We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina
Ranked #349 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The hotel is worth being in the center of town. It is rather plain and serviceable. the people at the desk are largely indifferent, but some are more helpful than others. Breakfast is fine. Little known secret: a lovely roof deck. in the summer hang out there in the morning or late-ish afternoon while it's not too hot. Great views and no one uses it! We bought Gelato next door to the hotel and sat up on the roof with friends-- really magical!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Great location, true; but there are hundreds of hotels with just as good a location. The reviewers who said it was clean did not stay in room 407--smelled of must or mold or something else equally rancid. Furnishings were probably nice in the 1800's. Room for 4 was really a room for 2 with a pull out (single) sofa and a rollaway bed which wasn't mentioned in the description of the room. Bathroom was very nice and may have been recently (at least this century) renovated, but the light switch didn't work well which was annoying--we got the lights on and left them on the whole night becasue there were such a pain to turn on. I am embarrassed to say how much we paid vs others who were staying at much nicer hotels at the same time. To top it off, we paid extra in advance for breakfast and then found that we had to leave for the airport right as it was opening. When we asked if we could take a few items with us since we couldn't take the time to sit, the woman serving first said "no" and then softened up and said "only bread"--now that's servicio! i guess she thought we were going to take our 40 euro worth of cold cuts and make a run for the airport.

Too bad, as the location is good, the building is elegant and some of the public spaces were bordering on elegant, but clearly Exe (corporate owner) has decided not to invest in this property (or maybe a renovation is coming). They rank is as a "premier" on their scale of comfort-premier-excellence; if so, I hate to see the "comfort" properties. On another trip we had a nice stay at the Residenza Canali Ai Coronari Via dei Tre Archi, 13, 00186--small, but even better location, clean and very good service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bart208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

perfect location, walking distance to most Rome main areas.
BUT room airco was never working properly even after several requests, it was always 25 degrees!! i was sleeping with open door as the corredor was fresh!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

perfect location, walking distance to most Rome main areas.
BUT room airco was never working properly even after several requests, it was always 25 degrees!! i was sleeping with open door as the corredor was fresh!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I chose this hotal primarily for the location and certainly wasn't dissapointed. We spent 3 nights from the 3rd July and was more than satisfied with the hotel in general.
It is located on a busy road but the air conditioning was very effective and we kept the windows shut at night and were not bothered by noise at all. It is only a 2 minute walk to the Campo de Fiori area and only a little further to the Piazza Navonna and the Pantheon. These are both lovely areas with plenty of bars, restaurants and ice cream shops. It is a gentle 15 minute stroll to the Trevi fountain and a further 10 minutes to the Spanish steps. The Vatican and the Colloseum are both slightly further, about 30 minutes in the Summer heat but the local buses which stop right outside the hotel were cheap and easy to save your feet a little. It is 1 and a half euros to buy a ticket from tobacco kiosks or machines at the bus stop, this lasts 100 minutes and has to be validated in the yellow machine at the front of the bus.
The room and general areas of the hotel were very clean. The room itself was decorated in quite a traditional style which may seem a little old fashined but the furnishings were not actually old. The bathrooms seem to be more modern in style. The corridors and stairways however did seem a little jaded but then you're just passing through them!
Breakfast was perfectly acceptable although the orange juice from a machine was not the best.
The staff were very friendly and informative.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor have their own access to a private roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrsmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Excellent location, many busses in front of the door and tram little further. We did walk to piazza Navona, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and busses in front of the door or across the road to go to Colosseum, Spanish Steps. The room is ok, very clean and the bathroom is spacious and modern. Our room was at the back, quiet and I have asked for a room with no carpeting. The staff at the frontdesk were friendly, polite and very helpful, they will give us the necessary information every day and chiefly the lady, I think her name is Anna was very precise in details. We stayed five nights. The breakfast is excellent, many kind of cereals, fruits, omelette, cheese, tomatoes, salad, brioche, jam, cake, juice, coffee tea. the basement grotto is spacious and nice. The breakfast was included with the rate. For the price, it is reasonable taking in consideration the excellent location, the great breakfast and the good service.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for the one at the back. Room with no carpet if you have allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel is located in the perfect location to be able to walk the entire city of Rome. The hotel is old but the bathrooms have been updated (although the half glass door created floods every day). The breakfast was okay, nothing great. We thought our breakfast was included in the price of the rooms, but at checkout we were told otherwise and had to pay a couple hundred dollars extra. We would have eaten elsewhere if I had known it wasn't included. The front desk staff was ok and ordered us a taxi to take us to the train station the day we checked out. I'm a light sleeper and I didn't hear any street noise when the windows and shutters were closed.

Room Tip: The higher floors are probably a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truffles37marietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Tiziano Hotel
Tiziano Hotel
#453 of 1,269 in Rome
436 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#121 of 1,269 in Rome
1,114 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#151 of 1,269 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#435 of 1,269 in Rome
262 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Pantheon Inn
Pantheon Inn
#432 of 1,269 in Rome
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, 102, 00186 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Della Torre Argentina)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#326 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £72 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Exe Hotel della Torre Argentina 3* located in the historical centre, at the point where ancient and modern Rome merge, Hotel della Torre Argentina is set in an aristocratic Settecento palace, decorated in classical style and with abundant decoration in fine woods. The hotel has undergone recent renovation (2010) in order to offer the level of facilities our guests deserve. We have two small reception lounges, a reading room and a romantic breakfast room, decorated in eclectic Italian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Della Torre Argentina Rome
Della Torre Argentina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing