We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great value”
Review of Cosmopolita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cosmopolita Hotel
Ranked #300 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Cosmopolita in June and was very happy overall. The room was clean and comfortable and there was ample space in the bathroom. The air conditioner was a welcome relief after a long day sightseeing but the internal walls are not that well accoustically treated so adjoining room noise was a little annoying but ok. The staff were very friendly and helpful at front reception as were the breakfast staff operating the breakfast room which had a good selection of food. The Hotel is very conveniently located just around the corner from Piazza Venezia at the top end of the Roman Forum. The Vatican is around reached in around 50min by foot. The price for accomodatin was quite reasonable considering this Hotel is in the Eternal City.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank Carrots1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

As other TA contributors state, the hotel is located in a good location. However, the property is old as are the room amenities and furniture. But the breakfast is ample. My experience ended on a serious bad note. The front desk staff whom I dealt with (one person only whose name was Alessandro) was arrogant and rude. He overcharged me, gave me a terrible tiny room with an air conditioner that was very loud and the electric mounting in the bathroom did not work. When checking out and done paying, I was then told I needed to pay the $12 Euro city tax in CASH. I responded I wanted to put it on my American Express like the rest of the bill. He stated that the Italian municipality requires it in cash, yada yada - I refused and then he asked me for my American As_ _ _ _ _ card! I asked him to repeat what he said and he replied "you heard me". I asked him why he said that and snarled "you Americans are as_ _ _ _ _ _ in general." I was flabbergasted and have never been spoken to like this. Irrespective of this terribly unprofessional individual, this property is not even average and there are myriads of other hotels located all around that I believe would be much better and the customer would be better served. I definitely do not recommend nor can speak well of this property. It should be stricken from the list.

Room Tip: Enough said above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank habaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed one night, August 17, 2012, and really enjoyed this small hotel. As others have written, it is convenient to sights including the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Collesium and Spanish Steps to name a few. We enjoyed a great meal at a restaurant across the street, I forget the name, because we were tired, but there are many convenient restaurants and shops.

The hotel was clean, staff friendly, included European breakfast was good, and it was a bargain for a little less than $200 in August. The room size was actually larger than anticipated for a European hotel. We had two children and two adults in the room and were quite comfortable.

We may stay another night in Rome later in our trip and will certainly stay at the Cosmopolita again if we do.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Cosmopolita. The location was ideal for touring the Coliseum, Roman Forum, and Trevi Fountain areas. It was about 2 miles away from the Vatican but it was doable. The breakfast was pretty good but the same thing everyday. The bedroom we stayed in was a bit dated but overall we were satisfied. We would stay here again and recommend it to friends/family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel was clean, our room (double room) was spacious, comfortable and definately worth the money. The hotel is an excellent location and seeing as we were excited to explore Rome on foot, everything was within a couple of kms (bus stops within 30m of the hotel for those wishing to catch public transport). Location is truly excellent near the piazza venezia. The hotel windows are double glazed so you arent disturbed at night by the traffic. Breakfast was good (eggs, bacon, corn flakes, crossaints etc). Only downside was that you had to pay for internet and you could only use it in the common areas (ie hotel reception). Nevertheless, staff were nice and the hotel is a perfect spot from which to explore all of the main highlights in Rome. Good value, would definately recommend after my pleasant experience

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mclovin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

Great location. Max at front desk super helpful and let me into my room way earlier than check in time. He spoke great English and pulled out a map as soon as I mentioned it was my first time to visit. Technically walkable from the B metro (Colosseum) but depends on how you feel about dragging luggage up cobblestone.

Definitely beware crotchety old guy. I had a question about why I couldn't pick up the WiFi and instant response was that I had forgotten to logout so used up my time. Never mind that I hadn't logged in since I wasn't finding the network. Bottom line is you have to pay for WiFi, but it's only in the lobby, so unless you're going to hang out there, don't bother with the longer time packages. The nice thing is that you can split the purchased time over several days, so 3hrs should be plenty.

1  Thank melonrei
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Hotel is within walking distance of all the sites accept the Vatican which is a short bus ride. The staff were helpful and friendly. Room was very clean and typical of European hotels. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#240 of 1,271 in Rome
805 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#87 of 1,271 in Rome
684 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Hotel Pace Helvezia
#397 of 1,271 in Rome
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Piazza Venezia
Hotel Piazza Venezia
#375 of 1,271 in Rome
228 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#138 of 1,271 in Rome
1,031 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#220 of 1,271 in Rome
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolita Hotel

Address: Via di Sant'Eufemia 5 | Piazza Venezia, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £72 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cosmopolita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosmopolita
Cosmopolita Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing