We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting the bar high for hostelling!”
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #4 of 1,100 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Setting the bar high for hostelling!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My friend and I stayed at The Hive section of The Beehive at the end of March for 6 nights. We have never been hostelling before and we really think this has set the bar high! The shared room was a decent size, very clean with sturdy lockers to put your things in. The Beehive itself is very stylish but relaxed (the good kind!). We had breakfast at the café there everyday and they have a great variety of things and were able to cater for me being gluten free. (: We found that it's location was great for us as well, close to the station for arrival and departure with heavy luggage! There's also a few nice restaurants close by which is very convenient. The staff were lovely and always asked us what we had done that day and were great at giving advice on what to see and when. We could definitely recommend you stay here and we would love to come back again one day! (:

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    236
    43
    4
    11
See reviews for
136
309
199
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is our second stay at this little oasis by the bustling Termini. We like it for the ease in transport connections, the proximity to restaurants and attractions and the helpful staff. Our small room was quiet and clean and the addition of the in-room safe and WiFi this time around were added bonuses. We didn't throw a coin in the fountain this time but we do hope to be back again in the near future!

Room Tip: We got a court yard facing room and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After staying in The Beehive in 2012 in one of their dorms, I returned with my family this year and stayed in The Clover self-catered apartments. The location can't be beat, as it it's a five-minute walk from Termini, which is easy to get to from Fiumicino Airport via the Leonardo Express train. Our apartment had 5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a spacious and well-equipped kitchen. Even though we were close to some bustling Roman streets, it was always quiet in The Clover. Staff were helpful, the kitchen and bathrooms were cleaned daily, good wifi, etc. If I'm back in Rome, I will definitely be returning here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Travelling in Italy with friends, the Beehive was an oasis of peace in the busy city of Rome. The welcome was charming, the room airy and comfortable with lovely handmade soap and a generous supply of fluffy towels. The availability of a community dining area with kettle, fridge and all the crockery and cutlery you could need made the whole stay a most pleasant experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed at The Beehive with my daughter and a friend. It was fantastic. Friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast cooked to order. Although it was so near to the termini it was quiet and very secure. I would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the beehive. We stayed in one of the private rooms with a shared bathroom. It is a nice well maintained hostel and much cheaper than other options in rome. The location is alright your a bit away from the nice areas of the city and the neighborhood is just ok. You are near the main train station so you can jump on Rome's metro. The staff are friendly and it has a pretty outside patio garden were you can escape The busy city.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were recommended to the Beehive by friends staying there for 3 nights and found it to be excellent value.
We had a room in the Sweets which had 2 single beds but the hotel put a good quality temporary bed in for our daughter as well.
Firstly it is only 1 street away from where the airport bus drops you off, so just a short walk with bags and your are there.
It is in a great location to explore Rome and is in a nice quiet road that is well lit and feels safe ( like the rest of Rome actually.)
The room was no frills, spacious, very clean and there was a large central area if you wanted to cook/ make tea. With tea bags etc provided.
The cafe was good for the one breakfast we had there and the best recommendation I can give is too speak to the owners. We had a long chat about restaurants, scenic walks and ice cream parlours. They sent us to some very good and reasonably priced places!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,258 in Rome
1,297 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#17 of 1,100 in Rome
838 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#12 of 1,100 in Rome
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Beehive

Property: The Beehive
Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,100 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing