We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Hotel Colors”
Review of Colors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colors Hotel
Ranked #246 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 5 nights during the Easter period. (On Easter Sunday we returned to our room to find a bowl of little chocolate easter eggs!) It is a lovely, cosy Bed and Breakfast. Our room was on the 2nd floor, we had Wifi access, a fridge, comfy clean bed, with our towels changed daily. The staff were always friendly and helpful, giving advise on times and tourist attractions. The hotel is situated very close to Vatican City, about a 15 min walk, and easy access to the Metro which was very convenient. The breakfast was great, although the dining area is small, and may become crowded, we simply took our breakfast up to our room, which wasn't a problem for us, the food was fresh, with fruit, pastries and bread, cereals, tea and coffee. The only downside for me and my partner was that there was not a kettle in the room, as we enjoy a cup of tea - being British! But this is nothing major! I would most certainly return should we ever visit Rome again.
Thanks for a pleasant first time stay in Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms situated above the ground floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Sir and Madam,
Thank you for all the appreciation. Great to hear you have enjoyed all the services, the breakfast and the staff's help, but most of all thank you for having enjoyed the cosy atmosphere which is our force point and of primary importance to make our guests feel home.
Please come back should you decide to visit Rome again in the future.
P.S. You might find a kettle in the room :)

Best wishes,
Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

What a little gem this hotel is...
Great price, great location, great staff... We had a great time/stay.
We booked a triple room and whilst space was a bit tight it didn't matter. We had a good ensuite bathroom and were given a bath towel, a large hand towel and a small hand towel each....which I've never even seen in 5 star hotels (and very handy when you have all girls trip!) Breakfast was good, they even gave us a takeaway breakfast pack when we had a early start day trip to Pompei.

The location is great, just a short walk from St Peters Sq, Sistene Chapel, Vatican and the bus stops for the hop on hop buses...
The other attractions eg coliseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Roman Forum, Pallentine etc are all walkable too (about 20-30 min walk) or accessible easily by the hop on hop off buses... We walked back from the Trevi Fountain area late at night and felt perfectly safe..

All in all a great find, sure the beds aren't the most luxurious and it can be a bit noisy when breakfast starts if you are on the main floor but for a long weekend stay FANTASTIC value!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for all the appreciation made. Hearing that you have enjoyed at the most the hotel with all the services that we give, the breakfast and the central position is of primary importance for us. Great to be compared to a 5 star hotel too :)
You are very welcome to return anytime you want.

Best wishes,

Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I, stayed at this ho
tel for 5 nights. We arrived around 10 o'clock in the evening, the reception is open 24 hours a day. So we could check-in quite easily.
We had a room on the same floor as the reception and the room where the breakfast is served every day. I can advise you this: make sure your room is NOT on the same floor as the reception. We spent most of our day walking through the beautiful streets of Rome. So when we came back at the hotel after a long day, we were exhausted and all we wanted was a good night of sleep. As I said, we've spent 5 nights at the hotel, I've had only one good night of sleep. The other 4 were very noisy. You can hear everybody coming in to the hotel, and returning to their rooms. In the morning the noise starts again, because now everybody wants to have breakfast. Since the breakfast is served at 7.30 till 10, we were wakened very early.. I always thought that sleeping was a key-function of a hotel. Well.. It sure isn't at the Colors hotel.
Enough about that! Now the positive sides! The hotel is located at short walking distance of Vatican City and the metro station 'Ottaviano'. From there you will be at the coliseum in no time!
The breakfast is quite nice, they offer good and freshly made bread, various sweet croissants and cake. There's fresh fruit, juices, coffee and warm milk.
We had a room with our own private bathroom, which gave us everything we needed. The room is clean and tidy, the towels and the bed get refreshed every day.

We had a really good time in Rome. All and all the hotel isn't bad, but if you decide to stay there. Make sure you have a room upstairs, even then I expect it to be quite noisy. It's an old building, so don't be surprised if you can hear your neighbours.

1  Thank Jasper M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for having taken your time to leave your comment on Tripadvisor. It means a lot to us. Your reviews help us improve our job.
We are sorry to hear that the noise has been the only problem which has made your stay not completely comfortable and would like to let you know that we are working on improving the noise problem on the reception floor. Anyhow, the fact that you have enjoyed basically everything else about the hotel is delighting to us. Thank you for appreciating the hotel's position, the various breakfast the cleanliness and the services in the room.
Hopefully you will visit us again in the future once noise problems have been improved for a completely comfortable stay.

Best wishes,

Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend recently. The bed was comfortable enough, but the room temperature was pretty warm at night. The room was small but that didn't matter since we were here to see the city for the first time. Had to share a bathroom with the rest of the floor, but never had to wait for it and it was always clean. Really close to the Vatican if that is your main sight to see.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for your stay with us and thank you for spending a few minutes to express your opinion.
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed yourselves at Colors Hotel and have appreciated the cleanliness, the comfort and the position of the hotel.
You're welcome to return at anytime for future visits to Rome.

Best Wishes,

Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We were visiting Italy and wanted to stay one night in the Hotel Colors.
We booked to arive on a thursday and leave on a friday.
Because it was more convinient to arive at friday and leave at saturday we called the hotel. To inform if it was possible to rebook. Because the staff didn't speak english well there was a miscomunication where they tought we wanted to book an extra night.
When we arrived it became clear to us that they missunderstood our phonecall but we were told not to worry. When we went to check out they wanted to charge us for two nights. After a long discussion in wich they admitted that they were wrong and normaly don't book by phone. We payed one night and left. When we came home we recieved our credit card bill and we saw that they charged us with another night. Wich came as a shock to us. After providing the Visa company with the proof we got our amount refunded but all in all I don't think we were not treated correctly by the management.
So one big advise, don't book on the phone with these people.

Besides this incedent we had a good night rest, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was actualy very good. The staff was friendly untill the point they made a mistake then some of them whent rather agressive whilest other remained professional.
The hotel is good value for money so I would still recommend it but only if you book by email :-)

Oh and another tip: ask for a room not on the same floor as where breakfast is served there will be noise (unless you don't want to sleep long). Also ask for a room not next to a public computer. We had some noise from that too. It didn't bother us but i'm sure it will bother others.

Room Tip: Book by email never by phone. Don't book a room next to an internet room there is a chance peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannesroets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

We appreciate that you cared to leave your comment regarding the stay with us, even if months are passed by. There has been no misunderstanding. All the Colors Hotel staff speaks a high level english. As you said, you were supposed to arrive on friday but preferred to arrive on thursday instead. These changes are not possible if the cancellation policy terms are not respected and are not possible over the phone but through the agency which you booked from, or by e-mail. This is the reason why on your check out at the reception you were asked to pay for 2 nights and not just for one. Regarding the charge you saw on your account it was not refunded. This was a pre-authorisation for warranty purposes which means that we block the amount of the first night. This amount gets automatically lifted.
Anyhow we are happy that you appreciated the cleanliness and the breakfast, and hopefully you will have a chance to return for a better experience with us.

Best wishes,

Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We travelled Rome during September 2012.
Very close to the Vatican (and to the bus back to the airport) we really liked the hotel.
The room was nicely decorated and clean (and pretty specious as well).
Breakfast was very nice and there is a sweet balcony outside you can use.
No elevator..
Would love to come again..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tumi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you for taking your time to express your appreciation for the colors, the breakfast and the value.
You're always welcome to return.

Best wishes,

Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

In our stay in Rome January 2013, we stayed in four hotels, with hotel Colors the cheapest of those four. However, we both liked hotel Colors best. So value wise, this hotel is really a great proposition. The receptionist (owner?) did his utmost best to solve any problem you might have and breakfast was not bad. There was only one small problem. As the hotel is located in a apartment building, the reception was rather close to the rooms (and definitely our room, as our room was closest to the reception of all rooms). With all the hard materials in the hallway, we could hear some small noises from the reception desk during the night. But for the rest, there is really nothing wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room far from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Hello,
Thank you so much for appreciating the receptionist's effort to solve problems, the value and the breakfast. We are glad to know that we offer more than higher priced hotels.
You are very welcome to return here for your future trips to Rome.

Best Wishes,
Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#446 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#214 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#345 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#206 of 1,271 in Rome
1,075 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#182 of 1,271 in Rome
694 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#159 of 1,271 in Rome
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colors Hotel

Address: Via Boezio 31 | Rome, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £31 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colors Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful budget hotel in a perfect location in Rome, Hotel Colors offers the visitor a choice of quality double bedrooms as well as simpler dorm or backpacker rooms. This welcoming modern hotel and cheap hostel looks and feels young and bright and is imaginatively decorated with more hues than Michelangelo's palette! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing