stein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

On our arrival in Rome we were transferred from another hotel to the Galles. The reception staff were helpful and friendly, the room we were given was dark, unloved and smelt musty, it had no tea/coffee facilities, or compendium to help with info for first time travellers like us to Rome. Breakfast was held in the basement, we found it did the job but was disappointing for international travellers, breakfast staff ignored us. Lift needed to be seen to be believed was like a miniature cattle crate. Overall our stay at the Galles was not a great introduction to Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The staff at the Galles Hotel are amazing, very helpful. just down the street from Termini station and all the tour companies. lots of good restaurants all around the block of the hotel. the hotel room was very clean, no bugs! our room was a two story suite, and the large windows opened to a charming court yard. the hotel offered a wonderful hot/cold breakfast included in your price, lots of different choices of cereal, pastries, and cold meats served with scrambled eggs and ham. they made you a boxed breakfast if you were leaving early for an excursion.. and let you into the dining room 15 minutes early to grab a coffee and something hot before you leave. very thoughtful. best tour company GLT (Green Line Tours) see my other post for these.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I was pleasantly surprised after some of the previous posts. Ok it's not the Ritz, but our room was clean and roomy. Breakfast is disappointing if you're a Brit, but there was cereal and pastries alongside the traditional cold meats and cheese. The coffee was a tad strange and I would recommend you ask the waitress for a latte or cappuccino. There is no bar and no tea / coffee making facities in the room. The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to Termini station and the metro. It took us only 10 minutes to walk from the station.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickDud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Only 5min. walk to Termini & Terravision bus connection to airport. Ideal 3-4 day Rome visit. Visit Rome every year & stayed in a few hotels most are very basic. This was our third stay at the Galles, Rooms & bathrooms are kept very clean & comfortable, the breakfast room is cleaned constantly & the quality of the breakfast is good. We shall be using it again next time we visit Rome. Stayed 6th Oct- 9th Oct.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshnames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I'm not sure what the other people saw when they stayed here but this had to be the most dirtest hotel I've ever seen. This was part of the Italian Flavours that we booked and I think they give the worst rooms to people who book tours. I would have felt cleaner sleeping in the bathroom. I could not believe what I saw in the room we got the first part of our stay. I really believe that it was mould on the walls. The walls are padded and I'm sure that it has not been changed since the hotel was built. The breakfast area was even more discusting. I watched the staff there, who by the way are not friendly. They looked like they didn't want to be there. As I watched how they cleaned after people finished their breakfast all the did was lift the placemat and shook it off and gave it a wipe and put it back. The table linen underneath did not get changed at all. Where they serve the food, the one table linen was there the 3 days we were stayed there and was just filthy dirty. It was so discusting. We took a walk through the hotel and found it was not any better. I did take pictures of some of this dirt and will post. The view from our room was even more distasteful. I felt like we were in a rooming house. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL if you are planning a trip to the beautiful city of Rome. Don't let the pictures they post fool you. We have sent this info to our rep at Air Transat and advised them in the future do not let your clients stay at this place. They will surely be disapointed.

Room Tip: I don't think any room in this place is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Room given was so noisy due to the vicinity near roadside, couldn't sleep well. Facilities provided are not at all worth the money spent. Breakfast was just average. I will never recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Shashi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#653 of 1,271 in Rome
813 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#987 of 1,271 in Rome
433 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Siviglia
Hotel Siviglia
#953 of 1,271 in Rome
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#262 of 1,271 in Rome
988 reviews
Esquilino
Montreal Hotel
Montreal Hotel
#692 of 1,271 in Rome
375 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#250 of 1,271 in Rome
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galles

Address: Viale Castro Pretorio 66, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #693 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £48 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galles 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for both the tourist & business traveler; via Veneto & Villa Borghese are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galles Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing