We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Ranked #29 of 1,166 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The website made it seem like there was a great bar downstairs but when we got there it was pretty small and crowded. They also say that you get free pizza at night but it's basically a free for all so if you're not there fighting to get some you don't get any.

I also got my wallet stolen in the hostel and the people who worked there were unbelievably rude and didn't help me at all. Actually, the only thing they did was give me my credit card information from their computer without asking for ID... in other words anyone could have just gone up to them and asked for credit card info without having to prove their identity.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbyers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2010

The hostel is in a good location but we did have a few problems. First they put 6 of us in a 3 bedroom dorm instead of a 6 bed dorm, this actually had better facilities but was too small. They told us that we had to move rooms because there was a problem with bed-bugs.
The larger room had shutters which they wouldnt let us open & then couldnt find the key to open them for us. It was boiling hot as well. The shower in the room was small & there was a drain smell which came into the room every day.
Make sure you take your ear-plugs if you are on a room facing the road.

There is a great pizza place just 1 minute away which they weigh for you & you pay by weight, also a good restaurant over the road.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

One of the best places ... I always go there when I'm in Rome, nd I absolutely recommend it to everyone!!!!

Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
Thank fgomez1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Take the shuttle bus 4 euro from the airport and arrive at Termini Train & Bus Station (25mins). 5 mins walk and easy to find hostel (see hostel for details).Very friendly and informative check-in. We arrived early and left our bags in storrage. Our 4 bed (2 bunk beds) female only dorm was on the 3rd floor (phew lots of steps). Very clean room, small but adequate shower, toilet and wash basin ensuite (hair dryer on wall). Towels cost 2 euro each to lend. Bar does not open till 7pm, a large beer is 3 euros, bottle of wine 5 euros. Free pizza slices at 8.30pm each night - can be busy. Machine for snacks, change & locks etc. Internet room with 6 computers, free 30 mins use each day.FREE Breakfast 7.30-10am in the bar - bread buns, butter n jam, coco pops and milk, coffee, chocolate, tea n juice.
Restaurant across the road, round the corner and up the street, all near by. Or try the Termini train station: Steak house, Pizzariera, Bar, Macdonald etc. Also clothes, stationary, toiletry and supermarket shops under the station - all modern.
Go on the organised walking tours either the Historic Rome 12 euro or the Vactican City 16 euro. Our tour guide was Aqgusta the yoga man! 4 hours of his knowledge and wit was great - you see the things you would not see! He will show you good geleto and pizza. He is good at jumping the queues! He was a delight to be around.
The downside to this hotel - no lounge area to slouch in and read a book! Basic kitchen for cooking. No lift.
We can recommend this hostel to both the young and more mature traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppytigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

This place was great. It's within walking distance to Termini Station and you can go anywhere in Rome from there - subway, bus, cabs, Tour Buses, etc. They also have an affiliation with some nearby restaurants so you get discounts if you're staying at Alessandro.

The rooms are also very nice. The beds were comfy (although a bit noisy), and the private bathroom/showers were very nice and clean. Having the bar downstairs was great too for meeting fellow travelers and having a place to hang out and relax. Rome is an amazing city and staying here can truly enhance your stay. A big fat recommendation from me!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

This is a hostel and with that in mind, it's a really good value for the money. I stayed one night at the beginning of my trip and one night at the end. The first night in Room 14 for $16 Euro, the last in Room 19 for $18 Euro. Both were 6-bed female only.

The rooms were clean and had enough space for my things as well as small lockable cubbies that fit a regular size backpack - bring your own lock. Room 14's shower water did not get hot even though I let it run as they suggested. Room 19 was a little bit bigger and the bathroom a tiny bit bigger as well with plenty of hot water. The hostel provides a sheet, pillow and case, and comforter. The temperature of the rooms were comfortable.

A simple breakfast is provided (bread, jam, cereal, and juice + coffee) as well as free pizza nightly at 8:30pm. I was never around for the pizza, but heard you need to be there right when it arrives to get a piece. The hostel offers 30 min of free internet access per day as well as walking maps of Rome and a nice area to store your luggage before or after checkout. They only accept cash and ask for a $5 Euro deposit for your room key which is returned when you check out and return your key.

I saw lots of young people as you would expect in a hostel, but I also saw a family staying here with two small children. It can get a little noisy if you're on a lower floor and the bar is full of people, but it's not too bad. There is no elevator though, so if you have a higher floor and heavy bags, be prepared to haul them up. The staff is friendly and helpful with directions to various sites and the location is very convenient to Termini Station . . . about a 5-10 min walk. The neighborhood doesn't have a lot nearby, but I always felt safe as a single woman walking at night.

I heard the other Alessandro properties aren't a nice, but Alessandro Palace was a really good value and very convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OpEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

It was like staying in a dorm room. There was a two twin beds and a bunk bed. The bathroom was really nice. There was a bar a few floors down if you looked out the balcony. Me and my sister spent the night making animals noises to with the drunk people all night. No towels, you have to bring your own.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank SamanthaJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#15 of 1,166 in Rome
982 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,166 in Rome
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#73 of 1,166 in Rome
277 reviews
Esquilino
Palladini Hostel Rome
Palladini Hostel Rome
#56 of 1,166 in Rome
1,081 reviews
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#2 of 1,166 in Rome
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alessandro Palace Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alessandro Palace Hostel

Address: Via Vicenza 42, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,166 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £14 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alessandro Palace Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alessandro Palace Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing