We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Colloseum and the best Gelato across the road.”
Review of Residenza Leonina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residenza Leonina
Ranked #704 of 1,070 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Close to Colloseum and the best Gelato across the road.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I think the most important aspect of this Hotel is the communication prior to arrival. I was emailed with directions, an airport pickup if needed, directions from the train station, etc.

The hotel itself was lovely, we had the terraced suite with our own outside space, kitchenette and sitting room. This hotel is within walking distance of the Colloseum and the hotel arranges Tours to all the major attractions with a great Skip the line agency. Thank heavens for that as the queues to all of them were hours long.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this hotel, they made the stay awesome.

Room Tip: The terrace suite is great as your part of the terrace is screened off from the rest of the terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    81
    35
    24
    17
See reviews for
37
108
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were in Rome for 8 days in May 2014, and stayed at Residenza Leonina in a one-bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor. It was set up with 2 twin beds, had a modern spacious bathroom with a good strong shower (and plenty of hot water), and a large sitting room with a foldout dining table, sofa bed, and a kitchenette with refrigerator and some pots, pans, dishes. We didn’t cook, but the fridge and corkscrew came in handy. The place was very clean, had ample storage for clothing and incidentals. Every 3 days the apartment was cleaned and linen changed, which was more than sufficient for us. The rooftop terrace was wonderful and we enjoyed a glass of wine there every night. A couple blocks away on Via Cavour is the store, Elite, with high quality food and wine. Near the entrance to the Cavour Metro stop on Via Urbana, is a perfect coffee shop for that morning espresso and a pastry. Great neighborhood restaurants abound. Residenza Leonina is right on Piazza degli Zingari, which is a dynamic, fun, neighborhood hangout for families, children, tourists, friends and lovers. The location of Residenza is central and perfect for sightseeing; you can walk to most of the main sights. Also, Residenza is very near the Cavour metro stop. Maurizio at the front desk was wonderful. He was very helpful, courteous and friendly. He also arranged for a driver to take us to the airport early on the morning of our departure; the price was right and the service was highly reliable and professional. I was very happy with our experience at Residenza Leonina and when I return to Roma, I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The location is perfect - Monti is a lovely and lively neighbourhood - very convenient with the Metro (Station Cavour) just around the corner - and walking distance to the Centro Storico and most major sights. The hotel is clean, staff very friendly and helpful and the rooms good and spacious - the kitchenette works well for light cooking. And then there is the superb roof terrace. A lovely place to enjoy a siesta.

Note that the small Piazza deli Zingari can get noisy at night, so if you are bothered by that, get one of the top floor rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The location could not be faulted. As per previous reviews make sure your are not given a room on the ground floor (we were allocated room 12). This room was actually a basement room therefore receiving very little natural light. Also the room had a smell of damp.

Over our 3 day stay we only had connection to the included wifi for 1 night. Even when it was working it was very slow.

The staff were present enough but not overly friendly (as in this is my job so I have to do it).

As stated by previous reviewers if considering staying at this hotel request a room above the ground floor.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DM10255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We absolutly enjoyed our stay there. It's a really nice and clean place in the heart of Rome. The staff was always kind, welcoming and had a lot of good advices.

Thanks again for the great service Mauricio :)!

My Mother and me were absolutly satisfied with everything!

And we will definitively come back and stay in the Residenza again!

The Forum Romanum and the Colloseo are just a stones throw away (approx. 10 min by foot).The area around the Hotel is beautiful, there are a lot of Bars,Restaurants, Gelaterias, small Galleries and a few typical italian shops.

Ilona and Sara

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Rome is very expensive and finding an hotel is hard. If this place is between your possibilities it could be a good option because it is well located and it has the facilities of an appartment that are more confortable than a hotel. Rooms are clean and functional, althought I missed a bit more of decoration. Kitchen is not very complete, but it could be useful. Furthermore, personal is really friendly and the area is perfect for a young couple since it has several bars to have some drink. However, it has two room types: the external ones are more noisy due to bars on the street. The internal ones have windows to an awful courtyard without any natural light but are quiet. So, take this into account to avoid surprises. The roof terrace is great.

Room Tip: Two room types: the external ones are more noisy due to bars on the street. The internal ones have w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatheril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel/apartment was a great central location to explore Rome. Close to the Colosseum and Forum as well as being next to the metro with a bonus of having a few back street restaurants to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine.
The apartment was clean with an additional extra of having a little kitchen. The shower did get the bathroom floor very wet and that would be our only issue, but nothing major. For a city location there was little noise and we were on the first floor. The price was competitive and I would definable recommend if your agenda is to explore Rome by foot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFJstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Tourist House
Tourist House
#748 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#77 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#232 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,043 reviews
Monti
Monti House
Monti House
#2,698 of 3,620 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#6 of 1,070 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Leonina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Leonina

Property: Residenza Leonina
Address: Piazza Degli Zingari 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #704 of 1,070 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Residenza Leonina 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rome, in the Rione Monti , between the Colosseum and the Imperial Forum, just 50 meters from the Cavour metro station,the Leonina Residence comes from the idea of one of the oldest Roman family of hoteliers who wished to give new meaning to the concept of hospitality, staying in the historical center of Rome in comfortable surroundings and in total freedom. All our elegant apartments are equipped with kitchenettes, free wi-fi access, Sat TV, air conditioning, safe and comfortable bathrooms with bath tub or shower and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza Leonina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing