We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”
Review of Corona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corona Hotel
Ranked #435 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I went there with my wife on Sept. 2013 and Rome was the first stop on our Italian trip. We found it to be located on a nice neighborhood, on a small, quiet street near the Santa Maria Maggiore church..
Many reviews stated that there is a street market that goes on very early in the morning, and that they make too much noise... I had no problems about it, with the glass window shut there was no problem at all.
Room is comfortable and breakfast is nice, located below street level. Staff was ok.
A downside was that it was stated here that there's free wifi, and that's not true (at least in Sept.2013, when I went there)... They wanted to charge us 10euro per device, which we didn't pay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

There aren't much positives at all in this hotel at all. After travelling to several European cities, this hotel is by far the very worse. Service is very poor. Not only are the attendants rude and indifferent, the hotel limits you in many ways. Posted in the elevator is a sign that says, no eating in the rooms, lobby, reception area or waiting area, basically meaning no eating anywhere. When we tried to bring in left-over pizza from our meal into the hotel, we were stopped and told that we cannot bring pizza into the room and were forced towards a dimly lit, old, room with moldy couches to eat the pizza. What's the point of paying for a room when you cannot perform the basic need of eating in that room??

Furthermore, the room we arrived to was not clean. The bedding had stains in them. When we asked if we could get our sheets changed, the very first night we arrived, we were told that the maids were off duty and we could not have them changed.

The worst part might be that the hotel turns off the heat in the middle of the night, and then back on in the morning. I got sick from this, and during the breakfast that the hotel serves, we noticed that many of the other patrons were coughing and presumably sick as well, maybe from the fact that there is no heat during the night.

There is no free wifi offered here. Only 15 minutes for 5 euros, or 7 days unlimited for 7 euros. This seems a bit pricey, as most hotels now offer free wifi. This is the 21st century afterall.

Overall, this hotel is a family-run business that does not care about its customers, only the profit they can make off them. They do not cater at all to the customers nor care about their experience at the hotel. The only plus of this hotel, is the location. It is walking distance to Fountain of Trevi, the Colosseum and other locations. However, there are so many other hotels in this area as well. There is no reason to choose this hotel for its location when on every block you can also find other inexpensive hotels that are also close to famous sites.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Terrible, service poor and the rooms are so small. We travelled from Australia saw great reviews then were disappointed. It's old and has that old smell. Would not recommend this hotel if anyone was to do some travel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It's been two years since I last visited the Hotel Corona, and it's even nicer now than before. They've added to their breakfast menu, the staff is outstanding, and the location is walking distance from the Forum, the Capitoline Hill, and the train station.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, but the neighborhood is a quiet one anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pericles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Loved this little hotel. It isn't too far from historical sites in Rome. 10min walk to the colosseum and elsewhere also the staff is amazing. Very friendly and always so helpful! I would definetly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindajalisience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff. Just mins away from the train/subway stations. Close proximity to great restaurants and retail stores. Rooms are small but comfortable. Stayed for about 10 days and would def. stay here again!!!

Room Tip: ask for room 503!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel is situated 5 minutes walk form Terminii station and 20 mins walk from the colosseum. The rooms are well laid out, if a little small and very clean. Breakfast is very good, selection of meats, cheeses, fruit and breads, tea, coffee and juice.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, they even got dry bread from their restaurant next door for our daughter when she was sick and negotiated a refund on the tour of the Vatican we had booked and were unable to do.
Lovely street market outside, ask for a room away from the street if you don't like early mornings!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonemob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#223 of 1,271 in Rome
1,254 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#340 of 1,271 in Rome
427 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#159 of 1,271 in Rome
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Montreal Hotel
Montreal Hotel
#785 of 1,271 in Rome
365 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#258 of 1,271 in Rome
728 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#690 of 1,271 in Rome
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Hotel

Address: Via Napoli 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £44 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Corona is situated in a quiet corner of the historical center of Rome between the Opera Theater and the Viminale and is easily reached by foot from Termini Station.The hotel is placed in a building of the 18th century, which was completely renovated and equipped with all comforts such as: air-conditioning, direct line telephone, Satellite-TV, safe, hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing