We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Humming happily at the Beehive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #6 of 1,067 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Humming happily at the Beehive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I reserved a week at the Beehive at the suggestion of a friend. I stayed in one of the classic rooms during that time, a private room down the hall. It was one of the best decisions I made during my 5 week Italy adventure. The bed was large and comfortable, there was adequate storage for all my possessions, the sink in the room was very handy, and the Beehive staff was very friendly and responsive. The fabulous cafe downstairs made it completely unnecessary to look for most meals - and it was so inexpensive for such high quality organic fare! The location was perfect for me, as I used the metro and even the open double decker bus one day when a friend visited me from Florence. All transportation options are right there and easy to use. It was like a home away from home in a very real way.
I took a short trip to Sicily and came back to stay two nights in the 'hive'. There are eight beds, and though they were all filled, it was still a very pleasant experience. I think all the best people stay at the Beehive!
Thank you Linda, Steve, Aimee and Gian Luca for a most memorable and delightful experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brynberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    231
    43
    4
    11
See reviews for
129
299
190
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed here 2 different times during our italy trip. Staff was extremely helpful and had great restaurant recommendations. Both times we were there on a Saturday night and got to have a wonderful vegetarian meal by Amy. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a hotel near Termini.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz305111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peshastin, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

During my stay in Rome, Italy I reserved a room for two different nights at The Beehive Hotel and Cafe. When my husband and I arrived we were welcomed by Yuli at the reception desk. She was so helpful with our sight seeing and transportation needs. The Beehive is located two/three blocks from the Termini station which is so convenient. We had a delicious breakfast to start off our day. Our room was spacious and decorated in relaxing colors. I highly recommend the Beehive to everyone......I planned my trip several months ago and got very stressed not knowing what to expect. I felt at ease after talking to Yuli and Francesca, they are very knowledgeable. We hope to visit Italy again in the future and stay at The Beehive Hotel and Cafe. Kudos to you all! Marie A.......Peshastin, WA USA

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are convenient to the computer room and cafe.....also when you have a early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon7750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeist, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

For us, staying at the Beehive really made our visit to Rome that much better. The atmosphere of the hostel is stylish yet comfotable, the facilities excellent, the staff friendly and helpful and the food was great (and strictly organic!) Yes, there is some (very minimal) noice from traffic, but that is to be expecte in the heart of busy Rome and our windows were doublepaned. We stayed in a double room on the Via Maghera, a stone's throw away from Termini stationand therefore the ideal location from which to explore Rome AND not having to stress too much to catch a train or plain in the morning. There is a lush garden where you can comfortably rest your feet for a while and drink a glass of wine or beer, taking a comfortable break from the chaos of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Our place was acacia which was the other side of termini from their main building. We had a shared shower, toilet and kitchen facility. Saved a lot cooking by ourselves. Plus market is only 1.5 block away, big plus.
Place is a bit noisy from all the restaurants on the street and tram goes past till late night and starts early morning. I sleep well even with those but my wife had some trouble.
It was like a minute walk to termini and metro. Also only about 10 minutes to Colosseo. We walked to colosseo pretty much every night we were there.
Only 4 rating because of noise but was a great place to stay. Wouldn't mind going there again.

Room Tip: Off site rooms, acacia, were pretty good only 3 rooms sharing the facility. If you like to cook your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Luke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Chose this hostel based on a Lonely Planet Encounter recommendation, and I couldn't be more pleased!

Online enquiry and booking were a breeze as Francesca was very prompt and helpful in her replies. She even helped me with a list of possible walking tours to join and things to do in Rome.

The hostel is located very near to the termini and in a very safe area. Food and supermarket are found nearby. I stayed in the dorm for a night and a private room for 2 nights. All guests were considerate and friendly, no issues with using the bathroom, WiFi was steady and fast.

I'll definitely stay here again if I ever head back to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a great stay here, we were trying to save our pennies, so we were in a dorm room and it was lovely. The outside courtyard was a peaceful place to chill out and escape the business of Rome in summer. The breakfast was fabulous, so healthy and fresh (good when dinner was mostly pizza and pasta). We would definitely stay here again if we were in Rome! The staff were lovely and really helpful. Really close to the train station, a very convenient location.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,375 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,935 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#20 of 1,067 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Property: The Beehive
Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,067 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing