We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Luce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luce
Ranked #1,057 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great location close to train and metro stations so easy to reach airport. Plenty of restaurants close by. Our room was snug but I did see bigger rooms. Very clean. Air conditioned. Reception was always helpful. Breakfast was ok but used coffee machine and tasted like dish water. Wifi was in reception so inconvenient. TV was only in italian. There was always around 30ish Africans hanging around in the street and sitting in the hotel window recesses, each day, which was off putting although they were not threatening.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Gillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Close to Termini, 5 mins walk. Clean but room is tiny, air condition not great, small bath room. Breakfast very average . Wifi only in lobby. Probably would not stay again but was an ok location for our first Rome stay

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here for 1 night and that was enough. Moved to another hotel for the other 2 nights in Rome. Definitely not a 4 star wifi was down in reception and not in the best area. Much better value for money heading the other way from the train station which was the only good thing about it being just around the corner. There is a laundromat over the road from the hotel though. Need double glaze windows to keep the noise out.Breakfast was ok with a fair selection but won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Its very near Termini, only 5 mins walk. Clean & nice hotel but room is small, no air condition, & very small bath room. Staff no smile but some how helpful. Breakfast ok. Wifi only at lobby. Don't expect too much & you'll satisfy with it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank friends19641961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Having read some of the earlier reviews I was somewhat apprehensive about spending a week here. Certainly the room we had was on the small side and the décor dark but this is a city hotel in an old building. I would suggest if pale cream décor and bedlinen is important that it would probably be better to book Holiday Inn or similar.

We were very satisfied with our stay here, Termini station is two minutes level walk away with access to both metro lines, buses and mainline trains. There are restaurants in the same street and many, many more within easy reach.

Breakfast was buffet style, continental and to the joy of us vegetarians contained fresh fruit and fruit salad as well as the sliced meat for the more carnivorous guests.

The airconditioning was quiet and we were able to keep it on all night without problems (I am a VERY light sleeper) and the double glazed windows kept any street noise out. The room was clean and we were pleased to have a fridge and safe.

The girl on reception was an absolute sweetheart and although busy would take time to talk to us.

Would recommend this as a city base

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor front, it was quieter than I expected
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank landoflostcontent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Well, I had high expectations for this place being that it had been classed as a 4 star hotel. Unfortunately, the rooms were small, noisy, ran out of hot water two mornings in a row, had poor quality breakfast with stale muesli not a double as books but two singles with single bed clothes on it rather than two singles with double bed clothes as per all the other hotels we were at in the fortnight we were away. Well be contacting booked.com to complain as the service was also appalling so when we complained about no water, all I got was a vacant ´well what do you want me to do about it ´ look. Would advise to stay away.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 60nickyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The best thing about Luce is location: in a quiet street, 5 minutes walk from Termini. The rest is average – small lobby, narrow stairs, and staff speaking a bit of English, not very friendly or helpful. The rooms are tiny, but very clean and beautiful, bathroom and shower are also very small. I reccomend it to younger people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilihipsojic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#811 of 1,271 in Rome
514 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#736 of 1,271 in Rome
280 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lazio
Hotel Lazio
#721 of 1,271 in Rome
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Viminale
Hotel Viminale
#959 of 1,271 in Rome
542 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1,053 of 1,271 in Rome
266 reviews
Esquilino
Floridia Hotel
Floridia Hotel
#838 of 1,271 in Rome
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luce

Address: Via Magenta 34, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#358 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £39 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and refined, Hotel Luce is ideal for anyone seeking tranquillity and elegance for their stay in the heart of Rome. The elegant hall welcomes guests upon their arrival, spacious and lit up by precious crystal chandeliers; there are also comfortable lounge areas where guests can relax on comfortable couches after a “hard” day visiting the Capital. Here guests can have a snack and a drink using the automatic dispensers. Hotel Luce offers its guests all the comforts that might be expected from a hotel of this category, guaranteeing a complete service catering to everyone’s needs. Guests may be in Rome for a romantic weekend, celebrating an anniversary, attending a cultural or artistic event, discovering the artistic beauty of the Eternal City or shopping in the elegant streets in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luce Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing