We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, quiet hotel near Termini Station (trains) and Metro”
Review of Corona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corona Hotel
Ranked #459 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Excellent hotel on quiet side street within walking distance of Termini Station (trains,tour buses, city buses, metro and airport train, taxi), Opera Theater, Viminale and Santa Maria Maggiore church. Very clean, has small sized elevator, comfortable bed, good sized quiet (our room faced the street) room and bath . TV in room but no English speaking channels/programs available. Excellent,cheerful, and helpful staff especially Andrea/Andrew,who offered to solve my problem re: a lost driver's license. Excellent breakfast included in room rate with cheerful staff in dining room which had very nice cafe-type Italian decor. Internet in large lounge area, as well as room. Some difficulty for handicapped persons (steps into hotel, only has steps down to breakfast area but they do have room service, elevator narrow, Rome streets can be steep, cobble stones a problem all over Rome but hotel manager offered to call taxi for sight-seeing and also arrange taxi pickup for airport. Very happy with this hotel--would recommend it and would stay here again

Room Tip: About 6 blocks to major transportation area around Termini Station. Restaurants all around area. Ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Staying here on our first trip ever to Rome, my husband and I were very pleased to find the hotel within easy walking distance of the main train station. This is the main plus point to the hotel - location! From here you can easily catch a tour bus, access the Metro, walk to many good restaurants & bars plus the beautiful Basilica Santa Maria Maggiore is almost on the doorstep.
As mentioned by other reviewers the welcome at the hotel is friendly and informative, all of the staff we encountered greeted us with a smile and a pleasant greeting. The reception staff are on hand to give you tips on how to get around the city and make the most of your trip.
Rooms are clean, small but adequate, however could do with maybe a hospitality tray, and information booklet and, or so I would have liked, a mirror in the actual bedroom instead of just the bathroom. As for the bathroom, again clean and in comparison to the bedroom was spacious, the shower was amazing, perfect to wake you in the morning!
We did have a room to the back of the hotel looking out to the courtyard, we never heard any outside noise - outside was not the problem! The interior sound proofing does not exist and at times I could have sworn there were other guests in our room, the sound of them was that clear.
Breakfast was good to get you started in the morning, bread rolls, toast, cold cuts, cereal & cheese, with coffee & juice, but there are plenty of places around if you needed something more.
When visiting room again I would definitely stay in this neighbourhood, but I think a different hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeordieBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have stayed at the Corona with my wife before, but not for some years. The young man on reception was charming and very helpful, giving tips on where to go and how to get there. When we came back after a long day out, there was another gentleman on reception, who was just as helpful and charming. The location of the hotel is good. The double rooms are adequate, but we saw inside one of the single rooms and they look very small. The breakfast was an improvement on years back. A good hotel for a couple of nights, but no longer

Room Tip: Try to pick a room at the back. The rooms at the front open straight onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I went there with my wife on Sept. 2013 and Rome was the first stop on our Italian trip. We found it to be located on a nice neighborhood, on a small, quiet street near the Santa Maria Maggiore church..
Many reviews stated that there is a street market that goes on very early in the morning, and that they make too much noise... I had no problems about it, with the glass window shut there was no problem at all.
Room is comfortable and breakfast is nice, located below street level. Staff was ok.
A downside was that it was stated here that there's free wifi, and that's not true (at least in Sept.2013, when I went there)... They wanted to charge us 10euro per device, which we didn't pay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

There aren't much positives at all in this hotel at all. After travelling to several European cities, this hotel is by far the very worse. Service is very poor. Not only are the attendants rude and indifferent, the hotel limits you in many ways. Posted in the elevator is a sign that says, no eating in the rooms, lobby, reception area or waiting area, basically meaning no eating anywhere. When we tried to bring in left-over pizza from our meal into the hotel, we were stopped and told that we cannot bring pizza into the room and were forced towards a dimly lit, old, room with moldy couches to eat the pizza. What's the point of paying for a room when you cannot perform the basic need of eating in that room??

Furthermore, the room we arrived to was not clean. The bedding had stains in them. When we asked if we could get our sheets changed, the very first night we arrived, we were told that the maids were off duty and we could not have them changed.

The worst part might be that the hotel turns off the heat in the middle of the night, and then back on in the morning. I got sick from this, and during the breakfast that the hotel serves, we noticed that many of the other patrons were coughing and presumably sick as well, maybe from the fact that there is no heat during the night.

There is no free wifi offered here. Only 15 minutes for 5 euros, or 7 days unlimited for 7 euros. This seems a bit pricey, as most hotels now offer free wifi. This is the 21st century afterall.

Overall, this hotel is a family-run business that does not care about its customers, only the profit they can make off them. They do not cater at all to the customers nor care about their experience at the hotel. The only plus of this hotel, is the location. It is walking distance to Fountain of Trevi, the Colosseum and other locations. However, there are so many other hotels in this area as well. There is no reason to choose this hotel for its location when on every block you can also find other inexpensive hotels that are also close to famous sites.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Terrible, service poor and the rooms are so small. We travelled from Australia saw great reviews then were disappointed. It's old and has that old smell. Would not recommend this hotel if anyone was to do some travel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It's been two years since I last visited the Hotel Corona, and it's even nicer now than before. They've added to their breakfast menu, the staff is outstanding, and the location is walking distance from the Forum, the Capitoline Hill, and the train station.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, but the neighborhood is a quiet one anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pericles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#139 of 1,271 in Rome
1,322 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#209 of 1,271 in Rome
1,292 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#238 of 1,271 in Rome
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#553 of 1,271 in Rome
225 reviews
Monti
Hotel Gallia
Hotel Gallia
#694 of 1,271 in Rome
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Hotel

Address: Via Napoli 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £48 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Corona is situated in a quiet corner of the historical center of Rome between the Opera Theater and the Viminale and is easily reached by foot from Termini Station.The hotel is placed in a building of the 18th century, which was completely renovated and equipped with all comforts such as: air-conditioning, direct line telephone, Satellite-TV, safe, hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Corona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing