We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a nice establishment close to the station.”
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #6 of 1,121 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a nice establishment close to the station.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have stayed here before and found it to be a great little place on a budget. This time we were place in a sweet around the corner and were pleasantly surprised.
The room has a balcony onto the street a lift to save you dragging bags up the stairs and the room is good size. The bathroom is modern style and very neat and tidy.
There is a common room to relax in outside your room and a complimentary IPad to use.
We chose an air cond room at an extra cost but to me was worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side road without any noise problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    236
    43
    4
    11
See reviews for
136
311
200
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Enjoyed my stay at the Beehive. The staff were very helpful and the room was just fine for me. It was quiet and comfortable. It was near several good restaurants and just two blocks from Termini station which is a transportation hub. I did not need a taxi to take me to the train station when I was ready to travel elsewhere in Italy. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 42CaroleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed in the dorm here and it was lovely. Clean, big and airy. Personal lights and pockets to put things by your bed were a great extra touch. Staff were lovely. Garden was great and hotel had a lovely tranquil vibe. Cafe was excellent, had breakfast there every morning. Cheap, yummy healthy food. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyS92P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Accommodations were very sparse and simple (I had a single room with private bath in The Sweets); however, the Beehive provides a friendly (both eco and human!) environment for weary travelers looking for conversation with other travelers and easy access to train station. I would recommend this place to anyone on a budget looking for comfort and ease.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carita6727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I cannot compliment this place enough! I stayed in the dorm room which had 8 beds but the room was huge so you didn't feel like you were suffocated (i've been in hostels where they made me claustrophobic). Great location as it's minutes away from Roma Termini and the staff was very informative and friendly! If i ever come back to Rome the Beehive is definitely the place i'm staying.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaBella17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our family of three spent three nights at the Beehive in early May. Our first night was in the 8 bed mixed dorm, and the last two nights we were in the Sweets.

The staff was extremely helpful. They provided us with sound advice for the way to spend our time in Rome in order to make best use of our time and see the main sights. And they knew where we could walk to the best gelateria in Rome. We got to Come Il Latte every night.

The dorm room worked out fine for us. There were enough shared bathroom facilities so that contention was never an issue. The dorm room was clean and there was adequate lockable storage space. The other travelers who shared the space with us were courteous and quiet. At the same time, we were able to connect with others to share experiences. Just like in any hostel environment.

The Sweets were very nice. We had a large room, with an extra roll-away bed. We had our own private bath, and the room had a balcony with enough room for two to sit out and get fresh air.

The location was close to Termini, and hence, close to transportation in any direction. Breakfast was not included with the room rate, but was available on-site for an extra charge. I had a made-to-order omelet that was great. But she had run out of toast. Lesson learned: if you want breakfast, don't sleep in too long.

The Sweets were just a few Euros more per person per night. That room was an excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mileswis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very comfortable. The American owners have created environmentally friendly accommodations for tourists in Rome. The owner was very friendly and directed us to several great restaurants and unusual sights. It is located near Roma Termini which has access to the metro and trains. The cafe downstairs has great food and actually offers milk alternatives. The only downside is having a shared bathroom, but there was a sink in the room.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Celeste H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaatTheBeehive, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Celeste H, thank you very much for your kind words - I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. One thing I did want to clarify for any potential guests reading your review is that while we do have private rooms with shared bathroom like the one you stayed in, we also have private rooms with private bathroom. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review and we do hope you'll stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Rome. All the best, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,264 in Rome
1,329 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,264 in Rome
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#17 of 1,121 in Rome
856 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#12 of 1,121 in Rome
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Property: The Beehive
Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,121 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing