We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, friendly staff and fabulous location”
Review of Cosmopolita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cosmopolita Hotel
Ranked #331 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, friendly staff and fabulous location”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, from 26th February - 3rd March. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. They gladly helped us with finding our way around (providing a city map), restaurant recommendations, and booked a taxi to the airport for us.
The hotel is very well located, we walked from Termini Station when we arrived and it took us about 25 minutes. Trevi Fountain is only 10mins walk away, with the Pantheon and Piazza Navona slightly further along. We also walked to the Roman Forum, Colosseum and Vatican City from the hotel, it was an easy walk to all three.

The hotel itself was clean and tidy. Our room was on the 3rd floor and towards the back of the building, both the room and the bathroom were spacious and clean.

WiFi is free and available in your room. There is also a computer and printer located in the lobby which was useful for us, printing boarding passes.

We had breakfast in the hotel one morning of our visit, the range of food was typical of a breakfast spread at many european hotels, as was the price $7.50. However I would recommend getting out and about in Rome to find breakfast where possible as there are some lovely little cafes in the area.

I would gladly stay at this hotel again next time I am in Rome!

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel rather than facing Via IV Novembre which seemed a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magenta11059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    530
    225
    87
    41
See reviews for
240
580
44
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I call Rome "The greedy city". Everything is so expensive. The hotel charge 7.50 euros for breakfast, pay for television and in the restaraunt, 15.00euros for two small beers.
However, although the room #116 is small it is quite comfortable.
Reception staff are very friendly and helpfull.
The room heating did fail to work after two days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazylimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff welcome you on your arrival at this hotel in the heart of Rome (Venice Square to be exact.) you are minutes walking distance from the Colosseum in one direction and the Trevi Fountain in the other.

We stayed in a superior twin en-suite room for three nights which was clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and spacious. The windows are double glazed so you won't be disturbed by any traffic noise, the mini bar is well stocked but there are no tea and coffee making facilities (which may be a slight let down for Brits like ourselves!) the free English TV channels are very limited in fact we could only get BBC World News however we didn't come to Rome to watch the TV so this suited us fine.

Wi-Fi was included in the price of our stay which was easily accessible and the service was good throughout the hotel.

Breakfast however was not included but we were encouraged to eat at the adjoining café/restaurant (currently not open for evening meals) breakfast was inexpensive, fresh with lots of variety to suit every pallet and I would strongly recommend using this facility.

As previously mentioned the staff are helpful and will instruct you if required on how to navigate Rome and it's best attractions (even where to go to get the best ticket prices and how to skip long queues! - invaluable information!)

In short this hotel is second to none for location and you will not be disappointed with your stay. If/when I return to Rome I will book again.

Room Tip: Superior twin en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parkes85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos-Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights from the 13th to the 17th of February. I was debating on giving this hotel a 3 or 4 but because of the friendly staff that we encountered I gave it a 4 but in truth it's a solid 3.5.

Arrival:

From the Airport to the hotel it takes around 30 minutes to travel on the high speed train from Fumicino airport to Termini Station and then a five minute taxi ride from the train station to the hotel. Be careful with the taxi drivers at the train station, some drivers will try to charge you extra. The cost should be 10 to 15 Euro at the max but we encountered one driver that initially tried to charge us 25 euro.

Check In:

When we arrived at the hotel we were a hour or so early from the allocated check-in times but thankfully they had our room ready so we didn't have to wait to around for an hour. We were checked in by Alessandro, a friendly guy who checked us in quickly and gave us a map and some additional information about the surrounding area. There's no Bell boys here so you have to take your own luggage to your room which isn't a problem as the hotel as an operating lift just next to the reception area.

Room:

We booked a superior double which was on the third floor and we were given room 324. The rooms here are quite small but big enough that you don't feel cramped. The room was very clean, comes with a nice sized double bed, satellite TV with limited English channels but you could rent English speaking movies if you wanted. A built in wardrobe, desk, mini fridge and safe. The safe was very old fashioned that you needed an actual key to open and close it and it wasn't big enough for a tablet or laptop so beware of that. The bathroom wasn't the biggest but again it was clean, had a shower but no bathtub. The rooms are advertised as soundproof on booking.com but we could hear noise most nights from the outside but usually we were so exhausted from a days sightseeing that we fell straight to sleep so the noise didn't bother us too much. The air-con didn't work in our room but it was February so we weren't overly bothered by this but if it was in the summer months then that would definitely need to be fixed. Taking a drink or snack from the room is ridiculously over priced so I'd suggest you use the small shop across the road that offer the same selection at a fraction of the price. I never understand why hotels think it's acceptable to try and rip off their guest with overpriced beverages. There is no room service at this hotel.

Breakfast:

We took in breakfast on our first morning as it was only 7.50 per person. The selection was a mixture of cereals, pastry, fruit and cooked and you could get drink as much tea, coffee and juice as you liked. The pastries were very nice but the cooked food wasn't the best. They have a restaurant here that also does lunch and dinner but we didn't come to Rome to eat in the hotel restaurant so we didn't try it. There are many nice restaurants within walking distance to the hotel.

Location:

The location of the hotel is perfect and the main reason we chose this hotel. It is central to all the sights and restaurants. It's literally around the corner from the Colosseum and Forum and even the Vatican was only a 25 minute walk.

Staff:

Every member of staff that we encountered at the hotel were friendly and professional and from check-in to check-out we didn't have any issues.

Check-out

No problems at check-out, was done quickly and they helped us get a transfer from the hotel back to the airport. We didn't really want the hassle of rushing around back to the airport so they arranged a transfer for us which worked out at 52 Euro. Nice to have the option of being dropped off outside your terminal building, rather than rushing around on your last day which isn't very relaxing.


As I mentioned in my title, this is a no thrills hotel but its central location, clean rooms, friendly staff and price, means we wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Skippy_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The English-speaking front desk staff was a welcome relief for first-time visitors like us, who do not have any basic understanding of Italian. He provided us the city maps and tips on available transportation/direction to various sightseeing spots from the hotel convenience location. Our triple room size was generous,comfortable and clean. So was the bathroom. The beds and pillows were also comfortable and clean. . There was no hassle to connect to the WIFI network. However, the TV broke down on the day before our departure. Two servicemen promptly attended to our complaint but were unable to restore service and remained out-of-order. We could not catch the latest news on the European air traffic controller strike . We were concerned about the strike which could affect our out bound travel plans . Our room was located on the 6th Floor, next to the roof garden where we could get limited city view. The lift was slow and served up to the 5th Floor . We had to pull our luggage through a flight of steps . . .Overall we still had a pleasant and very satisfactory 4-night stay.

Room Tip: The lift stops at the 5th Floor. Be mindful to climb a flight of steps with your luggage if your all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank afongsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great choice for an affordable hotel in the centre of Rome. Just around the corner from il vittoriana and a Short walk to the colleseum, forum and many other tourist attractions.

Vatican is a much longer walk, although there is a bus you can catch down the road which goes straight there.

Comfortable rooms, breakfast has a decent selection.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellingbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Was in Rome for a weekend the end of Jan 2014. Found this hotel on Tripadvisor and was delighted with my choice. The location is fantastic for everything, shopping, sighrseeing, nightlife etc ... The staff are very pleasant and extremely helpful. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. We had breakfast there on 2 mornings, hot buffet, and found it to be lovely. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the 4th floor. Beautiful rooms and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnfogarty333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Piazza Venezia
Hotel Piazza Venezia
#285 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Trevi
Pace Helvezia Hotel
Pace Helvezia Hotel
#413 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#529 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#210 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#39 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Trevi
Hiberia Hotel
Hiberia Hotel
#224 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolita Hotel

Property: Cosmopolita Hotel
Address: Via di Sant'Eufemia 5 | Piazza Venezia, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmopolita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosmopolita
Cosmopolita Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing