We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home that you won't want to leave.”
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #6 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home that you won't want to leave.”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Beehive is a warm, friendly and homely hostel - a real home away from home that I didn't want to leave.
There is an amazing cafe that specialises in organic, vegetarian food and is GF friendly - a rarity in Italy!
Rooms were clean and bathroom facilities were great. It's not a party hostel by any means, so if you are looking for that, than I suggest staying elsewhere.
I was also fortunate enough to book a massage at the hostel from a masseuse that comes by regularly for guests. I can highly recommend getting a massage, well worth the 30 euros.
I will definitely stay here again if I return to Rome and have recommended this place to many friends and family.

Room Tip: Make sure you book in advance as there are a limited number of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyneal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    234
    43
    4
    11
See reviews for
133
307
199
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I've stayed in many budget accommodations in Rome through the years, including a number of shared room hotels around Termini, private room hotels and the main AYH facility in the former Olympic dorms. On my last trip, a friend told me about this one: There is no question that this is the place to stay for the budget traveler coming to Rome and looking for a mellow, charming experience. Arriving fresh into Termini can be stressful, chaotic and overwhelming, even for the experienced Rome traveler, but convenience often makes staying around there a necessity. Just a brief stroll from the station, The Beehive was an oasis, the staff was kind and helpful, the rooms quiet, the showers private. They even have their own city guide that they offer. It felt like coming home. Bravissimo! My only regret was not getting a space for my entire stay. Book early!

Room Tip: I'm not that familiar with the layout. For couples, go for the private apartments. The main loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlafranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,580 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11,992 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed twice in The Beehive during our recent 2 week trip to Italy. We stayed in one of their apartments 6 years ago and opted for their hotel rooms this time. As before we were not disappointed, and were quite pleased with everything.

We booked a double room with shared bathroom, reservations made by email. Linda was very helpful with recommendations even prior to our arrival to Rome. She sent a copy of their food guide, organised by district, which we found very useful in finding decent restaurants and bars in the city.

The hotel has a good location, about 5-15 minutes walking distance to Termini station and the following sites: Sta Maria Maggiore Church, Diocletian baths, Massimo Museum and the splendid Sta Maria della Vittoria. Staff were helpful and friendly, with ready recommendations.

In both instances of our stay, we found the rooms to be spacious and nicely appointed, included a sink, and were adequately heated during winter. The tiled floor got cold though. The safe was large and accommodated all our documents and electronics. Typical double bed of 2 single beds which were comfortable, nice bed linen and soft pillows providing us with very good sleep. The walls are a bit thin so you can hear people talking in the halls and in the adjacent dorm room but this was not frequent and we didn't find it a problem. There was free wifi in the room.

The toilets and showers were always clean, and we never had to wait to use them.

There is a very cozy lounge and a lovely little cafe downstairs which have a personal and homey feel. In fact, we did feel, returning for a last night's stay in Italy, that The Beehive was our home! The items in the cafe were fairly priced and we enjoyed their wine and cheese platter very much.

For us The Beehive was a wonderful base for exploring Rome and exacted our needs; we were out touring Rome most of the day and The Beehive provided a well-located, comfortable and secure place to sleep and shower, and came with a reasonable price tag. The phrase "boutique backpacking" comes to mind. While the rooms are basic, they are not spartan and have a contemporary look, but more importantly, are very comfortable.

We would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Everyone should consider staying inThe Beehive when they are in Rome! Fantastic Room conditions! Fantastic Location, Great Staffs, Great Breakfast Cafe.. what more can you ask! Great Value. Rooms are spacious & clean. Friendly other tourist as well... Fanstastico!!! I super duper love the living room where you can enjoy wifi, read books, chill with out guest... this is truly home away from home! Thank you Steve, Linda, Francesca & all the staffs who made my 3 night stay there Great! In Rome there is the Colleseum, The Vatican, The Borghese Gallery, The Trevi Fountain and of coz, there is The Bee Hive..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javafudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My first stay at the Beehive, jetting in for a quick w/e. Hotel perfectly situated near the termini, stayed in a private room, not dorm. Staff were really friendly and super helpful 24/7, lovely little cafe area downstairs. Spent the whole w/e tramping round the city, and more valuable than any lonely planet was the fantastic guidebook that Linda & Steve have prepared, what better way to find a restaurant than to have a list of "favourites" drawn up by locals? A superb guide of bars, cafes, ice-cream bars, places to see....very thoughtful and shows how much they love this city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, Calfornia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My 24 year old daughter and I stayed at The Beehive in Rome in a private room in January for my 50th birthday. I was so impressed with the accommodations as I've not stayed in a hostel before. I choose a private room with shared bathroom - there were at least 3 full bathrooms within 10 steps of our room so I never felt like I was sharing. In addition there was a sink in our room which was very convenient. Everything about the place was perfect; two blocks from Rome's Termini station; clean, comfortable and stylish rooms with amazing sheets and blankets, great breakfast and coffee/tea selection. So easy to get any where in the city either by foot or public transportation. We found this to be our favorite place in all of Italy. They go beyond what they have to, to offer suggestions for restaurants - from a quick slice of pizza to some of the best food in all of Italy.
We originally booked for 3 nights in Rome but ended up staying 6 as it was just that good! We will certainly be back to The Beehive Rome on our next visit to Italy.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with two single beds with a sink in the room and a shared bathroom; the beds we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed in the Beehive hostel. It was very clean and pleasant. The beds were comfortable and reasonably priced. Can't beat the location, so close to termini.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,256 in Rome
1,272 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,093 in Rome
2,069 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#30 of 1,093 in Rome
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Property: The Beehive
Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing