We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but too expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Silva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Silva
Ranked #2,784 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice, but too expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Good location. The staf hardly speak English. Breakfast is quite poor and surved to room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saulejanusonyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    49
    29
    32
    32
See reviews for
38
48
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Good hotel if you get the right room. In other words call up first (Skype). We had room 105 on the first floor.
No elavator.
Extremely friendly staff, even though we speak no Italian.
The woman at the front desk tried to get us a taxi, but to no avail and then just drove us herself to the Termini station for the airport buses!!
Watch out for the restaurant (La Med) below the hotel. It is independent and the cook really had an off day when cooking spagetti. Our spagetti almost 'crackled' when eating it, we paid and left in the middle of the spagetti!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan_Hanna_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

You would almost wish that Basil, Sybil and Manuel were running this hotel when you stay here; at least their comedy routine would go some way to explain the atrocious service that we received. They say that "beauty is on the inside", it however becomes very apparent that once you get past the pretty exterior of Hotel Silva and set your foot steps inside the front door that the ugly truth is revealed: an inadequately equipped room, disgusting food and the most surly, rude staff we have ever come across. Do not book to stay here and that comment is not said lightly.

We arrived early afternoon to find that we had no curtains in our bedroom and our bedroom was overlooked by other buildings and so there was no privacy and the Safety Deposit Box was broken. Granted, bedroom curtains weren't stipulated as an ammenity but neither is a bed but it is assumed that a bedroom will come with them. The safety deposit box was listed. We reported both of the issues, the lady at the front desk didn't seem to know where the curtains were, it was only after more thought she guessed that the cleaners had put them into be cleaned. After booking the hotel 7 months prior to our stay, it is of course understandable that they weren't anticipating our arrival! We were assured that it would be rectified by about 7pm that evening, they weren't and the man in charge at this point showed all the concern for our problem that a fly would, much shoulder shrugging was demonstrated but no apology. The matter of the safety deposit box was dealt with in a similar fashion "it is very safe", well three objections to that statement: I will be the judge of when it is safe to leave a passport and other valuables in my room, if it is that safe then why provide one in the first place and thirdly, given the room keys have to be handed in each time you leave the hotel (yes it is that old fashioned) and are just left on an open shelf in the reception area; hardly Fort Knox.

The following day we went to breakfast, it was included in the price, only to be left very hungry and quite disillusioned at what we were paying for. There were no bowls left for cereal, the milk was warm and sour, the breads came in plastic packaging (the kind you buy at a petrol garage), the tablecloths and chairs were dirty and the room was dull, dark and quite frankly depressing. We did not eat there again.

When it came to pay, the man who did the night shift, the shrugging of the shoulders man asked us to pay the night before we left as we were going out for dinner. He wanted us to pay then as we were leaving the next morning at a time when no one would be at the reception desk (again, good safety measures in place). We explained that given our issues with the hotel and service that we had received that we felt we should get a discount on our stay. Apparently he couldn't authorise such a decision, we had to speak to the proprietor the next day (so suddenly someone would be available!).

The next morning we went to leave and pay the hotel, the proprietor was there ready and waiting to tak our money. Up until the point where we wanted to discuss a reduction in our payment her English was more than adequate. Then some strange event must have occurred because the moment we expressed our concern at the service we had received and felt that paying the full amount would not reflect the stay we experienced, she all of a sudden couldn't speak English! Her attitude and immaturity were astounding. She offered no apology what so ever, even that would have gone some way to appeasing the situation but she simply became the rudest person we had ever met and would urge everyone to come to Rome, just not to Hotel Silva.

Hotel - 2 stars
Staff - 0 stars
No lift.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petitbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Windhoek
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Both my friend and I paid exactly the same for our rooms. My friend had a substantially larger room, better bathroom and even windows! By comparison I had a stuffy room with an aircon unable to counter even the October heat, NO WINDOW except for a skylight which did little to nothing for the heat! The bathroom was tiny to say the least and someone must have smoked in it prior to my arrival so not a place where you'd spend time...

Located right next to the hotel is a small restaurant serving typical Italian food and the (Roman)owner even took my (Italian) friend to show her how he prepared a certain, very tasty dish in the kitchen. Apparently something you don't get in Milan. The restaurant is basically the only option for dinner in the immediate area but can be recommended.

The hotel itself has no parking but providing you find space around the area parking seems free from around 20:00 to 08:00 the next day, so find a spot, pull up and walk a minute or two.

The map at the back of the hotel's business card I found close to useless, but could relate to my lack of direction. An apparent 5 minute walk from the Metro station for me turned into an hour 45 minute during which I met yet another person looking for her hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Excellent accommodation in a beautifully appointed room in a quiet area though only a few minutes walk to Piazza Bologna and the splendid Roma Metro system. Staff were exceptionally kind and solicitous and a 5 night stay was ended with some disappointment at having to leave such a friendly spot. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank connollyjp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

The hotel in very quite and nice place. The place is only about 3 km from the center. One can go to most of the attractions with only one bus (62). This will make life easy when you have baby-car (Kinderwagen). The rooms are air conditioned with beutiful style. The rooms are big and clean. pathrooms also are very clean and nice. The brakefast is what i used to in the German hotels, it is quite littel but it taste nice. But I heard that is the normal brake fast in the Italian hotels. I recommend the hotel, specaily to families, or to married people, it is romantic.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

Poor service, had to relocate to another hotel due to the hotel over booking, tables very dirty at breakfast and not cleared, no waiter staff visible. Telephones in the hotel were not working. No clock in bedrooms, had to carry bag up and down stairs, hotel has no lift, on check out staff couldn't work the ATM/EFTPOS machine, delaying check out time. Staff appeared to ignore guests who were waitng to be served at reception. I left early.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank february86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#976 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Hotel Laura
#616 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Hotel Giotto
#1,091 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antico Acquedotto
#1,042 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Hotel San Giusto
#1,106 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Hotel Cilicia
#494 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silva

Property: Hotel Silva
Address: Via Antonio Bosio 20-A, 00161 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,784 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silva 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Silva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silva Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing