We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted in Rome”
Review of Hotel Ponte Sisto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Ranked #116 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delighted in Rome”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Booked this hotel on recommendation of its location. We were in Rome for a conference so I was worried but it turned out to be wonderful. Our room was on 3rd floor, overlooked a courtyard that in warmer weather you could eat out there. The room size is smaller than most American hotels but still functional. The bathroom was average size. It was extremely clean! That is most important to me so anything after cleanliness is a bonus. There was a towel warmer in the bathroom which was an added plus. Our floor was very quiet but we were there during the off season. The location is perfect, we walked to the Vatican, the colosseum, the markets, etc. we did not drive so cannot offer any advice about parking.
The breakfast which was included was also nice, delicious, fresh pastries and breads everyday, scrambled eggs with bacon too, along with fresh fruit, cereal, juice and coffee. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The staff was extremely helpful and most spoke English, a plus for me.
Our room was cleaned spotless everyday and towels replaced without any problems.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kader622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    558
    107
    35
    15
See reviews for
298
729
51
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Ponte Sisto was a nice surprise. The hotel is in the Campo Di Fiori area, clise to many attractions, but it is quite. The breakfast alone was worth the stay. The room wasn't big, as expected in Rome. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel is close to the Tiber river but tucked down a congested side street, with no where to park. The hotel can arrange a taxi from the airport or go to the central railway station and get a taxi. The hotel formally a monastry, has a lot of character, with a small entrance, but once inside it has space and facilities, bar, restaurant, lounge and open courtyard but no swimming pool or exercise room. The restaurant is cosy but for breakfast only, but there are numerous local restaurants close by with good selection of cuisine for lunches and dinners, most of which are licensed.

The hotel is ideally placed within walking distance of famous historical monuments, St Peters, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Campo de Fiori, Piazzo Navona and everywhere you walk is steeped in history and architectural monuments, quaint streets and square full of cafes and restaurants. There is a hop-on hop-off bus service that goes to all the tourist places but traffic is usually heavy around town.

The staff are helpful, friendly, the service was excellent in well appointed rooms, kept in good order and clean. The hotel was excellent value for money once you got there and into the reception foyer.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms away from the elevator and stairways. No real view from the rooms apart from down into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent two nights in Rome in early November and had a wonderful time. We stayed in Ponto Sisto Hotel. The accommodation was excellent in a very central location. Bedroom was nice if a little small. Staff were excellent and friendly regardless of what we requested. We were in walking distance of all the historic sites including St Peters Basilica. Across the Ponte Sisto bridge was the Trastevere area and we enjoyed walking through its unique streets. We enjoyed a meal in the beautiful Plazza Navona. This hotel is well worth a visit.
One note of warning about Rome we were conned by a taxi driver when returning from the Vatican. We hired a driver who was not in the official taxi rank and he insisted we had only paid him five euro when we were absolutely certain we had given him twenty euro note.
I would highly recommend the Hotel Ponte Sisto

Room Tip: We ordered a standard room and that is what we got. The delux rooms looked far superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Being in Rome at the end of the summer – is like leaving your dream. It is that sunny, full of people, laid-back beautiful old city, where every turn and every corner offers you an unexpected surprise or expected delight. Piazzas, fountains, markets, ruins, streets, bridges: they all bring you up to experience their visuals, sounds, smells, and tastes and lift your spirit. Walking along the river, having your dinner at Trastevere or at Piazza Navona, and spending a day at the ruins – is the must!
Pointe Sisto where we stayed – is a 4 stars boutique hotel right by the Sisto Bridge. It is very convenient to all the sightseeing – we didn’t use a car or public transport, but walked everywhere. It is close to Vatican. Trastevere is just across the bridge, and Piazza Navona is 10 min walk from there.
The rooms are nice, and most are facing a beautiful inner courtyard. It has a full breakfast – very tasty – and with as much coffee as you want. (You will need it after spending your nights in the city). And the service is attentive. The rooms are clean and quiet. You can hear a bit of music coming from the Sisto bridge where there is an open air dancing in the evening, but we liked it – the city was alive with the sound of music…
That is where we would stay again if we have another chance to come back to the City of Dreams. For now Arrivederci Roma until we meet again….

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 888Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I went to Rome in Nov 2013 for a short weekend break. I would like to say I had the best weekend trip ever. The hotel made our stay worthwhile the room was perfect and was clean, we stayed on the 5th floor the view was perfect and the staff were always there to help and very helpful and provided us with the best service. Breakfast buffet was outstanding with more than enough dishes to choose from. Location wise it was perfect right in the center of everything, 20/30 mins walk from main areas positioned 100 meters from the enchanting bridge 500 meters from the bustling market stalls of Campo di Fiori all amenities and beauty of La Bella Roma at your fingertips. Would come back here again and again loved every minute

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mints M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's true that the rooms are 'dinky' well mine certainly was (staying as a single traveller), however it was very well appointed. The fixtures and fittings were of a high quality and kept scrupulously clean. Breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice to suit most tastes. The staff were unfailingly helpful, professional and courteous.

The location is the real star, close to the river within minutes of the bustling Campo di Fiori. There's an amazing ice cream shop across from it, which I visited every evening. It's located about 25-30 mins walk from the major sites (e.g. in between the Vatican and the Colosseum). It's about 10-15 mins walk from Piazza Navona.

Despite the fact that it's in the midst of a bustling part of town I could only hear very faint background noise in the room, which was dealt with easily using ear plugs. The other patrons didn't make much noise either. The courtyard and roof terrace were delightful, although sadly not in use in November. The staff at the main desk spoke superb English and delivered a fantastic service.

One downside for any tea-loving Brits - there's no tea/coffee making facilities (but there weren't any in the other hotel I stayed at near the airport either, so I suspect it's not usual for Italian hotels. Beware of the city tax (at time of writing this was €3 per day). You have to pay this on departure. I didn't see that mentioned in my guide book.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel, small rooms but perfectly formed. The one exception to this would be for anyone with disabilities, there were lifts but they're small and I'm pretty sure there are steps to negotiate, but I'd double check with the hotel first (I might have missed an access lift)

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJ0ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
740 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#32 of 1,257 in Rome
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
#173 of 1,257 in Rome
679 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
2,315 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#56 of 1,257 in Rome
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ponte Sisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ponte Sisto

Property: Hotel Ponte Sisto
Address: Via dei Pettinari 64, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#107 Business Hotel in Rome
#119 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#159 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ponte Sisto 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and quiet, the 4-star Hotel Ponte Sisto in Rome is located in a completely renovated historic building, enveloped in a relaxing atmosphere with a splendid garden filled with luxuriant palm trees and flowers from all over the world.The rooms are cozy and restful, able to keep the chaotic city or memories of a busy day at work at a distance to fill you will harmony and well-being within the bright marble furnishings and floral decorations.The friendly Hotel Ponte Sisto front desk staff takes care of all guest needs, booking excursions and guided tours, recommending clubs and restaurants to make your stay in Rome an unforgettable vacation or productive business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ponte Sisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponte Sisto Rome
Hotel Ponte Sisto Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing