We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ponte Sisto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Ranked #126 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

The hotel is right there near the bridge and we found the hotel to be everything that we had read in the reviews. During our stay in Rome we actually stayed there twice. The second time we had a wonderful room with a jacuzzi tub. The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean and there was a quaint courtyard to retire in the afternoon. The hotel is on the edge of the touristy spots so it is a little quieter yet a short walk to some of the major attractions. Dining was perfect across the bridge where the crowds were much less.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    545
    105
    35
    15
See reviews for
290
705
51
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

The hotel is located in a central area, with clean rooms and a decent buffet breakfast in the morning. We rented three rooms during our stay. Two were more on the inside of the hotel rm 322 & 321, the other room was street side rm 326. If you like sleeping NEVER,NEVER stay on street side. For the first two nights you lay in bed listening to the bar across the street til 4am. Unfortunately the hotel knows about this and never bother to mention it to us on check in. After the first night, we asked to change rooms , but they told us they where booked solid. Not till after the second night of people yelling and screaming like hey were in the room with you till 4am again did we get customer service and changed rooms.

Overall the hotel was clean, rooms decent size, but if your looking for customer service look else where.

Room Tip: Not street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanslcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed 4 nights at this great hotel. Our junior suite was spacious, comfortable, and felt new. The balcony had potted citrus trees (with lots of limes!) and a small table and chairs. The hotel roof deck - something they don't talk much about - is INCREDIBLE. Skytop view of Rome and assorted basilicas. The breakfast was top notch. The location - a short walk to the Trastevere across the bridge and the Campo de Fiore around the corner made wandering Rome easy.

I highly recommend this hotel. The staff was friendly (all speak English) and very helpful.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a room with a court yard view (quieter) and if you can do the Junior Suite - its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and loved this hotel. The room was spacious, modern and had a real quality feel to it.

The internal courtyard was great to flop in after the madness of Rome, the breakfast was spot on and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Worth paying a bit extra for the superior room as it was quieter and had a decent view. Really can't fault the place.

The location is also worth a mention as it is so central. During the day you can get to all the usual attractions on foot in no time at all, and in the evening its only a few yards over the bridge to get the quieter bars and resaurants in Trastevere.

Room Tip: quieter out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timhall321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I was nervous about our stay here because, never having been to Rome before, I was worried that it was a bit too far away from the sights. How wrong I was! The location is excellent. The first night of our three night stay I wanted to walk around and try to "calculate" how much walking we would need to do or if we would need to rely on buses. We reached Campo dei Fiori in less than 5 minutes, Piazza Navona and the Pantheon under 10 and the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps were about 15-20 minutes away. We only took a bus once to the Vatican and the bus stop was just down the street from the hotel. Couldn't have been easier.

The staff was nice, didn't have a ton of interaction with them however. Breakfast was the best of all 5 hotels during our 2 week stay in Italy. The room and bathroom were the largest as well. Wish there had been wifi in the room, but even that wasn't a big deal.

One complaint? The shower door! It was one of those half doors but it leaked water all over the bathroom floor. Not fun to get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom and wade through a swamp then get back in bed. Small problem and easy to overlook in the grand scheme of things.

I would definitely stay here again. Just bring your wellies ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_in_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Since my boyfriend and I are in our mid-twenties, we wanted to stay somewhere affordable, safe, clean, boutique-like, and also close to fun local bars and non-tourist restaurants. We stumbled upon Hotel Ponte Sisto after much research and based on the TA ratings, decided to book at less than $200/night (last week of Aug '12). We couldn't have asked for a better experience!

The rooms were clean, bathrooms were updated, and all the windows had beautiful shutters. The hotel staff was extremely helpful in providing directions to landmarks. Luckily for us, we were able to walk to Roman Forum, Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Vatican in less than 20 minutes. Even better, we were a 5 minute walk away from Campo de' Fiori to the northwest (great restaurants and awesome farmers market on the weekends) and a 2 minute walk from Trestavere (West Village meets Lower East Side...small restaurants, lots of gelato and beer, young people everywhere at night) to the southwest over the Ponte Sisto pedestrian bridge. We were able to enjoy every minute knowing we could head back to the hotel, in the peace and quiet, and out of the tourist craziness.

FYI - Free WiFi in lobby and garden area. Breakfast was plentiful and no shortage of prosciutto, cheese, and bread! Great market next door for bottled waters, snacks, and wine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I thought this was going to be my favorite hotel of 5 I stayed in as it was nicer and more recently upgraded than some of our other hotels. That all came to a screeching halt when from about 2AM until 4AM I thought my window was open due to the partying going on below. Turns out the windows are paper thin and there is a bar right below the rooms.

My original request to move wasn't going to happen as the front desk guy tried to pass it on to the next shift. We were able to work things out just fine. Close to the river and walking distance to many of the have to see sights.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
#175 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Monte Cenci Hotel
Monte Cenci Hotel
#120 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#49 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#28 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ponte Sisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ponte Sisto

Property: Hotel Ponte Sisto
Address: Via dei Pettinari 64, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#107 Business Hotel in Rome
#119 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#159 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ponte Sisto 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and quiet, the 4-star Hotel Ponte Sisto in Rome is located in a completely renovated historic building, enveloped in a relaxing atmosphere with a splendid garden filled with luxuriant palm trees and flowers from all over the world.The rooms are cozy and restful, able to keep the chaotic city or memories of a busy day at work at a distance to fill you will harmony and well-being within the bright marble furnishings and floral decorations.The friendly Hotel Ponte Sisto front desk staff takes care of all guest needs, booking excursions and guided tours, recommending clubs and restaurants to make your stay in Rome an unforgettable vacation or productive business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ponte Sisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponte Sisto Rome
Hotel Ponte Sisto Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing