We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is like borrowing an apartment from a good...”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious and elegant living room, with three windows for natural light.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious and elegant living room, with three windows for natural light.
Living room - spacious and light, with modern furniture and beautiful artwork. Living room - a great place to relax at the end of the day!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Spacious and elegant living room, with three windows for natural light.
Living room - spacious and light, with modern furniture and beautiful artwork.
Living room - a great place to relax at the end of the day!
Living room - includes satellite tv, DVD player, Rome-themed DVDs, & iPod dock.
Dining room with glass table (seats six), overlooking Via della Mercede.
Dining room (it's also a terrific place to work on the computer).
Looking out the dining room window ...
Entry foyer, including our library -- with tons of books on Rome!
Entry foyer, looking into the living room (left) and dining room (right).
Bedroom one, with new, comfortable king-size bed. Air conditioning in bedroom.
Comfy king-sized bed in bedroom one.
Bedroom one has a work space with laptop (complimentary wifi) and printer.
Bedroom two, with two new, comfortable twin beds. Air conditioning in bedroom.
Bedroom two, with clock radio (with iPhone dock)
Fully equipped kitchen with microwave, coffee makers, dishwasher, washer/dryer.
Fully equipped kitchen with an oven, 2-burner gas stove, refrigerator/freezer.
Bathroom one, with a tub/shower, done in sparkling glass tiles.
Bathroom two, with small glass shower, done in sparkling glass tiles.
Hallway, looking toward bathroom one.
On the building across from us, where Bernini once lived. the Lion of St. Mark.
Walter Scott memorial on the building across from us.
Our street, with little cafes and restaurants, and a church with Bernini angels!
Our street: wide sidewalks, one lane/one way traffic, no parking in front of our palazzo ...
The Spanish Steps, just a few minutes' walk away!
Floor plan -  bedrooms are on side of palazzo, living and dining rooms face Via della Mercede
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesley B
Broxbourne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This is like borrowing an apartment from a good friend.”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

From first enquiry to the pick up to return to the airport it felt as if we were being looked after by good friends. The owner, David, really cares about the quality of your holiday and wants to make sure you have the best possible time. The apartment is spacious, cool and comfortable and in an ideal location for walking to most of the major sights. It feels like, and is, a home from home where the owners themselves chill out and revel in this gorgeous city. The information provided is excellent and we took advantage of David's deep knowledge of the city and its attractions. He has spent many years living in and visiting Rome and the apartment is full of touches that only one who knows it well could provide. For example, the patrons of the local restaurant can get a little rowdy at night so there is a 'white noise machine' that plays you soothing surf sounds to help you sleep! This was also useful because our visit coincided with a gathering of hundreds of Harley Davidson owners who were in the city to celebrate 110 years since the founding of the company. They like to ride the streets at night!
Everything worked perfectly - the airport pick up is great and Rosie, the guest services manager was warm and friendly. It was good to know she was just a phone call away if anything had gone wrong. Luckily, nothing did. We would recommend getting her to arrange the return trip to the airport as it is reasonably priced and reliable.
We cannot recommend this apartment highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was brilliant
Liked least: The bathroom is a short walk from the bedroom. Hardly important!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VA
Reviewed 31 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig S
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only place to stay in Rome!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed t the Spanish Steps Apartment over Xmas 2012 for 5 nights. From the first contact I had with David regarding the apartment, the level of communication was outstanding and gave me great confidence that we would be in for a great stay in Rome. Well, we were not disappointed. In fact the apartment is even better than the photos on the web suggest. The specially prepared information booklet, the Rome guide books and the DVD collection that all had a roman perspective were all wonderful attention to detail. We were met on arrival at the rain station by the car a arranged as part of our stay (included in rental) and taken to the apartment where Rosie the manager greeted us with a panettone and a fridge filled with some essentials. She explained all aspects of the apartment and was available if we needed her on mobile (which we didn't). The location is perfect and central to everything in Rome. We caught the subway only once and walked the rest of the time. Whilst not the cheapest apartment in Rome you get what you pay for; top shelf quality and I can't recommend it highly enough

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and location
Liked least: Wi FI a bit slow at times
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bellingham Washington
Reviewed 29 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
susiegio
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect home away from home”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My famiy had the pleasure of staying at the Spanish Steps Apartment September 20th through October 1st, 2012. The apartment suited ALL of our needs. It was perfectly located within walking distance of most everything. We were pleasantly surprised that the apartment was much larger than we had expected. The apartment was actually nicer than the online photos depicted! It is evident that David has put a lot of thought into all of the details that make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We emailed David with travel questions while we were in Rome and he answered them very promptly. What a lifesaver! David's book of recommendations in the living room was wonderful. We went to many of the fabulous restaurants he had listed and he was "spot on" about every one of them. Rosie was also wonderful to work with. She arranged all of our transports to and from the airport on several different occasions. We used the apartment as our home base while we traveled throughout Italy and Germany. It was so nice to have our apartment to come home to.
Without hesitation, we would stay at the Spanish Steps Apartment again! Thank you David!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location! Internet and computer. The white noise machine was great!
Liked least: We could have used more bathroom towels.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing