We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and decent price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmopolita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cosmopolita Hotel
Ranked #331 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and decent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Four-stars for a roomy double standard room, helpful staff, a very central location, and free wifi with a good connection. Three-and-a-half stars for the hotel room, which is decent but needs updating.

Pros: Centrally located within 10 to 15 minutes of walking to the major sights (Trevi, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Colosseum, Campo de Fiori, Via del Corso). We were in a room on the fourth floor by the courtyard and it was quite roomy and relatively clean. Because it's so central, you can still hear road noise, especially sirens, but it wasn't enough to be bothersome. There are a good amount of restaurants in the vicinity and a bank just a block away if you ever need to withdraw euros. If you need food right away, there's a decent restaurant downstairs that offers a pretty good deal on their meals. An airport transfer was available with reservation for a fixed price of €52 (compared to taxi at €48, possibly extra for each luggage). Did I mention: Free WIFI!

So-so: There's a mini bar in the room but you're better off going to a nearby market if you can for snacks and water.

Cons: The bed is super firm and the pillows are lumpy. The room is a bit dark but could be brighter with the shutters open. There isn't a proper vent in the bathroom for steam but there is a window which could be opened. The hotel itself is probably not the best for accessibility because there are odd slopes and steps within the floors. The elevator is small and can only fit six people - don't even think of using it when housekeeping and other staff use it because it's quite the wait and going down the stairs can make you dizzy if you're situated on a higher floor (there are only five or six).

Room Tip: For less noise, request a room by the courtyard and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmemell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    521
    222
    83
    38
See reviews for
231
567
43
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked our stay at the last minute and were happy with the results. With it being our first time in Rome, we weren't sure what to expect. Cosmo is well located, within walking distance of many significant attractions. Numerous shopping and dining options are just minutes away. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was firm, yet comfortable. The bathroom was cramped, but had one of the best showers we've ever experienced in a hotel. Staff was friendly and assisted with basic tourist information. Wifi was free and functional, but intermittent. Skip the breakfast buffet -- it's not worth the 7 euros. We would definitely give Cosmo another shot.

Ignore the pool rating -- there isn't one.

Room Tip: An interior room will be spared a lot of the boulevard noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyannsark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Paid top money for this hotel only to be treated like a possible thief in the night.
Full amount for stay + 20% had to be supplied on credit card on arrival (guarantee in case mini bar or any other extras were used). Top of the range tv in room but 22 euro charge for 24 hrs use
Hotel has been "Done up" since we last stayed here 10 years ago but Room was small and the materials used were of poor quality. Took the whole Rome experience away and would not go back or recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitaRoma, Direttore at Cosmopolita Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mr. Charlie B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us.
First of all, let me say that I am really apologetic to hear that the service you received did not meet your expectations and that you felt to have received a bad treatment.
I take these comments very seriously and I am glad to have the opportunity to clarify what you reported. At the moment of the booking we request a credit card as guarantee where we take an authorization. As in most of the hotels once checked in, another percentage (generally 20%) is automatically authorized on the credit card in case of incidentals (minibar, extras etc.). I would like to clarify that the authorization is not a real charge and that it would be released at check out, the hotel is not allowed to charge anything without guest’s authorization. I really understand your good faith and that this practice made you feel treated as a thief but this a is a normal practise that the hotels apply worldwide with the only intention of being guaranteed for the service they are offering. Just in name of good faith we have intentionally decided to give a clear information to our valued guests, because they are giving to us their personal data and their credit card and for transparency we want to inform them how we will handle their data and why credit card is requested, I hope you may understand that our intention is not only to guarantee our interests, but to be loyal each other.
Concerning the 22 € for the pay TV, this is the fare per day that consents to see for 24h at any times movies and adult contents.
I am so afraid you did not like the room where you stayed, effectively, since your previous stay 10 years ago the hotel has been renovated I hope you that you at least appreciated the convenient location of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, I hope for a chance to regain your confidence in us, I will be glad to take care of your needs prior to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Ideal location everything is within walking distance. room was looking a little shabby although the cleanliness was top notch, and rooms made up fresh towels etc every day. The room also lacked drink refreshment facilities we were disappointed by this as it was advertised with tea cups and kette so we resorted to buying our own kettle and mugs. staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nesac0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitaRoma, Direttore at Cosmopolita Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your opinion with us!

We are glad to know that you appreciated the position of the hotel that is so close to the most important area to visit in the centre of Rome and close to the shopping streets.
On the other side we regret to hear that the service you received did not completely meet your expectations. Actually coffee makers and tea facilities are not available in rooms, as reported on the rooms description on all the web pages of the hotel. We take these comments very seriously and what you reported will be taken in consideration for future improvements!

We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding the staff that is 24 hours ready to assist guests with smile and courtesy!
Please do not hesitate to contact us the next time you are visiting Rome so that we can take care of your needs prior to your arrival. We hope for a chance to regain your confidence in us!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Our family of 3 stayed here in April for 3 nights.
The room itself looked a little worn. The bathroom small and with mold in the shower. We found several bugs in the room. Breakfast,not included in our plan,was expensive.
The staff was wonderful, though and made up for the shortcomings. Location great

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fselig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Cosmopolita Hotel from April 18-22. We can't say enough about the hotel and would return without hesitation. The hotel is in an ideal location central to every main attraction in Rome. The map looks bigger on paper but we walked to everything except the Vatican. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy. Prior to our visit we read the showers were small. Well, yes they are but it did not bother us and the fact you are in Rome is even better. The bar at the hotel had amazing drinks, food and personality. You must visit with Roberto, the bartender. He made delicious drinks, was extremely friendly and we would return to the hotel just because of him. The hotel also provides you with a map of Rome and highlights where the main attractions are. I highly recommend using the hotels car service. We took the train from the airport to the Termini and then a cab upon arrival, but leaving we used the car service. It was 52 euros and worth every penny to avoid the hassle of getting to the Airport.

On a side note, we took the Small Vatican and Sistine Chapel tour using Avventure Bellissime at www.tours-Italy.com. This is a MUST do while in Rome. Ask for Francesca the tour guide as she was the best guide we have ever had. She was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and we had the most incredible experience with her.

We could not have been happier with our experience at the hotel. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 464 which was on the inside of the hotel and barely heard busy traffic noise at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitaRoma, Direttore at Cosmopolita Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Jason H,

Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful posting about the Hotel Cosmopolita!

Your comment will be surely very useful for other travellers that are planning their visit to Rome, thanks to your own experience they may know that the hotel is really within walking distance to the most important attractions in Rome and that rooms are very comfortable.

Your 5 star rating put smiles on all of our faces, especially Roberto! He works so hard and really loves his job, we are happy to see him receive such wonderful praises.

Concerning the car service, it is not directly managed by the hotel, but we cooperate with a reliable company that offer good prices for good value.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards from the team at Hotel Cosmopolita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
219 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spent 3 nights there recently. Nothing to complain about, but nothing to shout about either. Good central location to explore Rome, but only one elevator (that was always busy / took ages to arrive) and we were on the top (5th) floor where you got out of the elevator then had either one or two flights of steep stairs to climb depending on what your 5th floor room number was. Breakfast was up a steep circular staircase off the lobby - no problem for my group, but if you are immobile, perhaps not for you. Rooms pretty standard / comfortable beds. Despite having paid for an "all exclusive" package in advance, was charged Euro 8 per day (cash only sir!) "city tax" - scam? Not sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyninhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitaRoma, Direttore at Cosmopolita Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Mrs. Evelyn Houston,
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your opinion with us!
We are glad that you appreciated the convenient location of the hotel in the heart of the historical city centre. We are also glad that the room met your needs, the bed in particular, you probably know how hard is to find a mattress according to our preferences that may assure a good rest.

We do only have one guest elevator, so it can be busy at peak times. We hope you may understand that the hotel is located into an XVIII century building, that has been converted in hotel recently. This is also the reasons of many stairs present. But anyway we are able to accommodate also disabled guest or in case of any difficulties our staff is at guest’s disposal to assist him in the best way as possible.

Concerning the money requested in cash at check out, I confirm you that it is the “city tax” , a charged of Euro 3.00 per person daily. the city tax is a mandatory tax requested by the local administration and currently all the hotel in Rome are all together against the upcoming increase of this tax.

Once again we would like to thank you for visiting us, and we hope the have the chance to welcome you again!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Piazza Venezia
Hotel Piazza Venezia
#236 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Trevi
Pace Helvezia Hotel
Pace Helvezia Hotel
#408 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#508 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#166 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Trevi
Hiberia Hotel
Hiberia Hotel
#221 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#33 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolita Hotel

Property: Cosmopolita Hotel
Address: Via di Sant'Eufemia 5 | Piazza Venezia, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cosmopolita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosmopolita
Cosmopolita Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing