We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star? Hahaha!”
Review of Hotel Luce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luce
Ranked #1,017 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 Star? Hahaha!”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Where to start? Stayed 3 Nights (more than enough) Sept 11-13 2011
Twin room with breakfast. Room 209.

The facts:
NOT a 4 Star.....2 at most....and I am not exaggerating.
Rooms are small....real small.
NO NATURAL LIGHT COMING INTO OUR ROOM!!
The staff dont care. Rude and uninterested.
Breakfast is woeful. (Maybe its all like this in Italy)
The elevator fits 3 people in it...WITHOUT luggage.
Old-fashioned.
Wi-fi only in the lobby...for this ''4 star''
No tea/coffee making facilites in room (maybe thats an Italian thing, I dont know)
Loads of Sky channels IF YOU CAN UNDERSTAND ITALIAN!! 2 English channles- Sky & BBC news
Wardrobes are about 3 feet off the ground
Bed and pillows were hard
Shower is tiny; I banged my elbows many times
Most unromantic hotel ever.


Our Stay:
I hope I remember all the details...anyway I'll give it a go...
When we arrived the desk guy was taking a personal call....he continued this personal call for the entire duration of us trying to check-in...no manners, no greeting....asked for our passports...after a couple of mins he just said 'Second floor', gave me the key, and said '10 minutes'....as in 'I will be off the phone in 10 minutes, go to your room and I'll photocopy your passports and you can get them later'. We were not comfotable with the fact our passports were with him, so we waited instead of going to our room while this guy talked and talked, laughed and joked with whomever he was talking to.....he even went outside! Then a hotel maid came, and i asked her. they guy came over and mumbeled something in Italian, obviously pissed off he had to do some work.

OTHER RANDOM EVENTS:
After our early morning flight we needed some rest. So we slept after unpacking. After about 1 hour of sleeping we heard the door unlocking, it woke us up, it was the maid!! She was coming into the room, just as I got to the door!
This HAPPENED AGAIN on our last day! At about 10am!

NEVER NEVER AGAIN WILL I STAY HERE.
I do not reccommend it for anything other than location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    74
    88
    46
    34
See reviews for
50
99
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Room was so small it was funny. Bed clothes were clean but well worn. Breakfast was very basic but ok. Staff friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebbalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, QC, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is a 4 stars hotel (?????), perhaps 2 would be enough! From 3 front desk staff only the lady speaks English. Hot Rome, about 33 oC and they close the air conditioning in the evenings (everyday) .....Very difficult to sleep. Breakfast just terrible, the basic! No fresh fruit, machine coffee with lot of sugar in it! Just unbearable! My dog’s cage is larger than their rooms. We saw, at least 8 guests asking to change rooms, we included!!!! No Wi-Fi. You can access internet from the lobby only. In the room, no way!
Surrounded area, very bad and depressive…. Only 1 stars hotel in the neighborhood. The worst is: They don’t care, because Rome is so full of people that they will always have guests!!!!!!
How did they got a 4 stars...!!!???? Perhaps God knows! It is unbelievable.

Room Tip: teriivel, very very small, no air condicioning, no wi fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZuMarciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roma
Level Contributor
238 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

An agency chose this hotel for my colleagues of an international meeting in Roma, but the only fact they were satisfied with was the pisition (next to the central railway station). A four star hotel worth absolutely not more than three, rooms ok but tiny, insignificant breakfast, general atmosphere quite retro. You can find better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gitiRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The hotel is walking distance from Termini station in a safe area. The hotel rooms are small but clean. The shower is very small. The hotel lacks any bar or extras. European b&b only. Breakfast is very basic and limited. Again clean but don't expect to see any staff if it runs low. The local restaurants are fair priced and hospitable. Tip. Station has a supermarket which offers food at half the price of local outlets. Water is €.60 compaired to €2-3 elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This hotel benefits from a great location. It being our first visit to Rome we were unsure of the best area in which to stay so we went with the travel agents recommendation of being near the Termini station. He was right in that the location was great for exploring every part of Rome. We were also worried that the area might be noisy but it really wasn't, in fact once the windows were closed and even with the air con unit going we slept like babies!

The room although small was clean and had all the necessary amenities. It was cleaned daily, towels changed and basic mini bar restocked.

Breakfast was ok. Basic but fine as we filled ourselves up on Rome's other culinary delights whilst out and about.

The one thing that really lets this hotel down is its staff!! They could not even raise a smile let alone engage in conversation. My boyfriend had learnt some Italian prior to our trip and was eager to try this out but gave up when all he was greeted with was the odd grunt. I'm just glad that we didn't need urgent help or advice as who knows the response we would have got!

Any recommendation that I might give would be based solely on location and certainly not on service.

An ok hotel but definitely not 4 star.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucy071175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

All we did in the hotel was shower and sleep so I wasn't bothered about the small room. It was a lovely clean room and felt very traditional yet had everything you'd need.

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. Close to the termini which is basically the centre of Rome, all lines direct here. It's easy accessible and has a lovely traditional restaurant on the street. The only thing is at night this area does become a little rough.. a lot of homeless people sleep near the train station in the Summer but we never had any problems, there are homeless people in all cities.

The staff were very friendly and helped us out loads. The breakfast was nice enough if you like croissants and juice. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandorasbox06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#908 of 1,257 in Rome
466 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#753 of 1,257 in Rome
246 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lazio
Hotel Lazio
#779 of 1,257 in Rome
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#924 of 1,257 in Rome
310 reviews
Esquilino
Floridia Hotel
Floridia Hotel
#783 of 1,257 in Rome
119 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#957 of 1,257 in Rome
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luce

Property: Hotel Luce
Address: Via Magenta 34, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#345 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and refined, Hotel Luce is ideal for anyone seeking tranquillity and elegance for their stay in the heart of Rome. The elegant hall welcomes guests upon their arrival, spacious and lit up by precious crystal chandeliers; there are also comfortable lounge areas where guests can relax on comfortable couches after a “hard” day visiting the Capital. Here guests can have a snack and a drink using the automatic dispensers. Hotel Luce offers its guests all the comforts that might be expected from a hotel of this category, guaranteeing a complete service catering to everyone’s needs. Guests may be in Rome for a romantic weekend, celebrating an anniversary, attending a cultural or artistic event, discovering the artistic beauty of the Eternal City or shopping in the elegant streets in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luce Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing