We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Boutique Hotel for New Year.”
Review of Fiume Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fiume Hotel
Ranked #782 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel for New Year.”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel over New Year. With 5 adults, we were very pleased that the triple rooms we had been allocated were spacious, light and airy. The heating was on too high for us, but turning it off and opening the window made it comfortable. The rooms were very nicely decorated and the bathrooms too, but we did have a problem with one bathroom that was a wet room shower which tended to flood. The breakfast was good and constantly being replenished. The free wifi was excellent, especially sending new Year messages, it was a little slow , but could of been very busy! We had a drink in the bar area, but with limited opening times, but the reception staff could always get someone to get you a drink or anything you needed. ( Especially as most small cafes, bars around the hotel were closed from 6pm New Years Eve till 2nd Jan). But lots of restaurants are open, even on New Years Eve., as most people were going to one of the gathering areas after their meal, to see the fireworks and acts.
The hotel is around the corner from the upmarket La Rinascente and 10 minutes walk to the Villa Borghese gardens. which we discovered on our last day as being a very large park and gardens with bike hire, pony rides for children and play areas. lovely any time of year.
New Year was fun and with lots going on especially after midnight around the Coliseum. It was a great party atmosphere with free circus acts, bands, fireworks and lots of Champagne flowing.
( Bring your own). The hotel was a 15/20 mute walk to Spanish steps, but a lovely way to see Rome and out of the way of all the crowds. With cobbled streets and some small hills bring comfortable (but stylish shoes) You are in Rome!
We had a great time and everyone wants to come back. But we would stay up later on New Years Eve as little is open on New Years day including all museums and historical buildings, and you cannot get near Vatican City, as the Pope is making his New Year speech.
Thank you a fabulous way to start the New Year.

Room Tip: We had a triple room, chaise lounge converted to a good single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    341
    63
    23
    5
See reviews for
112
364
20
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Pleasantly surprised at the high quality of this hotel, stayed at plenty of other hotels around this area, and none compare to this one.

It really feels like a 4 star, rooms are large, and well designed, fearly fresh, new look.

Free internet was great to get work done.

for the price is very resonable

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_sastre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setif, Algeria
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Fiume Hotel from November 4 till Nov 8. I really enjoyed my stay, the staff were very professional. I didn't have any problem during my stay. Room decoration was up to date, very contemporary. The size of the room might be a problem if you reserve the classic room (camera), but in other hand I payed less than 90 Euros per night including breakfast and taxes (for a single room, but the bed I had was a queen size). The breakfast was a really a plus, fresh fruits, honey, cereals, plus a large choice of pastry, cakes and cheese. Wifi connection was good. If you pay less than 100 Euros it's the place to stay in Roma. I rated it very good location, because the neighborhood is safe, many good restaurants and well served by bus. For the subway, you have to walk 15 minutes.

Room Tip: If you are from North America or Middle East it's better to book a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semsemdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A very old nice boutique style hotel in a very convenient location. The staff are very friendly especially Alexsandro. was very helpful and professional and easy to understand. His recommendations were most helpful and the restaurants he suggests are all good.
If we go back to Rome, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Alesandro is the person on the front desk that is most easy to follow and understand and excellent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigtuna,Sweden
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

...but Hotel Fiume is real good value for the money!

Good hotel with nice, newly renovated rooms. Clean and fairly spacious , small bathroom though. Wonderful to open the door in the morning and smell the freshly baked croissants from the breakfast room.

The breakfast buffet was not big, but all that was available was very good. Nice breakfast area with fast service.

Located in Piazza Fiume / Porto Pia offering good opportunities to take the bus / metro to sights. We had 2 children with us and it was no problem to walk the same distance. The hotel provides a map at check-in which was very good.

Some think that the hotel is far away . From what? The hotel is off the crowded touristic area with menus in 6 languages. ​​Instead you eat at the local restaurants along with Italians . If you are lucky the menu is in English... We were very pleased with restaurants in the hotelarea. Piazza Fiume felt safe at night too.

We booked a taxi to / from the airport via the hotel which was convenient, but not to be recommended for those who find it easy to get carsick .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annelig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights weekend break with friends. On arrival we had somehow been booked into 2 different hotels , but Fiume staff sorted out problem, very helpful. We'd arrived early so room wasn't ready for another hour, fair enough, but the problem was the hotel has no facility for refreshments! Hotel is a bit out of the way, but not a big problem. restaurants nearby had good food and service. Saturday night we had a great meal out after visiting the Vatican that day. We had our meal, but decided to return to the hotel at 10 45 pm, for a drink before the bar closed at 11pm, no-one at the bar, so asked at reception only to be told the bar shuts at 11pm, and bar staff had gone home, (strange as it was definitely 10.45). The room was very nice, very clean but a bit small. Breakfast was ok, not fantastic. Not a bad hotel, but would not return due to the lack of a basic facility like a drink of anything. Simply not good enough !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honestus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Ranches, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Hotel is worth the 4 stars. Very clean, good breakfast and nice people. If you are not a long distance walker, you might need to get taxis to almost everywhere, like we did. A short walk to Plaza di Fiume and grab a Taxi anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#291 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#98 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Esquilino
Leon's Place Hotel
Leon's Place Hotel
#107 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
H10 Roma Citta
#135 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#309 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#193 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiume Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiume Hotel

Property: Fiume Hotel
Address: Via Brescia' 5, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiume Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fiume is located in Piazza Fiume, and features a rooftop terrace with city views. Via Veneto and Villa Borghese park are a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fiume Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiume Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing