We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be recommended”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #524 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“To be recommended”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed for the 2nd time in this hotel and I liked it still more than the 1st time. Excellent location, very quiet rooms without any noise from the street. Very clean rooms and excellent quality of the bathroom linen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    104
    57
    15
    8
See reviews for
51
99
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
roma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was suggest to me by some friends, they spent a week there and were very well impressed. The same happened to me. I stayed there for 3 days and I am going to return as soonest.
Room was nice, excellent breakfast and the service was excellent, perfectly located

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielaP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed one night.
The hotel is extremely well located for exploring Rome city center.
It is a basic, small hotel but yet, clean and functional for what is needed.
There is a brand new laundromat twenty meters as you exit the hotel to the left.

Breakfast was included, it was basic but enough to get you going through lunch.

Our room was in the first floor and although there was no a/c we slept with the window open and it was quiet enough for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripadvfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As a front line employee of a well known, global hotel company I choose to stay at this hotel with my mum every time I have been to Rome. The staff are friendly, the breakfast is great & the hotel is always very clean. The hotel also has a very ethical approach to animals which I like. Fantastic location & great value for money. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Helpful?
Thank Greenhalghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is very basic but most people travelling to Rome are not planning to spend much time in their hotel room. NB. If you are travelling with a friend, the twin beds are very close together! We encountered three receptionists during our stay and two of them were very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately, the other one looked like he could barely stay awake and often just shrugged his shoulders if we asked him a question! The breakfast was simple but good, with croissants, cakes, cereals, yogurts and juice.

The best thing about the hotel is the location - turn right out of the hotel and keep walking for 7 minutes and you are at the Spanish steps. Walk straight down the road immediately opposite for about 10 mins and you reach the Pantheon. The Trevi Fountain is left out of the hotel, then right and you will see a signpost. We got a 20 minute cab ride to the Vatican costing 14E (you can get a bus or underground), a cab to the Colosseum was 10E and I think we could have walked if we had more time and knew our way. We pre-booked both of the latter attractions on the official internet sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillynet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you are looking for a hotel in the thick of it then look no further. We have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel and for a cost effective city break, can't really fault it.

Rooms were large and clean, lovely shutters, high ceilings and a traditional feel. Clean, modern bathrooms that come equiped with hair dryer.

The staff are friendly and will always help with local knowledge if needed.

The breakfast was plentiful with pastries, yoghurts, cereals ect.

You can hear some traffic noise in the rooms even though they are fully double glazed but with a central location near all the main streets it's to be explected. It didnt effect the holiday at all.

Most of all Location is key to this hotel. The Spanish Steps are at the end of the street, Trevi fountain 5 mins walk.

Had a fantastic time in Rome and wouldn't hesitate about staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorchester
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I know this might be a bit late I stayed here in 2006 it was august it was lovely B&B very basic but very clean you could tell it had new bathrooms great sized rooms, nothing fancy if your only using it for sleeping and shower its all you need very central to most places
I could say more but I would definitely return here tried other B&Bs I would come back to this one
came as a couple but return with new family

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Elite Hotel
#384 of 1,258 in Rome
117 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#704 of 1,258 in Rome
573 reviews
Colonna
Erdarelli
Erdarelli
#693 of 1,258 in Rome
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Residenza Montecitorio
Residenza Montecitorio
#599 of 1,258 in Rome
289 reviews
Pincio
#552 of 1,258 in Rome
252 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#293 of 1,258 in Rome
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Via Dei Due Macelli 97, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #524 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming place conveniently located in the heart of the city only few steps from the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the most prestigious attractions in Rome.Fully furnished and renovated in a modern style, stunning high level fitting, to offer stays with the greatest comfort and welfare. Sunny roof terrace with lounge seating for great stay, perfect for reading and relaxing with a glass of wine. Near by the most famous Shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing