We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$937
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$477
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
51
112
58
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
112
58
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish stepstrevi fountainwooden liftgreat locationreception team arethe major tourist attractionsair conan ironcharming hoteldouble bedwithin walking distancecentre of romebreakfast roomthree nightsfew minutes walkvisit romemetro station
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

On arrival a receptionist handed us a key and left us to it.
The room was bland and completely lacking of anything, a piece of art in a frame would have made the difference. No fridge or drinking facilities which ok I guess we might have known before. Beds were comfy and the location of the hotel is on its side. Breakfast was poor unless you like sweet cakes and croissants every day.
I asked one of the reception staff how much it would be by taxi to the Vatican museum to which he shook his head and said he didn't know - helpful indeed.
The lift may not be to everyone's cup of tea small and narrow but its kinda cute.
Overall I wouldn't stay here again I think there are better places. However the gelato just to the left of the hotel is fabulous !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

at the top of an old roman palace and through a smallish elevator a cozy place run by two lovely roman ladies and their 4 lovely dogs ! small utmostly clean fully equipped , elegantly furnished rooms ! do not expect a flashy american styled place ! this hotel is typically italian , full of locals !the location is great right between the spanish steps and fontana di trevi ! breakfast is ok ! enjoy this hotel just like i do each time i fly to wonderful rome for bizz and pleasure !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t2803h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My partner and I stayed here several months ago and were very happy with our stay. The hotel really is excellently located with many attractions in close proximity, as well as a gelato parlour across the street with some of the best gelato i've ever tasted!
We would leave early in the morning and return at night so never did much else other than sleep and eat breakfast. If you are looking for a holiday where you spend most of your time around the hotel using its facilities then this may not be the place for you, as I don't believe the hotel offers a great deal of these. However with the whole of Rome to explore I can't understand why you'd want to spend all your time cooked up indoors. If you are the latter (like my partner and I were) then the City Hotel has everything you need.
The staff are polite and accomodating whilst the rooms are simple yet idilic and very clean. Breakfast consists mainly of sweet cakes, pastries, cereal and pate. You are welcome to eat as much as you like and I particularly enjoyed the contrast between the sweet pastry and rich pate.
Much has been said about the noise although I certainly didn't find it a problem and we were looking over the main street, which although busy is usually only single file traffic.
The City Hotel offers all the essentials at a high standard with a reasonable price - leaving you free to enjoy the really important part of your trip... Rome

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whisky g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located, we walked everywhere for our entire stay. It's clean but the decor is a bit dated. Our room was large, and double glazed, which was good as it faced onto the main road. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, no fridge, and the wifi was very expensive. Staff were polite but not particularly helpful whe. We were trying to find out about visiting the Vatican - this may have been due to our lack of Italian...
Breakfast choices were limited but ok. There are plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We spent a week in the City Hotel,friendly staff , clean and spacious room. The breakfast was ok,fresh coffee of your choice served at your table by a lovely lady. The location of this hotel is great, 5 minutes walk to the Spanish Steps and Trevi fountain. We would not hesitate we stay here again.Michael and Rachel Bloor

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews