We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal”
Review of Colors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colors Hotel
Ranked #243 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a night. Cool atmosphere, clean, colorful, new. Helpful reception. Shared bathroom. Breakfast included. A nice hostel for a very low price, our room was no different than a hotel room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iloveepl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Rome. 5 min away from the Vatican and in walking distance to all the major attractions. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was a bit small but very clean. The breakfast was great. An overall pleasant experience and good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I like the location of this hotel, just 2 minutes walk away from the Vatican, it saves so much time & traffic going to St. Peter's Basilica. Going around the other tourist attractions such as Trevi Fountain & Pantheon, etc. can also be done walking from the hotel. The only downside was that we were given a room on the 3rd floor but there was no lift in this building. We had to carry our luggage by stairs.. :(

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 days while visiting Rome. It's in a great location, 10 minute walk to the Vatican and 10 minute walk to the tube! The room was clean and modern and breakfast was great. The staff was super friendly! I was worried about having a shared toilet but it ended up not being very bad. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brizee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for all the appreciation :). We are looking forward to have you with us in the future.

Best wishes,

Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

excellent service and stay!we arrived later than expected due to a missed flight, but managed to check in and Sylvia was lovely!!Carla was also amazing!very helpful with bus timetables and general info etc.The room was nice with all we needed and very clean!the only minor points were the shared bathroom if you are a bit shy about trudging through the kitchen/dining room to the bathroom.Also the traffic noise if you are in the rooms on the road, but if you have been busy during the day, you will be too tired to notice anyway!the bed was a bit firm for me, but again not a big issue.I would really recommend this due to friendliness of staff, cost, location and overall value.Had a great meal made from local stuff from supermarket 5 mins away.Thank you Colours of Rome!!!again EXCELLENT staff!!!!!

Room Tip: Red room was nice, just a little noisy with road traffic, but beautifully made up for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4balilovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights - not obvious from the road side as the sign outside is tiny. Easy to reach from the tube and only 10 minutes walk from The Vatican. hotel was bright, clean and comfortable. staff were friendly enough & breakfast was pleasant. Breakfast room very cramped as only 7 tables so we had to be there early. Only negative is there is nowhere to get a cup of coffee in the evenings, however welcome drinks in the fridge were very much appreciated. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and thank you for saying such nice words. We do have a coffee machine for hot drinks on the third floor and we are just sorry that we probably weren't that clear in communicating this information to you. Therefore we hope that you will choose us again, and will have the opportunity to enjoy a cup of coffee in the terrace of the third floor in other Roman evenings :)

Best wishes,

Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the hotel arriving end of June.
From the airport, we took the coach that dropped us in Vatican. We arrived in the last evening, and we had problems finding the hotel. We probably walked around the area for 1 hour until we got some good directions.
The hotel is nice, small but very convenient. It has the basic needs for a 2 night stay in the city. We had a little room with a small balcony which was full of fresh flowers.
The breakfast is continental. You get the basic to get you started in the city. the breakfast area is really small so don't go in there with with backpacks. There were croissants, cakes, fruits, platter of cheese and cold cuts, tea, coffee and bread.
Overall, the location of the hotel is very convenient. It's about 5-10 mins walk from Vatican. And from Vatican, you can cross the bridge and walk to all major attractions in Rome. At first my husband and I were going to go on hop on hop off tours, but we ended up walking throughout Rome. It was a very hot and tiring journey but it was all worth it!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome for a few nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room, that's not on the same floor as the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen us and for leaving your opinion about your stay. We are happy to notice that all in all you have enjoyed it mostly. It's great to hear that the room, balcony (flowers included) were a good sight. Also the appreciation on the nice and comfortable location and the breakfast! Sorry to hear you spent some time to find the hotel. Anyhow now that you are familiar with the hotel and the city hopefully will get you back to us if you should come back to Rome.
Last but not least, thank so much for recommending us.

Best wishes,

Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#448 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#216 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#345 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#211 of 1,271 in Rome
1,071 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#196 of 1,271 in Rome
683 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#161 of 1,271 in Rome
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colors Hotel

Address: Via Boezio 31 | Rome, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £33 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colors Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful budget hotel in a perfect location in Rome, Hotel Colors offers the visitor a choice of quality double bedrooms as well as simpler dorm or backpacker rooms. This welcoming modern hotel and cheap hostel looks and feels young and bright and is imaginatively decorated with more hues than Michelangelo's palette! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing