We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well run, clean, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #6 of 1,088 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well run, clean, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Recently we stayed at the Beehive in Rome, and it was a great experience. We rented two rooms in "The Sweets" for our family of 5. Each room had a private bath and a small balcony. The location is very close to the Termini which made it easy for arriving and departing, as well as heading out to Rome through the metro. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the cost of the rooms was quite reasonable. The staff recommended a nice family restaurant next to The Sweets--maybe The Regina?--and we ate there a couple of times along with non-touristy types. Check the case in the middle of the restaurant to see what they have on offer for lunch. The roast chicken is delicious as is the lasagna. Also, you can purchase a bottle of good wine from the Beehive's front desk. If you are staying at The Sweets there is a very pleasant common room with a fridge, large table, dishes and cutlery but no cooking appliances. Good for takeout or easy breakfasts of fruit, yogurt, etc.The Beehive's online and printed guide to Rome was extremely helpful both for planning our trip and while we were there, and they provided a communal iPad on site too. Our only complaints were:that the breakfast at the Cafe was a little overpriced, and that charging extra for air conditioning (an extra 10 euros per night, per room) during the hot Roman summer seemed a bit steep. Otherwise we were very happy with our stay and plan to return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justatraveler926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    231
    43
    4
    11
See reviews for
130
299
192
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have stayed here before and found it to be a great little place on a budget. This time we were place in a sweet around the corner and were pleasantly surprised.
The room has a balcony onto the street a lift to save you dragging bags up the stairs and the room is good size. The bathroom is modern style and very neat and tidy.
There is a common room to relax in outside your room and a complimentary IPad to use.
We chose an air cond room at an extra cost but to me was worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side road without any noise problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Enjoyed my stay at the Beehive. The staff were very helpful and the room was just fine for me. It was quiet and comfortable. It was near several good restaurants and just two blocks from Termini station which is a transportation hub. I did not need a taxi to take me to the train station when I was ready to travel elsewhere in Italy. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 42CaroleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed in the dorm here and it was lovely. Clean, big and airy. Personal lights and pockets to put things by your bed were a great extra touch. Staff were lovely. Garden was great and hotel had a lovely tranquil vibe. Cafe was excellent, had breakfast there every morning. Cheap, yummy healthy food. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyS92P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Accommodations were very sparse and simple (I had a single room with private bath in The Sweets); however, the Beehive provides a friendly (both eco and human!) environment for weary travelers looking for conversation with other travelers and easy access to train station. I would recommend this place to anyone on a budget looking for comfort and ease.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carita6727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I cannot compliment this place enough! I stayed in the dorm room which had 8 beds but the room was huge so you didn't feel like you were suffocated (i've been in hostels where they made me claustrophobic). Great location as it's minutes away from Roma Termini and the staff was very informative and friendly! If i ever come back to Rome the Beehive is definitely the place i'm staying.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaBella17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our family of three spent three nights at the Beehive in early May. Our first night was in the 8 bed mixed dorm, and the last two nights we were in the Sweets.

The staff was extremely helpful. They provided us with sound advice for the way to spend our time in Rome in order to make best use of our time and see the main sights. And they knew where we could walk to the best gelateria in Rome. We got to Come Il Latte every night.

The dorm room worked out fine for us. There were enough shared bathroom facilities so that contention was never an issue. The dorm room was clean and there was adequate lockable storage space. The other travelers who shared the space with us were courteous and quiet. At the same time, we were able to connect with others to share experiences. Just like in any hostel environment.

The Sweets were very nice. We had a large room, with an extra roll-away bed. We had our own private bath, and the room had a balcony with enough room for two to sit out and get fresh air.

The location was close to Termini, and hence, close to transportation in any direction. Breakfast was not included with the room rate, but was available on-site for an extra charge. I had a made-to-order omelet that was great. But she had run out of toast. Lesson learned: if you want breakfast, don't sleep in too long.

The Sweets were just a few Euros more per person per night. That room was an excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mileswis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,088 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#32 of 1,088 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Property: The Beehive
Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,088 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing