We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good centrally located budget hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Remo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Remo
Ranked #875 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good centrally located budget hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed for two nights at the San Remo, Pleasantly suprised, the Hotel is a little bit dated, but it is very clean. The hotel staff were very friendly. I thought the breakfast was very good, a nice selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, the toaster was a bit slow! I wanted English breakfast tea and asked, no problem. It is in a really good position for visiting all major attractions. I would have no problem with staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    299
    272
    111
    82
See reviews for
175
374
71
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We've just returned from a fantastic 4 night trip to Rome, what a fantastic city. With regards the Hotel San Remo lets start with the positive, the staff are friendly and helpfull unfortunately that's it, the hotel itself is dated and very tired. The breakfast was just ok after the 1st morning we just had coffee and ate breakfast in a local cafe. While it's location is handy in relation to the central station and is within a 30 minute walk of most of the main attractions the street itself is scruffy with lots of rubbish lying about. While our room itself was clean the chairs covers etc were discoloured and dirty looking. The bathroom was clean but the bath was full of chips and had no plug. On our 1st night we tried to use the shower but couldn't get any hot water, after advising the staff at reception about this we were advised to leave a tap running until the hot water arrived, this we did and after leaving the tap open for between 5/10 mins hot water did eventually arrive ! Now for the beds which seemed very small even though neither of us are particularly tall they were also very hard and uncomfortable. The other main issue in our room which was situated at the front of the hotel was the street noise, now I'm a very good sleeper and normally nothing wakes me but the clattering banging and shouts from tramps on the street outside disturbed me every night, in fact on the 1st night I assumed we had left the window open as the noise was so loud and clear, the window was closed but poorly fitting. Even though we had read similar reviews to this prior to booking, as the hotel is in the Citalia brochure (always found Citalia very good) we assumed the revues were down to the over fussy brigade, how wrong we were !! To summarise I would rate this as a budget hotel in need of some TLC in a not particularly nice street. I guess the lesson here is one I thought I already knew you get what you pay far.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room at front of a Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ishy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have stayed at the San Remo every year for the past five years. It is well located for walking Rome, as well as being only a few minutes from Termini. The rooms are clean, quiet and adequate. We bring our own plug for the tub. The breakfast is limited but there is enough selection of fresh foods to satisfy. The elevator is small and slow but we usually only use it to move the luggage up and down. The staff are a bit standoff-ish until they get to know you. When we needed their help with issues, they performed beyond expectations. Thank you guys. I know there are 1000 other choices when in Rome, but San Remo is home for us.

Room Tip: If you mind climbing stairs ask for a lower floor. Get your internet password from the front desk wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location and is clean. However I'm not sure this should be a 3 star hotel. The bathroom was really not great - in particular the bath/shower. Horrible marks in the bath, rusted taps and no plug for the bath. Shower curtain had stains and smelt really bad.

(Picture attached of bath).

The breakfast was average and every morning the table cloths were dirty :(

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Hotel is very centrally located and within walking distance of all major sights. Around the corner from the termini. Great breakfast, nice rooms and friendly staff. Great cafe's and restaurants just around the corner. Can definitely recommend this great value for money hotel for your stay in Rome

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donovan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winston, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed in this Rome hotel which is near the train station and found the room very good, and the staff helpful. My daughter had stayed in this hotel a few years ago, and had recommended it as being convenient. Our room was clean, nice bathroom, and the morning breakfast better than average.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel is about 200-300 metres walk from Rome Termini.
Activate your GPS and set the path at the Termini Station with a free wi fi available to find the location. It might be difficult to find if not...
Once you get used to the location.. walking from termini would not be an issue.
Most tourist spots in Rome are within 3 km radius of termini.

Hotel Rooms were good. Breakfast options for vegetarians are limited if not nothing.
Wi fi at the hotel was having issues during all the 3 days we stayed. Wi fi signal even at the reception seems very dismal. Advisable not to count on hotel wi fi

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ananth_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#754 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#950 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#607 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#451 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#714 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#589 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Remo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Remo

Property: Hotel San Remo
Address: Via Massimo d'Azeglio 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #875 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Remo 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a traditional 19th century facade; located in the city center & near the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Remo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Remo Hotel Rome
Hotel San Remo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing