We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great food”
Review of Caffe Cecere

Caffe Cecere
Ranked #4,951 of 12,523 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Trevi
Roma
1 review
“Great place, great food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It worked miracle: booked groupon dinner for 2 at this tiny, 20-feet-from Fontana di Trevi - restaurant. The guys were nice and friendly from the very beginning till the end. Helpful with choosing dish, patient and precise with answers, then basically teleporting the food to the tables when ready.
Place is rather tiny which is usual for that central area in Rome, but therefore conferred a "like home"-feeling... who would prefer large mensa type dining hall to an intimate one like that?
Products served are best quality, freshly cooked and basically very tasty. Only the escalope in wine sauce was rather unsalty, but oil, balsamico and salt were at one`s will so no problem with that.
If there was any problem at all, that was the bathroom which was not the cleanest of all and only one unit. They should ad value on that piece.
One in all, if you want a good restaurant at the heart of Rome, with nice friendy helpful personnel, good typical italian food, get to visit Ristorante Cecere at Fontana di Trevi!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Mytable.it

Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    99
    50
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The worst in our Italy trip”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We've been in Italy for 10 days and I have to say this is the worst one. We were a bit tired and thirsty in the afternoon and decided to have some coffee. The waiter asked us to get out because we just ordered drink and he need the table (to make more money). But it was 3:30pm with several vacant tables. This was my first and only time being asked to get out during 10 days trip. I can't imagine how this restaurant can survive. I am leaving this comment for those who are just going for a drink in the afternoon. Never choose this one unless you have enough money and an empty stomach to please the waiter.

Helpful?
Thank imzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If not good I pay ha ha.”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It`s what the guy at the door told us to convince us walk inside for lunch. The place is ok but knowing it was right next to Fontana Di Trevi we did expect some tricks for the tourist. It turned out to be rather good although not anything excellent. By the way the host did not ask if it was good or not he was just interested in filling our vacant table as soon as possible.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denizli Province, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff, best location”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

When we saw this place for the first time, it was very crowded. We could not find a place. The receptionist recommended us to eat at crowdy places. That was correct. The place is not too big. But the atmosphere is not boring. The food was good. We ate sea fruit and pasta. The prices are ok. The waiters are friendly and helpful. We got good advise about italian wines. The have a working free wi fi. We chose a restaurant once because of free wi fi sticker. After we ordered food, the internet password did not work. But in Da Cecere it worked without problem. We had good time with good food.

Helpful?
Thank EH T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming, Friendly and Lovely Food”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great restaurant! Really relaxed atmosphere with absolutely delicious food at excellent prices. Opens late too so perfect for anyone like us that landed late and went out for a late dinner. Good, timely service and free Wifi which is always a plus.

Only thing I found that would be in any way objectionable though it didn't bother me is it is a little cramped and basic decor but these are definitely not deal breakers.

I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Caffe Cecere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing