We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect city hotel: central, comfortable, cheap, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina
Ranked #347 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

As we got this hotel for a very cheap price (55€ for 2/night), and it is ideally located spot in the center of Rome (5 minutes walk to Campo dei Fiori, Piazza Navona and the Pantheon, 10 minutes to Fontana dei Trevi, Piazza del Popolo, 20 minutes to Villa Borghese or the Vatican), I really didn't expect much else.

Our stay at Hotel Della Torre Argentina, however, was a very pleasant surprise to all regards. Our room was spacious and clean, with a very high ceiling and a large bathroom. The first night we had a tad noisy room on the street, the third night a very quiet room. The staff is very friendly, talkative, cooperative, always smiling. Breakfast is optional (9€), which is a plus, as in a city like Rome it is more fun to have breakfast in a bar or café. On the one day we had breakfast in the hotel, the spread was large, diverse and delicious.

The interior of the hotel is slightly worn-out and old-fashioned (1950-60s), this in my way only adds to the charm of the place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is not my first review of Torre Argentina, having been a regular over the past 15 years when travelling to Rome for business and, occasionally, for leisure.
The hotel has recently changed hands and I wish to comment on that.
It has now been renamed EXE-Torre Argentina; all room information is written in Spanish first and I wonder if the hotel is now part of the homonymous chain, which has properties in Madrid and Barcelona.
I saw new staff, young and very efficient but lacking the navigated flair of the old one. The reservation manager (or the person I was redirected to for a phone booking), was definitely short if not snappy, fluent in Italian but with a foreign accent.
Breakfast, honestly priced at € 6, has enormously improved, both in quality and selection; rooms seem to have been slightly refreshed.
On the other hand, toiletries are not what they used to be, with the smart and earth-friendly glass dispensers gone in favour of diminutive pots of low quality, all-in-one shampoo (‘Champù’ in Spanish) and very small soap bars: all is made in China and none will see you properly through one shower, let alone one on arrival and another one the next morning; comb, toothbrush and paste, are no longer available. Same for complimentary pen and notepad.
Still a good place to stay but perhaps just another independently owned establishment relinquishing its features for a wider and standardised market.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Location is very convenient to explore Rome on foot. Decent breakfast, good wifi connection.
Rooms and elevator are a bit tight - not a major issue. There is good supermarket some 200m away near Pantheon.
The only downside is when you have to open window as the street has heavy traffic all the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Location for me is important and this hotel is perfectly located. We could walk to all of the major spots easily. We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our trip and re-booked when we traveled through Rome on our way back home. We were 2 adults / 2 kids and the family rooms were very spacious. The rooms however have not been updated for quite a few years, The bathroom have been and were super clean and modern, We did not try the breakfast or turn on the tv so I cannot rate those items, Wi-fi was free and worked well in the room and lobby. My interactions with the staff were pleasant and everyone spoke English. For the price I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp3Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We loved the location - easy to walk everywhere in Rome. Right by the bus stop. Pantheon is minutes walk away as well as great restaurants. Our room was on the fourth floor (quad room for a family of four) We faced the busy street but as we were quite high up the noise didn't bother us. Room was in need of updating (old carpet and wallpaper was peeling) Bathroom was large and clean. Staff were friendly and they store your luggage if you arrive too early for check in and again if your flight leaves late on check out day. Would stay there again when visiting Rome. (Right around the corner is a cat rescue centre, underground - very fun for young children to check out!) We didn't buy breakfast it was too expensive - we went to the grocery store around the corner and bought fresh food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It would be difficult to find a more central and easy to from location. Really is walking distance to almost everything you want to see in Rome. However, be warned that the hotel is on a very busy. noisy, main road. Easy check-in procedure, with nice, English speaking, staff. However my room was right on the road, and even though double glazed, was extremely noisy. Complained to the staff who quickly, and without complaint, showed me to a room at the back. Although on a small side road and double glazed, I found sleep extremely difficult because of the noise. On a positive, the room was large, clean and comfortable. Bathroom modern and new and water pressure good. I could only recommend this hotel if you are a heavy sleeper. And if you are, then this would be a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Addled_in_Ades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel is basic but good, with friendly staff. We (a family with two young kids) stayed for a week. The family room we got first was nice but VERY smelly. There must have been something wrong with it. We complained after the first night and the hotel staff were very apologetic and accommodating and found us an identical room that was perfect.
Breakfast was basic but exactly what we like, with fresh fruit, cereals, and normal hotel hot stuff (egg, bacon etc.).
Only downside was the price. It was very expensive. However, it is Rome, and I guess you have to pay a premium for location.

Room Tip: The family room on the fourth floor was very smelly. They assured us it was going to be sorted immed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knergaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#119 of 1,273 in Rome
1,148 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#143 of 1,273 in Rome
1,109 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#660 of 1,273 in Rome
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#325 of 1,273 in Rome
216 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#235 of 1,273 in Rome
477 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#41 of 1,273 in Rome
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, 102, 00186 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Della Torre Argentina)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#326 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £45 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Exe Hotel della Torre Argentina 3* located in the historical centre, at the point where ancient and modern Rome merge, Hotel della Torre Argentina is set in an aristocratic Settecento palace, decorated in classical style and with abundant decoration in fine woods. The hotel has undergone recent renovation (2010) in order to offer the level of facilities our guests deserve. We have two small reception lounges, a reading room and a romantic breakfast room, decorated in eclectic Italian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Eurostars, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Della Torre Argentina Rome
Della Torre Argentina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing