We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the place to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colors Hotel
Ranked #315 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Baal, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

interior of the hotel is SUPER, the room's have all the accomodations you need for a Rome city trip. super breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    241
    96
    32
    18
See reviews for
79
248
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

The service we received at this hotel was excellent. The staff were friendly and even waited till midnight for us to check in. Breakfast was good, the rooms clean and the location excellent. We asked for a third single bed to be put into the room, at the last minute and they were more then helpful. The bathroom was clean. Overall great value for money!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lutfiya_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights, and my experience was "okay." I wanted a single room, so maybe it was because it was the only single room available, but my room was basically outside of the reception area in the stairwell and was SUPER noisy (thin walls/doors allowed me to hear every single step up and down the stairs, to and from the reception, and the opening and slamming of the main entrance door to the street). I had a shower in my room, but had to share a bathroom, which I guess wasn't too bad.

The free breakfast was decent... it was free so no REAL complaints. It opens at 8am... but they really start serving before that so I'd suggest going early because it fills up FAST and is in an annoyingly small room.

It is walking distance from the metro if you consider walking distance about 20 minutes or so... it's probably a hike for most. The bus station is probably a better decision if that's an option for you as it's only a few blocks. It is also walking distance from Vatican City, which I really liked since I planned to spend at least a day there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

My friend and I were in this hotel two nights in May 2012. The hotel was OK. Service was good and free internet point was nice.The room was really small although it was for two persons and you could hear everything from the neighbours' rooms. Otherwise the room was clean and comfortable. Then few words about the breakfast. The breakfast room was tiny, some of the bread, ham and cheese ran out about 1 and ½ hours before the breakfast serving was to end. Maybe I'd search some other hotel especially if I stayed longer than 3 nights. But all in all the hotel wasn't that bad and for that price it was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelers4029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

We have been staying for 5 days in Hotel Colors, and while we have been to many places in Europe, this was the worst accomodation so far. First, it's not a hotel, rather a hostel. The room we got was tiny, between the shared bathroom/toilet and common room, next to the balcony, which also happens to be the designated smoking place. Thanks to this the room was noise (could hear every **** visitor using the toilet) and smelly, since the smoke was coming right in. It should also be noted, that we had to open the window, as the air conditioning was of course out of order. After the 3rd day we also had the pleasure of constantly battling with ants, who enjoyed staying in our beds. The breakfast could have been quite nice, but the dining room is so tiny, people always had to wait to get a free table. The only positive things I could mention is that it's quite clean, it's location is excellent and while we were there the staff was helpful and friendly.. But overall we advise everyone to stay away from this hostel.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zahrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the first week of April 2012. I was more a like an partment converted to hotel rooms. Finding the hotel is a little difficult as they haven't kept any name-boards outside.
Rooms were clean and breakfast was good. Charged tax additional to the price mentioned in the booking website.
We booked a triple room but it was more like a double room with extra bed. Overall it was okay.
Though I would say its not worth the money. Location is pretty good as it is inside the vatican.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPJAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed here with family (my sister and cousin) in August 2010. We loved it! We had a triple en suite room and really enjoyed our stay. We had to wait until 2pm to check into our room, although they let us leave our bags there for a couple of hours. The hostel is about 10 minutes walk from the METRO or about 5 minutes from where the No40 bus terminates. We were incredibly impressed by the breakfast in the morning. I have done a lot of travelling and staying in hostels over the last few years and I have to say that it is probably the BEST breakfast that I've had in this sort of place; cereal, toast, croissants and pastries, yoghurts, fresh fruit, juices and coffee. What better way to start your day!? The only down side to breakfast is the limited seat capacity, that the kitchen area has. Get up early to get the best seats!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaRomer1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#373 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#287 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#267 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#493 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#289 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colors Hotel

Property: Colors Hotel
Address: Via Ezio 31, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colors Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful budget hotel in a perfect location in Rome, Hotel Colors offers the visitor a choice of quality double bedrooms as well as simpler dorm or backpacker rooms. This welcoming modern hotel and cheap hostel looks and feels young and bright and is imaginatively decorated with more hues than Michelangelo's palette! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Colors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing