We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a short city break”
Review of Hotel San Remo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Remo
Ranked #820 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for a short city break”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend at the end of last year (didn't think to write a review at the time). I booked as a suprise for my boyfriends 21st birthday as a package deal with Thomson. Nice hotel, friendly staff, clean and tidy room which was small but fine for two people we weren't expecting anything more! We had a bad view if I am honest when we opened the curtains of a morning the people in the building facing were right there looking over but this didn't affect our thoughts of the hotel! In a decent location a couple of minutes from the termini and a nice walk to the coleseum. We didn't use public transport once we walked everywhere even to the Vatican which was quite a long walk but was nice. Also lots of lovely little restaurants not far from the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    302
    275
    113
    82
See reviews for
175
381
73
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Hotel San Remo is located right near Termini station,which is the access point to much of Italy. My husband and I went Rome Ito celebrate a wedding anniversary . The hotel is small and unimposing. It makes up for this with the friendly staff and the cleanliness of the rooms,although they are a little small,they have everything you need.
The hotel is within walking distance to many must-sees, and who spends a lot of time in the room when in Rome. The breakfast buffet is above average and again the staff keep it well stocked.
Overall the hotel is great for what we used it for,but if you are a hotel snob find another place to stay!

Room Tip: The room we had looked onto an old courtyard,the hotel is built round it.a little noisy in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

San Remo Hotel is located near the best tourist atractions of Roma, like Coliseum, Fontana di Trevi, Piazza di Spagna, etc. Thete are much restaurants near the Hotel. San Remo Hotel is an old building but is cosy and perfect for families. San Remo Hotel is not very expensive, in my opinion is cheaper, and the price include and complete breakfast. I like San Remo Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This review for our stay 24-31 July 2013
I chose the hotel for it's location - nr the Termini Train Station, the hotel was also good for the hop on hop off bus tour.
The hotel was at best poor. There was a queue at reception for complaints about the rooms. Our party was split on floors 3 and 4, another family who had requested joining rooms were split on floors 3 & 6, so a bit of planning when allocating rooms is required here. I made a complaint about the strong smell of bad drains in the evenings, although the housekeeping staff didn't speak much english, they knew the problem. I wasn't the only guest having this trouble, the complaints I heard while queueing at reception was bad drain smell floors 6, 5 - we were on floor 4, another guest wanted moving due to moldy room plus bad smell? The room was clean, but the smell was terrible. In my dads room the toilet was centimetres from the shower cubicle meaning it was impossible to use this without putting his feet in the shower first, or sitting side on -crazy eh?
Breakfast was the worst I have come across on a B&B basis, they even charge for teabags? Its was very poor quality food and very little choice. We decided not to bother with breakfast after checking it each day. every moring was exactly the same awful choices.
There are so many hotels in Rome (on every street) there is no reason to choose San Remo. it is NOT described as in need to care and attention and very low buget accommodation, which it certainly is!!
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEAMJTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Rome. It was a great location - close to the Metro, but if you're keen also close enough to walk to the Collessium (approx 20minutes). The hotel was clean, breakfast served until 10am for lazier mornings and the room was basic, but functional.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T-Midds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Booked bed and breakfast at this hotel as part of a Jet2 holiday, great location for the hop on hop off buses, close to reasonably priced restaurants and close to the main terminus, colosseum and via nazionale for shopping.Rooms are basic, but functional, no English channels on the tv and the breakfast is continental but enough to start you off in the morning. Staff are friendly, helpful and speak English.

Room Tip: Good hotel if you are on a short break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkreddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthasville, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I brought my Dad to Rome for his 60th b-day and we stayed here with no high expectations becasue of what we have heard about places to stay in Europe. It did meet our expectations. We did have air in the room and a nice place to lay your head. They said that we would have a couple English channels on the TV so that we could wind down in the evenings after a long day out of sightseeing but we were not able to find ANY. The breakfast was plain, but enough to get you going in the morning and hold you over for awhile. Good hotel and great location within walking distances to most everywhere. We had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jng80us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#782 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#954 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#604 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#452 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#753 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#588 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Remo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Remo

Property: Hotel San Remo
Address: Via Massimo d'Azeglio 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #820 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Remo 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a traditional 19th century facade; located in the city center & near the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Remo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Remo Hotel Rome
Hotel San Remo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing