We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Luce
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$933
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$408
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
24
81
101
56
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
81
101
56
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstermini stationstandard continental breakfastshort stayair conditioningplace to sleephamcold cutsdouble roomvisited romeminute walkthe hotel staffpastriesbeggarssitesbusesconscolosseum
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The hotel is walking distance from Termini station in a safe area. The hotel rooms are small but clean. The shower is very small. The hotel lacks any bar or extras. European b&b only. Breakfast is very basic and limited. Again clean but don't expect to see any staff if it runs low. The local restaurants are fair priced and hospitable. Tip. Station has a supermarket which offers food at half the price of local outlets. Water is €.60 compaired to €2-3 elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This hotel benefits from a great location. It being our first visit to Rome we were unsure of the best area in which to stay so we went with the travel agents recommendation of being near the Termini station. He was right in that the location was great for exploring every part of Rome. We were also worried that the area might be noisy but it really wasn't, in fact once the windows were closed and even with the air con unit going we slept like babies!

The room although small was clean and had all the necessary amenities. It was cleaned daily, towels changed and basic mini bar restocked.

Breakfast was ok. Basic but fine as we filled ourselves up on Rome's other culinary delights whilst out and about.

The one thing that really lets this hotel down is its staff!! They could not even raise a smile let alone engage in conversation. My boyfriend had learnt some Italian prior to our trip and was eager to try this out but gave up when all he was greeted with was the odd grunt. I'm just glad that we didn't need urgent help or advice as who knows the response we would have got!

Any recommendation that I might give would be based solely on location and certainly not on service.

An ok hotel but definitely not 4 star.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucy071175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

All we did in the hotel was shower and sleep so I wasn't bothered about the small room. It was a lovely clean room and felt very traditional yet had everything you'd need.

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. Close to the termini which is basically the centre of Rome, all lines direct here. It's easy accessible and has a lovely traditional restaurant on the street. The only thing is at night this area does become a little rough.. a lot of homeless people sleep near the train station in the Summer but we never had any problems, there are homeless people in all cities.

The staff were very friendly and helped us out loads. The breakfast was nice enough if you like croissants and juice. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandorasbox06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Thomson / Citalia had this as a 4 star, but I don't know how this can be 4 star by anyone's rating! I expected the room to be small, that's Rome for you so I am not rating the room size. The cleanliness was not great with mould in the corner of the bathroom, the fabric and furniture was very old and dirty, there are no views, out 1st room was looking out at air con units, then we were moved to the street side. Noisy but better than looking at nothing. The safe was dodgy and we had to call them up every day to help us fix it, which seemed to annoy them.
The service wasn't good, they were not friendly even though I attempted to speak Italian phrases (basic but at least I tried). The breakfast was terrible, nothing warm, not even toast, just the same boring bread (not even that fresh) and some cakes and cereal - avoid coffee this is the worst I have EVER EVER tasted.
This was our 1st anniversary and we were terribly disappointed with this hotel - thank God that Rome is romantic as the location made up for it as we just spent as little time in the room as possible! The hotel was only a 5 minute walk from termini so it was convenient for that. I think if I was to go again I'd try treating ourselves to something fancy on Via Vittorio... nice area up near villa borghese. Probably costs a fortune up there but at least you won't feel like it was a waste of money like we felt with Hotel Luce.

Room Tip: Centre courtyard rooms looked ok for singles.
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lnstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Just got back from a short break at this hotel. Starting with the positives the room and hotel were clean, towels changed daily, breakfast was ok and the water was always hot. However, I would not say this hotel is 4 star. The rooms are small, dark and you can hear everything in neighbouring rooms- above and below!

There is no facility for making a hot drink in the room, which would be less of a problem if the hotel had a bar- but it doesn't. There is no area to sit and relax other than in your room and I guarantee you will not want to spend much time in there. I understand that your in Rome and won't want to spend time in the hotel but the star rating alludes to this hotel being better than it actually is. 3 star would be a far better reflection and create a more realistic expectation.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flukey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews